We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gordon's Park
Nearby Hotels
Manitoulin Inn(Mindemoya)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hawberry Motel(Little Current)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
34
17
5
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
17
5
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdark skytwo nightsfantastic experiencean additional feesinkcamptreessitesbbqcabinsuppliesislandaccommodationsauguststoveastronomer
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 64 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2016

Gordon's Park is a marvellous place to camp. Rita and Terry are wonderful hosts. The entire place is eco-friendly and has everything you expect from a great, family-style campground. Water-saving showers and toilets, beautiful views, great hiking and biking trails, and lots for the kids to do: mini-golf ($), a heated swimming pool ($), horseshoes, a bench swing overlooking the forest and a nature centre. In the evenings, they pull out the telescope for spectacular views of the night sky.

There is a summer kitchen with a barbecue and gas stovetop, utensils, pots and pans, lots of counterspace and a dishwashing station. Absolutely terrific.

Campsites are spacious and well-maintained, trails well marked with soft solar lighting at night. Hammock-friendly. We were there in August and there were no bugs at all!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2016

We had returned to the park for the Perseids meteor shower event but once again Mother Nature decided that the show above was for her eyes only. Even though the nights sky was cloudy we did head over to the dark sky preserve and were treated to an amazing slide show followed by a tour of the sky where certain planets, stars and constellations would've been located. I give Gordon's Park a great deal of credit for handling nights like these, because the weather is unpredictable and they always make the best of it... we'll most certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GO-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2016

Yes, cloudy nights are tough, that is for sure so thank you so much for the review, and for making the best of the cloudy night. We appreciate your review very very much and we'll look forward to seeing you again sometime. FYI, this weekend we had our Aurora Borealis Weekend and for three nights out of four the Aurora was amazing, and all four nights were clear and the stargazing phenomenal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2016

Gordon’s Park Eco Resort, on Manitoulin Island, is a unique outdoor destination. They are a recipient of the Attractions Canada Award, as well as being named the 2015 Campground of the Year (small category) by Camping in Ontario. Gordon’s Park is also a Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (R.A.S.C) designated Dark Sky Preserve and a top destination for astronomers and star-gazers from Canada and around the world. The stars were amazing. The night was bug free and even warm. This campground offers a lot of different kinds of camping, tipi tenting, a stargazing cabin, wilderness campsites, camping cabins, and even a bed & breakfast. They have a nature interpretive centre, solar heated swimming pool, 18 hole mini putt, and even archery. The RASC designated this place a dark sky preserve
Disappointments were the Internet Access, it was touch and go and Overnight guests had to pay a fee to use the pool!
Overall experience though was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cottonelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2016

Thank you for the review, we appreciate your comments very much. The pool and the mini putt are add on packages to the basic accommodation rate however our summer kitchen with BBQ, Nature Interpretive Center, Educational Hiking Trails are all included free of charge for our guests. We are trying to work out the kinks for the WIFI with our provider EastLink however this is the North and Manitoulin is a rural area. There are still some places on our island that are dead zones for cell phones and internet but because we are closer to one of the Eastlink towers we get better service than most. Thank you for your patience and for enjoying our park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2016

Dropped into Gordon's Park while visiting Manitoulin Island to play a round of Mini Putt golf. The course, and Park, are located on Hwy 6 in the Town of Tehkummah just outside of South Baymouth.

The Mini Putt cost $35 for a family of four. The course is in a small forest located near the parking lot. It was good fun!

We did not stay at Gordon's Park so I am unable to comment on any of the Park facilities beyond the Gift Shop, Mini Putt and the washrooms/change rooms.

The young lady at the Gift shop was friendly and polite. The washrooms were not the cleanest.

All in all, would recommend the Mini Putt at Gordon's Park.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2016

Good Morning, thank you for your review of our mini putt and park. We are very fussy about our washrooms and clean them several times a day so we are very surprised to read your comments, however we have had the busiest summer in our 26 years of business and are stretched to the maximum to maintain all our facilities in the park. It is not often that people take the time to review the mini putt. We did build it in the midst of a cedar grove so it is shaded and people love that. It is also different as in that you putt through tree trunks, around rocks and under the ground. Since it is in among the trees we have to blow the fairways every morning which we would not have to do if it was in the open same as most mini putts in the city. Have a great summer and fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

Clean, nice playground but checkout is early (10:00am) and I agree with some previous comments that paying to use the pool seems a bit much as the cost is more expensive than community centre pools. However, we had a spacious and quite site and the staff and grounds were lovely.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Hi Diana, thank you for the trip advisor review, we always appreciate positive feedback. We allow customers to make their own packages based on the amount of time they have, their interests, and weather factors. While we do not include the pool in the basics of booking a campground we do include our nature interpretive center, educational hiking trails, summer kitchen with BBQ, picnic shelter and free WIFI, all available to our guests at all times. We cannot include the pool or the mini putt or we would have to increase the camping and accommodations rates to reflect these additional services and not all people would be interested to pay more, especially if they do not want to swim, cannot afford it or the weather is bad etc. We do however only ask persons to pay once and then they get to enjoy unlimited use for the duration of their stay which then typically amounts to pretty much no cost. We have analized this many times as a management team and feel this is the best approach we can take while offering services that people can pick and choose from. I'm glad you had a chance to meet our staff and to enjoy our spacious and forested sites. I'm also glad you family was able to enjoy the playground and our park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews