We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
35
18
6
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
18
6
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdark sky preservemini golfhiking trailstwo nightsfantastic experiencewingsfire pitextra activitiesan additional feeastronomytelescopenaturecampsinktreesfacilitiessites
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 70 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2015

I've noticed a few bad reviews here but I will say our experience was definitely great both times we've stayed. We camped (I think the value is with the camp sites, maybe not so much with the tipis or cabins?) and had a great spot both times. There were less people this time so we didn't get to meet as many people in the outdoor kitchen/eating area but still had a great time. The concept of the outdoor kitchen is brilliant - using their bbq, stovetop and sink are huge timesavers and it gives you the opportunity to chat with others. Last time our kids made some new friends which they still talk about.

This time there were no organized hikes offered because we were there slightly before the summer season started but Paul let us know one night that he was going to try to call the owls. He did and we were treated to 2 barred owls swooping through the campground hooting away. It was very cool!

We found the showers great and the outhouses and toilets didn't stink for us. It wasn't very busy when we were there but they keep things well maintained. The staff are all very nice and accommodating, in our experience.

We'll be back one day for sure!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2015

Thank you for being a repeat customers, we are happy that you enjoy our park. Fantastic that you were able to see the Barred Owls when Paul called them. We call them Jelly & Bean and this summer they had offspring who are so cute, we call them Kit & Kat. We had several guided "Owl Prowls" this past June and also "Night Hikes" where we would call the owls, people really loved taking pictures of them, it was fantastic. Also, we have flush toilets in the park in addition to the privies and have put in two more wash stands where people can freshen up in the morning and brush their teeth at night. Hope you get a chance to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2015

My friends and I decided to go to Gordon's Park as it was the only place that advertised an "Aurora Borealis Weekend" on Thanksgiving. The park is very simple but it was beautiful with all the trees changing colour in the fall. This place is for people who enjoy being outdoors and are ok with eco-friendly activities.
The eco-showers provided a really nice quick hot shower in the morning. Rita was enough to provide us with towels because we forgot to pack them. The outdoor kitchen was a great way to meet other campers and share dinner. The flush-toilets were clean and very convenient. There are also clean latrines available in the camp site.
We camped the first night and stayed at a trailer for the other two nights. The trailer was old but clean and warm and provided the shelter we needed for the night. The high prices are reflected on the maintenance of the park and the eco-amenities.

The weather conditions were not favorable at all as every night was cloudy and we couldn't see the stars until the second day for just a very short period of time. We understand that the Park can't control the weather but it was disappointing to drive all the way up there with very high expectations to see the Northern Lights and not being able to see much of the sky. Still the astronomer taught me some tricks to take photos of the sky and got some nice shots for a beginner.

We bit the bait of the Aurora Weekend (we wouldn't have gone that far to camp otherwise) , we were sad not to see much of the sky, but in the end we were really happy we did because the island is beautiful in the fall, we saw the Salmon's run in the Bridal Veil Falls (about 45 minute drive from the park) and enjoyed the amazing sights of the the Cup and Saucer hiking trail (40 minute drive). The Chi-Cheemaun ferry was also a great experience.
These are things worth advertising as they are consistent every year, but I understand that the auroras attract more visitors. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed hearing stories around the bonfire with other guests.

I will return when I'm certain that there's a lot of solar activity and clear skies.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catalina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2014

We spoke extensively with Rita before coming to Gordon's Park and she kept urging us to book as they were "filling up quickly". When we arrived there was no-one else staying there, and no-one came until we left. We told Rita we were flying from Mexico and would need bedding etc, and that we were interested in star-gazing. Yet the amenities provided were minimal and when we asked for any help it was an enormous effort. For example, the park had turned off the water so we could not shower, so we asked to use the B&B ones... such an inconvenience! I'm not sure exactly why we were paying this huge amount, staying in this cabin was worth 1/4 of the price. We feel so cheated because of the lying. If you are going to shut the park when people are coming stay, tell them and charge less! We didn't come all the way to Canada to sit in a miserable, closed cabin park! Literally everything in the park was shut: no star-gazing session given (despite asking and being told YES), no pool, golf, bathrooms, nature centre... We came at the end of the season but Rita failed to tell us ANY of this information. Instead she lied and made out the place was brimming... so she charged us the full price and yet we had NO facilities whatsoever. Rita had assured us there would be plenty to do and enjoy even at the end of October and yet everything was shut. We didn't mind too much as we wanted to relax, but paying so much for a cabin, and having no information or facilities, just made Gordon's Park look like a money-grabbing scam. If I were to go again i would definitely stay somewhere friendlier, with honesty and adequate value for money necessities.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank thetouringrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2014

Hello Roseanna & David, thank you for your post and review of your experience with us in our Stargazing cabin at the end of October. The end of the season is very difficult to service due to the temperatures at this time of the year, sometimes we already have snow and below freezing temperature which means that we have to shut off our water supply so that the pipes don't freeze. It was not a problem for you to use the showers in the bed & breakfast as we did not have any bed & breakfast guests at the time. The information on the stargazing cabin sent to you in our email correspondence back and forth explained that it is a rustic but comfortable cabin located in our dark sky preserve, and this same information appears on our website. It is an ideal location for stargazing as it is located in the RASC (Royal Astronomical Society Canada) designated Dark Sky Preserve and you simply step outside your door to observe the vast and beautiful wonders of the night sky with your naked eye. Again, as per our email to you a 2 hour guided astronomy experience was optional and available to you for an additional fee that included our park astronomer guide, observing through our park's telescope, and with wide angled binnoculars and an amazing laser guided tour of the night sky. At this time of the year it is also possible to see Northern Lights and since you had indicated an interest in astronomy and the Aurora Borealis I did encourage you to book your retreat in the hopes that your wishes would come true. We cannot however, be responsible for the weather or control nature, it is always a blessing to be in the right place at the right time when we get to witness these startling gifts of nature. The opportunities for touring our island and finding commercialism is limited in the off season however we did provide you with our "Rita's Pics" that highlighted beautiful natural sites and hiking trails on the island including Misery Bay Provincial Park, Bridal Veil Falls, 10 Mile Point Look Out, Michael's Bay, Great Spirit Circle Trail and the Villages on the island. These natural places and main towns are always open to explore. You were indeed our last tourist for the season, we remained open for your visitation only due to your enthusiasm for viewing the night skies and our interest to accommodate you. We would love to have you visit us again although we realize that England is far away. Wishing you all the best as you continue to travel and explore the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed in a tipi and had everything we needed to be comfortable as inexperienced campers with no gear. There were many nice small touches such as hand soap at the excellent outdoor kitchen, lots of grates and skewers available for campfire cooking, and a campsite drying line for wet clothes. The pool, playground and mini putt were quite nice for our kids, aged 4 and 8. I do wish they would offer some packages such that hikes, archery etc are included because the cost for extras do add up and not every experience was worth the individual prices paid. However I can understand that during a busier period they might have to limit participation in some way. As mentioned in a previous review, the single bathroom sink is not adequate even when the park is not busy, I can't imagine what it would be like if the park was full.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank juliejuliette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I just had a great weekend at Gordon's Park! I was there with a friend for the Women's Weekend. The owners Rita and Terry, and their staff are great hosts. There's lots of opportunity to get in touch with nature - nature trail, edible wilds walk, a pond brimming with frogs, owl calling, dark sky preserve, and more. There's also some features to make things more comfortable - in-ground solar-heated pool with lovely pool deck, solar showers, flush toilets, outdoor summer kitchen, and bunkies for those of us who prefer not to sleep in a tent. There's also art hidden here and there on the trees, in the washrooms, on the buildings, etc. We created some art ourselves - yarn bombing, painted dragonflies and crafty cards. We did a zoomba class and got a foot soak. Plus the food was amazing. I'll be coming back with my family for sure!

Room Tip: The campsites 6, 7, 8 are closest to the showers and washrooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews