We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Liberty Missouri” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone-Yancey House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liberty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone-Yancey House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Liberty B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Liberty Missouri”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This B&B is beautiful, spacious, and extremely well maintained! And the impeccable service with attention to detail are second to none of the finest places in which I have stayed. Carolyn and Steve are charming innkeepers who anticipated every need and more. Their love of extending hospitality and Carolyn's amazing breakfasts make this an experience you won't want to miss!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
56
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

For my wife’s birthday her brother gave us a 2-night stay at Stone-Yancey. Neither of us had ever stayed in a b&b so we didn’t exactly know what to expect. We are generally very private people but we wanted to see if the experience was as awesome as her brother said it was. Carolyn and Steve in my opinion did the near impossible-they balanced our privacy with personalized service. We stayed in the Stone Room. It was tastefully decorated from the late 1800's era. It was decked out with many nice amenities such as a claw foot whirlpool tub that my wife used and enjoyed. Both mornings we woke up to a tasty and warm breakfast that was very filling. The end result of our stay was a very accommodating yet restful experience. We highly recommend Stone-Yancey.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collegefootballfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

I hosted my best friend's bridal shower at the Stone-Yancey house. Steve & Carolyn went absolutely above & beyond to accommodate us. They helped us unload cars, carry food & beverages & decor out to the dining room, set up our music, washed dishes, lent serving utensils, & generally made sure were were all comfortable, happy & had everything we needed. We held the party in the parlor & dining room. The setting was perfect with its elegant decor and furnishings. Chairs were already set up when we got there. Linens were on the tables, ready for our use. The rental price was extremely affordable! But it's worth the same price as a community center activity room or hall because of the extra special service you get and the cozy environment. This bed & breakfast is gorgeous, well-maintained and a wonderful setting for a small party.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emdoolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

By far the nicest place I have ever stayed at...both in the U.S. and Europe. Their attention to detail, delicious food, lovely and immaculate rooms, and friendly conversation all make me wish to come back for another visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

it is immaculate both interior and exterior. My husband & I stayed in the Stone room. The decorating is a composite of comfortable soft colors with an instant WELCOME. Lovely china place settings are a strong eye appeal in the dining room. Food is oh so satisfying to the palate as well as filling in the stomach. Direction to Stone-Yancy House were given via e-mail along with comformation.
Thank you very much.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

My wife and I have stayed at this B&B many times. Every time we have stayed, it has been a great experience. The owners are the nicest people you could meet. They were knowledgeable about things to do and places to eat. The building and rooms have great character and nicely decorated. We stayed in the Stone room which had a whirlpool tub, which was a good addition. The breakfast is also very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baccamap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the Midwest
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed in the Withers room. The best part of that room is the bathroom! It's like a long hallway with a shower on the end, a closet of its own, and two sinks. I marveled at the attention to detail that went into decorating. Even the little nightlight in the bathroom had a tiny lampshade on it that had tassel fringe. In refurbishing this old house, it is apparent that the owners chose only the best furnishing and finishes, and everything fit with the historic period of the house.

Breakfast was fantastic. I loved the shiny gold chargers underneath the china, and the uniquely delicious way that Carolyn prepared the eggs and french toast.

As for location, William Jewell College is only a few blocks away, and downtown is also within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MildManneredTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liberty
3.6 km away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#2 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
4.1 km away
Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty
2.8 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Liberty
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Liberty
Holiday Inn Express Liberty
#61 of 109 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.5 km away
Days Inn Liberty/NE Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone-Yancey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone-Yancey House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stone-Yancey House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 421 N Lightburne St, Liberty, MO 64068-1811
Region: United States > Missouri > Liberty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Liberty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1889 Victorian Inn offers three guestrooms with private baths, king or queen beds, HD TV/DVD, Wi-Fi, comfy chairs, desk/work area, and more. Relax in the guest parlor; savor a bountiful three-course breakfast; and enjoy all the history Liberty and the greater Kansas City area have to offer. Walk to the historic Liberty square or William Jewell College. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing