We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs reno but rates are reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Osage Beach
Mid-Missouri, USA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Needs reno but rates are reasonable”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed for an annual conference. The staff is very helpful. The place is very affordable and they cater to large events. The biggest negative is that it is so far to walk from meeting rooms, resort rooms, dining, and shopping. So many stairs and hills to climb that the place is best for the physically fit. Parking was good. Bed was very comfortable. Rooms are large and ours had a lake view, sofa and refrigerator. Mirror in the room was mounted 6 feet in the air and was even too tall for my over 6 foot tall husband to see. That was kind of weird. Food in the restaurant and the catered meals was excellent. Food at the onsite Burger King is not up to par with the franchise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake. The rooms with the numbers in the 80's, (580, 682, etc.) have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lm_jt_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    260
    215
    115
    68
See reviews for
296
155
11
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights during thanksgiving weekend. The resort is in a very nice location. We had a lake view room with a nice balcony. Rooms are huge. There are plenty of restaurants inside the resort. They have breakfast buffet,real good food. Its also a very kids friendly place.
Pros: Huge room, affordable, extremely friendly stuff, easy check out option, great location.
Cons: Its a really old resort. They need some serious renovation. The room had some old wooden furnitures and box TV. The decor is also extremely old fashioned. If they renovate this place a bit, it will be a real great resort. Also, it needs to be cleanlier.
Tips: If you are looking for some family fun with kids, highly recommended. If you are looking for romantic gateways, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nilotpalr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

So forget this place is in the Lake Ozark region and the bias that may go with that statement. This is an older resort and it was built for a different time. That being said I stayed in one of the estate rooms which are basically houses broken out into apartments.

The view was pretty but the room which I was told was an upgrade was like walking into one of my college apartments from the 90's. The furniture was completely random. The mattress was OLD and the heater was an in wall unit that smelled like burning dust when it was turned on. The floors and counters were clean and the apartment itself did not smell.

The staff at the resort are very nice. Helpful and friendly to the last person. The issues at this property are all about deffered upkeep.

If you are looking for a place to go drink beer and fish with your buddies this place would be it. If you are going for a 'resort' experience for the wife and kids and you think this would fit the bill this might be a let down.

If you are here for business as I was... Suck it up, This is the best choice of other scarier options in Osage Beach. The parking is free it is dirt cheap in the off season and the bar had cheap booze.

Bottom line it is what it is but it could be a lot better.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellyfuller, Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
We want to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay at Tan-Tar-A. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us. Please know that we take every guest comment very seriously. We truly value you as a guest and appreciate the time that you took to bring these issues to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were at Tan-Tar-A for a wedding. It was amazing. Our room was fantastic and the food was to die for. I don't know where all the negative review come from. It was fantastic, and the service was fantastic. We want to come back and so do all our friends. I have stayed here off and on in the last few years. Its always been great.

Room Tip: We were located in a suite by the lake. Very romantic and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellyfuller, Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments. We hope you will visit us during your future stays at Lake of the Ozarks and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stays at Tan-Tar-A and plan to return often. It is quite packed during summer months, but slows down and becomes much more intimate in the winter months. Had a great time during both times as they are both completely different experiences.

Room Tip: Lakeside costs a little bit more, but its pretty worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My Girlfriend and I had stayed there for Memorial Weekend. I had been refered to Tan Tara by a co-worker who owns a house down in the ozarks, said "its where its all at!"
Unfortunately, I think "its where its all at" was about 15 years ago, and is really focused on family fun now. There was just a lot of kids and families there, and a lot of stuff was centered aroudn them. The pool was nice (had a nice pool-side bar) and a good Marina for Boat/Jet Ski Rentals, but that is all we really felt like doing at Tan Tar-A. We usually spent our time in the town of course, but in our down time at the hotel - it was just an outdated room, not the best bed/sheets at all.

**We stayed in the Restort Complex - I have heard the Estates Complex is a little more secluded.

I still had a great time in the Ozarks, and the golf at Tan Tara was good, but that is about the extent of it. I think I would rather try another resort than go back.

But it really depends - if you are with kids, this seems like it would be a great place for them.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuskerFan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central IL
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

So, we read the reviews and looked at the photos, even asked friends who had stayed at Tan Tar A, and so we decided to take the plunge and spend our vacation here. We booked 3 nights from Priceline Name Your Own Price and got a pretty good deal. I was pleased with the price, but upon our arrival (a Saturday) there was a motorcycle convention going on and they had several parking garages closed off for the bikers including the entire drop/off-check-in area, which made it difficult to find a spot to even get in to check in! .... We check in and the lady tells us we have a single in the main complex hotel which is what we wanted, but when we get to the room, it was a double room, right above the parking garage and facing the main entrance where all of the bikers were hanging out. This was far too loud and annoying for my taste especially since I wanted a quiet and relaxing vacation, so we asked if they had any king rooms anywhere else, and the lady said yes, but it was in the 'Estates'. We took it, and found our way through the winding roads of the Estates. By the way, if you're in the Estates, there is ONE ice machine at the Estate's complex, major drawback for us. Our room was less than overwhelming with old carpet, no view, a tiny tv, but the upside was a very clean bathroom and the bed was comfy. Unfortunately there was light beaming into our room through the shades ..no curtains... from an outside night light next to our window that must have had a 100watt bulb in it, and I had trouble sleeping since it was ridiculously bright in our room.

A hot shower can make everything better after a restless night of sleep, but when we went to take a shower....No hot water for us! We call in and they send out a maintenance guy(Dave maybe?) but he was pretty awesome and told us that the heating element would need replaced and it would take awhile so he would try to get us a better room. This was also when we found out that the main office KNEW that there was no hot water in the room from a couple complaining the day before, but that the night maintenance never did anything about it.

So we pack up - again - and drive to our new room which was upstairs on a house that was directly on the water. Very nice room, bigger tv, big windows with a view, and a 2 person whirlpool tub. I noticed it smelled kind of musty, and when I walked barefoot around the bed, I found out why! The wall unit air conditioner was leaking inside of the room and the carpet was sopping wet. When we went back to the main building we told them about it and they said they would have someone fix it while we were out.

The arcade was super fun, we spent $20 and had about 2 hours of playing time and decided to eat at the black bear restaurant since the wind rose was closed on Sundays. I wish that we wouldn't have. When we were seated by a window(nice view) the window frame was caked with food, grease, and dust...Gross. Also, my water glass looked like it hadn't been cleaned...ever. The margarita was less than average and our $15 dollar shrimp fajitas had a total of 5 small shrimp each, the rice and beans were out of a can. It really wasn't very edible and extremely overpriced. I'd love to have Gordan Ramsay dine at this place... blah.

Back to our room, there was a note that said 'they vacuumed out our a/c unit and to only run it on high (which it had been), but it was still leaking? Whatever, so time for a relaxing bath in the whirpool tub... except the jets didn't work... Bummer! But hey, I was used to this by now!

The positives about Tan Tar A........ A+ Awesome pools, indoor and outdoor were all great and there were lots of nice pools to choose on the property from and hardly anyone was swimming! The arcade was lots of fun, and the area was nice.

This could be an amazing resort, but it would take a lot of time and money. I'm not really a picky person, but I do expect certain things work and be nice. I love the outdoor pools, but I would almost be willing to give that up for a nice room and breakfast at a holiday inn or something else.

Expect nice pools, but don't expect reasonable prices or nicely decorated/updated rooms with a view of the lake.

....and whatever you do, make sure you don't pay full price for this place.

Room Tip: Stay in Main complex hotel if possible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heftisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Osage Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osage Beach
3.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
16.2 km away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
7.9 km away
Osage Village Inn
Osage Village Inn
#10 of 15 in Osage Beach
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Inn At Grand Glaize
Inn At Grand Glaize
#13 of 15 in Osage Beach
297 reviews
7.1 km away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 12 in Lake Ozark
1,065 reviews
9.1 km away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 12 in Lake Ozark
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 494 Tan Tar a Drive, Osage Beach, MO 65065
Region: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Osage Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tan-Tar-A Resort, we provide guests endless excitement with an abundance of year round recreational activities in a casual and relaxed resort setting with an experienced team of friendly staff. Conveniently located on the shores of the Lake of the Ozarks in Central Missouri,Tan-Tar-A Resort offers a great value for families, couples, and conference attendees with:- Exciting water adventures including wave runners, and ski, pontoon & paddle boat rentals- Wet, wild indoor family fun at Timber Falls Indoor Waterpark- 27 holes of championship golf with tree-lined fairways, rolling hills and breathtaking vistas of the Lake of the Ozarks- The "Bears Den" Arcade, guided horseback trail rides, miniature golf, a bowling alley and two outdoor tennis courts provide guests of all ages a variety of fun experiences- Seasonal supervised fun for kids ages 4-12 at "Kids Kabin" and "Camp Tan-Tar-A". While the adults are golfing or enjoying a romantic day at the spa, the kids can have the times of their lives with a variety of affordable fun activities2- Windjammer Spa and Salon is the place to spend a day nourishing your body and soul in an intimate, relaxed setting- 9 restaurants & lounges available to suit every palate and pocketbook, from hardy casual Ozark favorites to lakeside dining- Over 90,000 square feet of customizable indoor meeting space with 30 meeting rooms,as well as multiple scenic outdoor venues- Experienced, down-to-earth conference planning team offering solutions to unique group events- Personalized, custom wedding services, down to the last detail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina And Indoor Waterpark
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Osage Beach
Osage Beach Tan Tar a Resort
Tan Tara Resort
Tan Tar Hotel Osage Beach
Tan Tar Resort Osage Beach
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Osage Beach, MO - Lake Of The Ozarks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing