We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Small Outdoor Camp Ground”
Review of Gordon's Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tehkummah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gordon's Park
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unique Small Outdoor Camp Ground”
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Gordon’s Park Eco Resort, on Manitoulin Island, is a unique outdoor destination. They are a recipient of the Attractions Canada Award, as well as being named the 2015 Campground of the Year (small category) by Camping in Ontario. Gordon’s Park is also a Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (R.A.S.C) designated Dark Sky Preserve and a top destination for astronomers and star-gazers from Canada and around the world. The stars were amazing. The night was bug free and even warm. This campground offers a lot of different kinds of camping, tipi tenting, a stargazing cabin, wilderness campsites, camping cabins, and even a bed & breakfast. They have a nature interpretive centre, solar heated swimming pool, 18 hole mini putt, and even archery. The RASC designated this place a dark sky preserve
Disappointments were the Internet Access, it was touch and go and Overnight guests had to pay a fee to use the pool!
Overall experience though was very good.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cottonelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2016
Thank you for the review, we appreciate your comments very much. The pool and the mini putt are add on packages to the basic accommodation rate however our summer kitchen with BBQ, Nature Interpretive Center, Educational Hiking Trails are all included free of charge for our guests. We are trying to work out the kinks for the WIFI with our provider EastLink however this is the North and Manitoulin is a rural area. There are still some places on our island that are dead zones for cell phones and internet but because we are closer to one of the Eastlink towers we get better service than most. Thank you for your patience and for enjoying our park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    18
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Dropped into Gordon's Park while visiting Manitoulin Island to play a round of Mini Putt golf. The course, and Park, are located on Hwy 6 in the Town of Tehkummah just outside of South Baymouth.

The Mini Putt cost $35 for a family of four. The course is in a small forest located near the parking lot. It was good fun!

We did not stay at Gordon's Park so I am unable to comment on any of the Park facilities beyond the Gift Shop, Mini Putt and the washrooms/change rooms.

The young lady at the Gift shop was friendly and polite. The washrooms were not the cleanest.

All in all, would recommend the Mini Putt at Gordon's Park.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2016
Good Morning, thank you for your review of our mini putt and park. We are very fussy about our washrooms and clean them several times a day so we are very surprised to read your comments, however we have had the busiest summer in our 26 years of business and are stretched to the maximum to maintain all our facilities in the park. It is not often that people take the time to review the mini putt. We did build it in the midst of a cedar grove so it is shaded and people love that. It is also different as in that you putt through tree trunks, around rocks and under the ground. Since it is in among the trees we have to blow the fairways every morning which we would not have to do if it was in the open same as most mini putts in the city. Have a great summer and fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Clean, nice playground but checkout is early (10:00am) and I agree with some previous comments that paying to use the pool seems a bit much as the cost is more expensive than community centre pools. However, we had a spacious and quite site and the staff and grounds were lovely.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this review, 31 August 2016
Hi Diana, thank you for the trip advisor review, we always appreciate positive feedback. We allow customers to make their own packages based on the amount of time they have, their interests, and weather factors. While we do not include the pool in the basics of booking a campground we do include our nature interpretive center, educational hiking trails, summer kitchen with BBQ, picnic shelter and free WIFI, all available to our guests at all times. We cannot include the pool or the mini putt or we would have to increase the camping and accommodations rates to reflect these additional services and not all people would be interested to pay more, especially if they do not want to swim, cannot afford it or the weather is bad etc. We do however only ask persons to pay once and then they get to enjoy unlimited use for the duration of their stay which then typically amounts to pretty much no cost. We have analized this many times as a management team and feel this is the best approach we can take while offering services that people can pick and choose from. I'm glad you had a chance to meet our staff and to enjoy our spacious and forested sites. I'm also glad you family was able to enjoy the playground and our park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Only stayed one night ,looked like there was lots to see and do but we didn't have the time , we arrived late and had to catch the early ferry. Campgrounds were clean and well laid out. we stayed in a tipi which was great . campsite came with 4 muskoka chairs and a picnic table.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunlovers2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2016
Thank you for your review, come visit us again when you can stay longer. Have a great rest of the summer and a delightful fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

We were not disappointed with our stay at Gordon's park! The purpose of our stay was for the dark sky preserve, the darkest in Ontario and even though most of our 2 night stay it was cloudy we did catch a small glimpse of the sky early the first night and we still loved our stay at the park!

We loved the Eco-friendly aspects of the park, recycling, eco-showers, compost pile etc and the hiking trails were fun to walk around during the day.

Loved the signage they have around explaining the different types of trees and fossils in the area. The staff was super friendly and the items in the front office for sale are definitely worth checking out as well. Lots of activities and things to do for families or couples alike including mini put and a pool.

We look forward to our next stay at Gordon's park in the near future.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jennbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this review, 17 August 2016
Thank you so much for enjoying our park. It has definitely been a labour of love for Terry and I over the last 26 years when we began the journey from an empty field to a campground and eco park. So glad you shared your stay with us and took the time to write this review. Thank you very much and also for the praise for our staff, we consider ourselves blessed to have these amazing persons taking care of us and our park. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We loved it here. It was quiet and the dark skies and stars were amazing. The park was quaint with a lot of added touches we had never seen before. Clothes lines were on each campsite. The campsite numbers were all hand made with a picture and a quote. There were solar lights on darker campsites. The firewood came with newspaper. All these little added features made us feel welcomed and that they cared for there campers. The summer kitchen was awesome. We did not have to bring our pots and pans and BBQ and we could wash our dishes right there. We did the Mother nature trail, where the trees were labeled with a little history of the tree. It is a great place to camp while you explore the rest of Manitoulin Island.

Stayed August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Arlenealin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2016
Thank you for the review, we appreciate the time you took to write it. We are glad you enjoyed the little touches we have put at each of the sites in the park and hope you will come back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York Region
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Peaceful, dark zone sanctuary, Sky gazing!
Perfect for us to relax. Not very busy during the week. Staff were friendly. Spent our days at local beaches, and other tourist attractions. The evenings and nights were quiet. Had to pay extra to use the pool, mini golf, etc.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this review, 7 August 2016
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet of our park. The stargazing is definitely amazing and we are glad you got to see it as so many in the cities have forgotten what the Milky Way looks like. It is true we do charge for the pool and mini golf but we do not charge for our Nature Interpretive Center and educational Hiking Trails and provide a free recharging station for cell phones, etc., a summer kitchen with a BBQ, and free WIFI. We give people the option to create their own package based on their interests. Again, thanks for your review, we appreciate your time completing it on our behalf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tehkummah
35.0 km away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
17.8 km away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
61 reviews
93.9 km away
The Meldrum Bay Inn
The Meldrum Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Meldrum Bay
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
162 reviews
14.6 km away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
41 reviews
47.2 km away
Evergreen Resort
Evergreen Resort
#1 of 3 in Gore Bay
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon's Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon's Park

Property: Gordon's Park
Address: 18777 Hwy 6, Tehkummah, Ontario P0P 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Tehkummah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tehkummah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Nature, Gordon's Park on Manitoulin Island has a B&B, camping sites, Tipis and Cabins available. We have an Educational Nature Centre and Hiking trails + an extensive summertime calendar of events. We're just 15 minutes from the ferry docks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing