We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sky view in dark park”
Review of Gordon's Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tehkummah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gordon's Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful sky view in dark park”
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We stayed there for two nights August of 2016. We were in the dark sky preserve in the cabin that was outside of the actual viewing area. We simply walked to the large viewing area to get the full effect. Very nice views. No astronomer when we were there, but that was fine. Hardly anyone was in the dark sky area then so it was very quiet and peaceful.

In addition to the beds, the cabin included its own BBQ, outhouse , several large jugs of water, a propane stove, and propane lights. It had no running water but had a sink so we could use the water they supplied and heat it on the stove so we could clean our dishes. Adding a propane fridge would have been a nice touch as well. There were lots of ants in the cabin, unfortunately, so we ensured that we kept everything locked away. This is common in the country and I do not think they could do anything about it.

We did find it to be a bit confusing figuring out how to get to our cabin, especially at first, but after a while we figured it out.

Not an issue with the park itself but a testament to its remote location: we were having some issues with our cooler at the time and so we had to make a run for supplies and ice. I would suggest that people ensure that they are well stocked up on their supplies for the trip because the nearest town was not exactly close and the local stores we attempted to go to were basically empty or had no food.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tera C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    18
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Just came back from a deer hunt at the park. Quality of hunting was very poor. Hunted 3 and a half days and saw no deer!!!! Not even many tracks, a few at the bait sites but not many. Website was very misleading, all of the recent trail cam pics were at night. Should have been made aware of the current hunting conditons. Accomadations were okay but overpriced. Paid alot for a hot plate, bar fridge and shared kitchen/bathroom. Would not recomend to book a hunting trip.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this review, 15 December 2016
Brian, we are disappointed that you are unhappy with your hunting experience, we try very hard to help our hunters have a successful hunt and it is unfortunate that you were not successful. Most of the hunters that stay at our property are out in their stands all day, and are making serious efforts to fill their tags. The deer come out in the wee hours of the morning and the later hours as night falls so in order to be successful the stands need to be occupied at that time. I understand that you opted to eat out on several occasions that brought you out of the tree stands earlier than most since the restaurants around here close around 7 pm. I do think that also had an effect on your overall outcome of your hunt. We did offer additional options of various tree stands on the property where we saw lots of action in order to try to satisfy your requests to move about, and short of chasing the deer out during the day to your stands we did everything we could to make it a successful hunt for you and your dad. There were lots and lots and lots of pictures of deer in our trail cams taken while you were here and we showed them to you. Like all things in nature, the deer may or may not appear and the sport is much like fishing, sometimes you get them sometimes you don't. Wishing you all the best, take care and have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We get it.
The point is the darkness so you can, on a clear night, get a truly awesome view of the night sky.
So no electricity.
And an isolated location.
The picture on the website suggests a cozy country setting.
The reality was quite different and even creepy.

$175. +tax per night for a neglected, dingy, stuffy, run-down, one-room shack with torn plastic covers over tired mattresses and 4 sleeping bags in the corner.
outhouse toilet nearby.
and three dirty plastic chairs (one broken) scattered around some distance away!
Really?

And there is a 2-night minimum that we paid in advance, knowing we would only be able to stay one night.

So $350. for one night in this miserable accommodation.
Really!

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ritajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this review, 11 November 2016
RitaJeff, in response to your review we agree the stargazing is amazing from this location and yes there is no electricity (runs on propane) and it is in an isolated location in the fields and meadows of our RASC (Royal Astronomical Society Canada) designated dark sky preserve. Of course it is isolated, that is what allows for the darkness and the beauty of the night sky. One does not go to a dark sky location to see electricity and when the reservation was made all the information on the cabin was explained to the person who made the reservation. The plastic covers on the beds (thank you for letting us know they need to be replaced) are protection from bed bugs, something our guests appreciate very much as they do the isolation and the opportunity to be able to view the Milky Way just steps outside the front door. Staying in an isolated cabin brings about challenges with regards to washrooms and conveniences so we make sure to fully inform our guests of the amenities, the location and what is all included. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Gordon's Park is a marvellous place to camp. Rita and Terry are wonderful hosts. The entire place is eco-friendly and has everything you expect from a great, family-style campground. Water-saving showers and toilets, beautiful views, great hiking and biking trails, and lots for the kids to do: mini-golf ($), a heated swimming pool ($), horseshoes, a bench swing overlooking the forest and a nature centre. In the evenings, they pull out the telescope for spectacular views of the night sky.

There is a summer kitchen with a barbecue and gas stovetop, utensils, pots and pans, lots of counterspace and a dishwashing station. Absolutely terrific.

Campsites are spacious and well-maintained, trails well marked with soft solar lighting at night. Hammock-friendly. We were there in August and there were no bugs at all!

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We had returned to the park for the Perseids meteor shower event but once again Mother Nature decided that the show above was for her eyes only. Even though the nights sky was cloudy we did head over to the dark sky preserve and were treated to an amazing slide show followed by a tour of the sky where certain planets, stars and constellations would've been located. I give Gordon's Park a great deal of credit for handling nights like these, because the weather is unpredictable and they always make the best of it... we'll most certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GO-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2016
Yes, cloudy nights are tough, that is for sure so thank you so much for the review, and for making the best of the cloudy night. We appreciate your review very very much and we'll look forward to seeing you again sometime. FYI, this weekend we had our Aurora Borealis Weekend and for three nights out of four the Aurora was amazing, and all four nights were clear and the stargazing phenomenal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Gordon’s Park Eco Resort, on Manitoulin Island, is a unique outdoor destination. They are a recipient of the Attractions Canada Award, as well as being named the 2015 Campground of the Year (small category) by Camping in Ontario. Gordon’s Park is also a Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (R.A.S.C) designated Dark Sky Preserve and a top destination for astronomers and star-gazers from Canada and around the world. The stars were amazing. The night was bug free and even warm. This campground offers a lot of different kinds of camping, tipi tenting, a stargazing cabin, wilderness campsites, camping cabins, and even a bed & breakfast. They have a nature interpretive centre, solar heated swimming pool, 18 hole mini putt, and even archery. The RASC designated this place a dark sky preserve
Disappointments were the Internet Access, it was touch and go and Overnight guests had to pay a fee to use the pool!
Overall experience though was very good.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cottonelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2016
Thank you for the review, we appreciate your comments very much. The pool and the mini putt are add on packages to the basic accommodation rate however our summer kitchen with BBQ, Nature Interpretive Center, Educational Hiking Trails are all included free of charge for our guests. We are trying to work out the kinks for the WIFI with our provider EastLink however this is the North and Manitoulin is a rural area. There are still some places on our island that are dead zones for cell phones and internet but because we are closer to one of the Eastlink towers we get better service than most. Thank you for your patience and for enjoying our park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Dropped into Gordon's Park while visiting Manitoulin Island to play a round of Mini Putt golf. The course, and Park, are located on Hwy 6 in the Town of Tehkummah just outside of South Baymouth.

The Mini Putt cost $35 for a family of four. The course is in a small forest located near the parking lot. It was good fun!

We did not stay at Gordon's Park so I am unable to comment on any of the Park facilities beyond the Gift Shop, Mini Putt and the washrooms/change rooms.

The young lady at the Gift shop was friendly and polite. The washrooms were not the cleanest.

All in all, would recommend the Mini Putt at Gordon's Park.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita G, Owner at Gordon's Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2016
Good Morning, thank you for your review of our mini putt and park. We are very fussy about our washrooms and clean them several times a day so we are very surprised to read your comments, however we have had the busiest summer in our 26 years of business and are stretched to the maximum to maintain all our facilities in the park. It is not often that people take the time to review the mini putt. We did build it in the midst of a cedar grove so it is shaded and people love that. It is also different as in that you putt through tree trunks, around rocks and under the ground. Since it is in among the trees we have to blow the fairways every morning which we would not have to do if it was in the open same as most mini putts in the city. Have a great summer and fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tehkummah
35.0 km away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
17.8 km away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
61 reviews
93.9 km away
The Meldrum Bay Inn
The Meldrum Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Meldrum Bay
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
162 reviews
14.6 km away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
40 reviews
47.2 km away
Evergreen Resort
Evergreen Resort
#1 of 3 in Gore Bay
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon's Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon's Park

Property: Gordon's Park
Address: 18777 Hwy 6, Tehkummah, Ontario P0P 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Tehkummah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tehkummah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Nature, Gordon's Park on Manitoulin Island has a B&B, camping sites, Tipis and Cabins available. We have an Educational Nature Centre and Hiking trails + an extensive summertime calendar of events. We're just 15 minutes from the ferry docks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing