We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
35
18
6
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
18
6
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdark sky preservemini golfhiking trailstwo nightsfantastic experiencewingsfire pitextra activitiesan additional feeastronomytelescopenaturecampsinktreesfacilitiessites
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 70 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2016

We spent a couple nights in a tipi at the park. They were very clean, waterproof and had comfortable foam pads in it. It was one of the best nights sleeps we had during our week long trip on Manitoulin. Overall, the entire park was very clean and well kept.

Con
We felt nickel and dimed for extra items that are typically included at camping parks. The tipi was expensive compared to the hotels and other accommodations we stayed at in the area. It was $107 per night + an additional $22.50 for our 2 kids. The swimming pool cost an additional $28 for the family, the wolf howl hike cost $35 for the family, the mini putt was $28, etc. You basically don't get any use of the activities at the park without paying an additional fee.

Overall, I can't really say anything bad about the park, it was nice. However, due to all the extra costs, we probably won't go back. We stayed at several different places throughout Manitoulin and Tobermory and most were comparable for considerably less cost.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2016

Hi John, thank you for the review and comments about your stay at our park. We are glad you enjoyed a wonderful sleep in the tipi and the clean facilities. Included with your overnight stay was the Nature Interpretive Center with displays of Canadian Wildlife such as bears and wolves, hawks and owls, fossils, astronomy and fish and skulls, as well as the educational hiking trails in the park that outline all the different eco systems and the trees in our forest. We also provide a free recharging station, summer kitchen with BBQ, 3 burner stove, all pots and pans, and a very different kind of playground that all kids love to all our guests in the park which is an additional perk not available at other locations. We do charge for the guided experiences and for the additional activities therefore allowing people to make their own packages. Not everyone wants to use the pool and no everyone wants to play mini putt so this is the best way for us to offer choice. Again, thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2016

Gordon's Park was everything we had expected and more...The park itself is spectacular, we stayed in one of the teepee's and had a great time. With 3 adults in the teepee there was plenty of room to spare. We took advantage of the wolf howl which was lead by first timer Anna, she was amazing. She had a lot of knowledge about wolves and also added a few fun facts about the park and other wildlife in and around Gordon's Park. Comfort stations were perfect, flush toilets and eco showers. We liked that they also provided a common area where pots\pans were provided and there was a BBQ and grill, in case you may have forgotten your own or didn't want to lug around heavy cooking items. Hiking trails and the Dark Sky preserve are a few fun things to do at the park. Overall experience at Gordon's park was fantastic and would recommend a stay there. Got to spend a few hours in the pool talking to Rita, who had so much knowledge of the island and all that Manitoulin is about.

Thanks so much for an awesome experience.

Grace Alexander

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2016

I booked 2 campsites for 4 nights over the Canada Day weekend. I'd never been to the island so didn't know what to expect, but Gordon's Park was PERFECT. Our campsites were only 2 min from showers and bathrooms but felt very secluded and private which is exactly what we wanted. The trails behind the campsites were fun and looking at the stars was incredible. The staff were all very helpful for newcomers like us and very knowledgeable. Next time will definitely visit their Dark Sky Preserve!

Room Tip: Many different types of campsites (including tipi camping) so just ask the owners what kinds of sites you prefer.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a "Bunnie" which is a small basic cabin with two bunk beds and and a fold out full bed. Basic camp style thin mattresses on a board. Not fancy, but clean, dry and reasonably priced. They have a nice little store, and free Wi-Fi and a phone charging area. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank mallen0072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2016

Right from the very welcoming check in to the 'never want to leave' goodbye, we loved our stay at Gordon's Park! Not only are the staff friendly beyond belief, the surrounding environment and night sky was beautiful. We stayed over an early May week, so it was a little chilly at night trying to star gaze, however, nothing a sleeping bag can't solve! Besides, my fiance said 'Yes' under the cool night sky! :) The clean stargazing Cabin was perfect for us and had working lamps, plenty of water and a great view. On site hikes were great (we'd recommend bug spray!) and the showers and bathrooms were all clean. We will definitely be back, hopefully to see the progress/completion of the lake restoration! Thanks again!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Massimo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews