We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Bunkie, crappy beds, pay-for-use of all extras”
Review of Gordon's Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tehkummah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gordon's Park
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced Bunkie, crappy beds, pay-for-use of all extras”
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Paid $95 plus tax per night for the tiny "bunkie" in the "Dedicated Light Preserve". No linens provided, no electricity, no running water, and most importantly did not feel "cozy", just a bunch of poorly painted plywood. There were 2 single beds with old dirty mattresses that look like they were found on the side of the road. We pushed the beds together to make a "double", however the the bedframes were at different heights so this didn't work. Access to the swimming pool, mini-golf, archery, and interpretive activities were not included in the price of the accommodation which was disappointing given how expensive it was.

The outdoor cooking facilities were clean, however the owner's house looks down onto this common area giving us the feeling that we were being watched. The staff were friendly, but I was dissapointed they didn't let us at least use the swimming pool after I complained about the overpriced bunkie.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the bunkie. Bring your own trailer or tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this review, 19 July 2015
Hello Mark, thank you for sharing your view of the Dark Sky Preserve Bunkie.
We are disappointed that you were unhappy with your stay at Gordon's Park however we are wondering why you waited until 5 pm the following day to visit our office if you were unhappy.

Your reservation was booked with our park manager Paul who has been with us for over 5 years and with whom you and your girlfriend spent hours talking with at our picnic shelter. We are confident Paul made you aware of what the Dark Sky Preserve Bunkie had to offer when you indicated your interest to be in the Dark Sky Preserve and made your reservation. In addition, our records indicate that you were on our website and it is very clear on there what is included for free, Free wifi, Free Nature Interpretive Center, Free Educational Hiking Trails, Free Summer Kitchen with BBQ, and more.

As with all of our customers, when you made your reservation you were informed on the price of the bunkie, that you had to bring your own linens and on the extra cost for the solar heated pool and the 18 hole mini putt. Our staff did not let you into the pool because there is an additional fee for all our guest, which allows people to create their own packages based on the time they are with us and on their interests. We do not succumb to threats of bad Trip Advisor review as was the case here.

We would like to recommend that if you have a problem like this in the future, we would suggest that you make your complaint known to the business when you first arrive if you find something is not to your liking, versus coming in after staying a night and trying to get an upgrade or extras for free.

Again, thank your for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    18
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2015

We had a wonderful clear night at Gordon's and saw the planets through the telescope. First time seeing the moons around Jupiter and the rings around Saturn! Due to the full moon, the sky was fairly light, but we had a very good informative experience, thanks to Paul.
Our cabin was very clean and comfortable. The outdoor kitchen is very handy and the washrooms were spotless! The pool was nice and warm for an early evening dip.
Gordon's also provides information in their welcome pamphlet listing all sorts of attractions and points of interest on the island.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2015, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gailian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2015

I've noticed a few bad reviews here but I will say our experience was definitely great both times we've stayed. We camped (I think the value is with the camp sites, maybe not so much with the tipis or cabins?) and had a great spot both times. There were less people this time so we didn't get to meet as many people in the outdoor kitchen/eating area but still had a great time. The concept of the outdoor kitchen is brilliant - using their bbq, stovetop and sink are huge timesavers and it gives you the opportunity to chat with others. Last time our kids made some new friends which they still talk about.

This time there were no organized hikes offered because we were there slightly before the summer season started but Paul let us know one night that he was going to try to call the owls. He did and we were treated to 2 barred owls swooping through the campground hooting away. It was very cool!

We found the showers great and the outhouses and toilets didn't stink for us. It wasn't very busy when we were there but they keep things well maintained. The staff are all very nice and accommodating, in our experience.

We'll be back one day for sure!

Stayed June 2015, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this review, 18 October 2015
Thank you for being a repeat customers, we are happy that you enjoy our park. Fantastic that you were able to see the Barred Owls when Paul called them. We call them Jelly & Bean and this summer they had offspring who are so cute, we call them Kit & Kat. We had several guided "Owl Prowls" this past June and also "Night Hikes" where we would call the owls, people really loved taking pictures of them, it was fantastic. Also, we have flush toilets in the park in addition to the privies and have put in two more wash stands where people can freshen up in the morning and brush their teeth at night. Hope you get a chance to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2015

My friends and I decided to go to Gordon's Park as it was the only place that advertised an "Aurora Borealis Weekend" on Thanksgiving. The park is very simple but it was beautiful with all the trees changing colour in the fall. This place is for people who enjoy being outdoors and are ok with eco-friendly activities.
The eco-showers provided a really nice quick hot shower in the morning. Rita was enough to provide us with towels because we forgot to pack them. The outdoor kitchen was a great way to meet other campers and share dinner. The flush-toilets were clean and very convenient. There are also clean latrines available in the camp site.
We camped the first night and stayed at a trailer for the other two nights. The trailer was old but clean and warm and provided the shelter we needed for the night. The high prices are reflected on the maintenance of the park and the eco-amenities.

The weather conditions were not favorable at all as every night was cloudy and we couldn't see the stars until the second day for just a very short period of time. We understand that the Park can't control the weather but it was disappointing to drive all the way up there with very high expectations to see the Northern Lights and not being able to see much of the sky. Still the astronomer taught me some tricks to take photos of the sky and got some nice shots for a beginner.

We bit the bait of the Aurora Weekend (we wouldn't have gone that far to camp otherwise) , we were sad not to see much of the sky, but in the end we were really happy we did because the island is beautiful in the fall, we saw the Salmon's run in the Bridal Veil Falls (about 45 minute drive from the park) and enjoyed the amazing sights of the the Cup and Saucer hiking trail (40 minute drive). The Chi-Cheemaun ferry was also a great experience.
These are things worth advertising as they are consistent every year, but I understand that the auroras attract more visitors. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed hearing stories around the bonfire with other guests.

I will return when I'm certain that there's a lot of solar activity and clear skies.

  • Stayed October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catalina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2014

We spoke extensively with Rita before coming to Gordon's Park and she kept urging us to book as they were "filling up quickly". When we arrived there was no-one else staying there, and no-one came until we left. We told Rita we were flying from Mexico and would need bedding etc, and that we were interested in star-gazing. Yet the amenities provided were minimal and when we asked for any help it was an enormous effort. For example, the park had turned off the water so we could not shower, so we asked to use the B&B ones... such an inconvenience! I'm not sure exactly why we were paying this huge amount, staying in this cabin was worth 1/4 of the price. We feel so cheated because of the lying. If you are going to shut the park when people are coming stay, tell them and charge less! We didn't come all the way to Canada to sit in a miserable, closed cabin park! Literally everything in the park was shut: no star-gazing session given (despite asking and being told YES), no pool, golf, bathrooms, nature centre... We came at the end of the season but Rita failed to tell us ANY of this information. Instead she lied and made out the place was brimming... so she charged us the full price and yet we had NO facilities whatsoever. Rita had assured us there would be plenty to do and enjoy even at the end of October and yet everything was shut. We didn't mind too much as we wanted to relax, but paying so much for a cabin, and having no information or facilities, just made Gordon's Park look like a money-grabbing scam. If I were to go again i would definitely stay somewhere friendlier, with honesty and adequate value for money necessities.

  • Stayed October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thetouringrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this review, 14 December 2014
Hello Roseanna & David, thank you for your post and review of your experience with us in our Stargazing cabin at the end of October. The end of the season is very difficult to service due to the temperatures at this time of the year, sometimes we already have snow and below freezing temperature which means that we have to shut off our water supply so that the pipes don't freeze. It was not a problem for you to use the showers in the bed & breakfast as we did not have any bed & breakfast guests at the time. The information on the stargazing cabin sent to you in our email correspondence back and forth explained that it is a rustic but comfortable cabin located in our dark sky preserve, and this same information appears on our website. It is an ideal location for stargazing as it is located in the RASC (Royal Astronomical Society Canada) designated Dark Sky Preserve and you simply step outside your door to observe the vast and beautiful wonders of the night sky with your naked eye. Again, as per our email to you a 2 hour guided astronomy experience was optional and available to you for an additional fee that included our park astronomer guide, observing through our park's telescope, and with wide angled binnoculars and an amazing laser guided tour of the night sky. At this time of the year it is also possible to see Northern Lights and since you had indicated an interest in astronomy and the Aurora Borealis I did encourage you to book your retreat in the hopes that your wishes would come true. We cannot however, be responsible for the weather or control nature, it is always a blessing to be in the right place at the right time when we get to witness these startling gifts of nature. The opportunities for touring our island and finding commercialism is limited in the off season however we did provide you with our "Rita's Pics" that highlighted beautiful natural sites and hiking trails on the island including Misery Bay Provincial Park, Bridal Veil Falls, 10 Mile Point Look Out, Michael's Bay, Great Spirit Circle Trail and the Villages on the island. These natural places and main towns are always open to explore. You were indeed our last tourist for the season, we remained open for your visitation only due to your enthusiasm for viewing the night skies and our interest to accommodate you. We would love to have you visit us again although we realize that England is far away. Wishing you all the best as you continue to travel and explore the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in a tipi and had everything we needed to be comfortable as inexperienced campers with no gear. There were many nice small touches such as hand soap at the excellent outdoor kitchen, lots of grates and skewers available for campfire cooking, and a campsite drying line for wet clothes. The pool, playground and mini putt were quite nice for our kids, aged 4 and 8. I do wish they would offer some packages such that hikes, archery etc are included because the cost for extras do add up and not every experience was worth the individual prices paid. However I can understand that during a busier period they might have to limit participation in some way. As mentioned in a previous review, the single bathroom sink is not adequate even when the park is not busy, I can't imagine what it would be like if the park was full.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliejuliette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltona, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

As I'm booking campgrounds for our upcoming vacation in Oregon, I was fondly thinking of my husband's and my first camping experience spent at Gordon's Eco Park.
We stayed in a teepee for two nights (the one closest to the bathrooms and office) and took advantage of a star gazing tour that included the use of a telescope, which I highly recommend. The staff is really fun and friendly, we enjoyed the hiking trails, and the outdoor bathrooms and showers were much better than expected.
I felt safe sleeping in the teepee; however, even with the provided border ring and tarp over the door some bugs got in and my husband (born and raised in FL with all sorts of poisonous critters) freaked out a bit, which I'm snickering about right now thinking about it. It was just a couple caterpillars and two harmless spiders in two nights.
The only con:
The first night a family with a baby camped two sites down, the baby repeatedly woke up in the night and would cry for 20 to 30 minutes, I'm not actually sure if the parents were even trying to soothe it. Of course, the baby crying continuously through the night set off other campers who then decided to shout profanities at the family. The second night, the family had left and we figured we'd get a good night's sleep before needing to catch the ferry early the next morning. However, our teepee was close to cabins occupied by people that stayed up until at least 1a.m. (last time I checked my watch), they were drinking and loud, and when other campers shouted profanities at them they just shouted right back. Nobody (back in August 2013) staffed the office at night and we weren't sure whom to complain to. I think that should be made clear during check in. After two nights of horrible sleep, I think next time we will try to get a camp site in a secluded area.

Room Tip: Camp in secluded area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HurdleQueen03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tehkummah
35.0 km away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
17.8 km away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
61 reviews
93.9 km away
The Meldrum Bay Inn
The Meldrum Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Meldrum Bay
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
164 reviews
14.6 km away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
41 reviews
47.2 km away
Evergreen Resort
Evergreen Resort
#1 of 3 in Gore Bay
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon's Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon's Park

Property: Gordon's Park
Address: 18777 Hwy 6, Tehkummah, Ontario P0P 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Tehkummah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tehkummah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Nature, Gordon's Park on Manitoulin Island has a B&B, camping sites, Tipis and Cabins available. We have an Educational Nature Centre and Hiking trails + an extensive summertime calendar of events. We're just 15 minutes from the ferry docks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing