We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good first experience at Tan-Tar-A” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Osage Beach
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
330 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good first experience at Tan-Tar-A”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed at Tan-Tar-A for a conference. It was our first year at this venue, after a number of years at Lodge of the Four Seasons. Tan-Tar-A is huge. We stayed in the newest building (building E, I believe). Our floor was connected to the main building by a skywalk. The rooms in our building were nice and there was covered parking on the first floor of our building. The meeting rooms were nice and the food was pretty good. Check in was easy and the front desk and concierge staff were knowledgeable and polite. The resort has a tone of amenities: shops, indoor waterpark, mini-golf, outdoor pool, game room, bowling and restaurants. During the summer, I am sure the place is hopping. Because we were there in May, during the week, a lot of things were not open: waterpark, mini-golf, some restaurants. Our group rented out the game room and bowling alley for a couple of hours and that was a fun time. All in all, I thought they did a pretty good job and I would attend a conference here again. I also think this would be a fun place for a summer family trip.

Room Tip: Building E or the Estates to get a newer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buffy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tantara_Resort2012, Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience here at Tan-Tar-A Resort. We are delighted you found your stay enjoyable. On behalf of the entire staff, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    229
    203
    105
    64
See reviews for
262
140
11
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

There are several buildings and different types of rooms here, this is for the hotel separate from the main building.
Very clean, beds are pretty comfortable....and that's about it. Old small tv, no microwave, no place to unpack my luggage, no fan in bathroom, uncomfortable chair, bland and boring with a horrible view of just the main building...the lake is pretty, location is just fine, staff seems ok but we didn't need anything extra. Just another hotel room.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wtipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peters
Level Contributor
409 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I stay at this resort once a year and I always look forward to the visit.

That being said, the place does have a 50 year old rustic lodge feel to it. That works on two levels - I really like the lodge feel, the wood everywhere, and especially the heavily wooded area. The lake surrounds the resort, and the views change throughout the day. In the morning when the sun rises, during the day when the sky is blue, and in the evening as the sun sets each view is captivating.

On the other hand, the place looks like it is 50-60 years old and needs updates. In most places I have stayed on site, the walls need to be fixed - wood paneling is peeling and ceilings need work. The furnishings look old and worn.

I do like the variety of rooms though. You can stay in the tower over looking the lake with nice triangular decks, or you can stay in duplex cabins, quad cabins, or solo cabins with a wide range of windows, decks, patios, and views. Some rooms have walk outs others don't. Building B is convenient to the main building, but has the worst views and rooms.

Building C is odd - but close to everything I like it the best.

The restaurants on site are decent.

Overall, through the years, I have found the service to be outstanding.

Room Tip: Building A - with a water view is good. I don't like building B. The rooms down the hill by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barkus1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I hadn't been to Tan Tar A for a number of years. This resort used to the be one of the best in Missouri featuring luxurious rooms and tons of amenities. It is showing its age, but if you go into it knowing it's not a 5 star resort you'll enjoy it. They would probably have to implode this resort and start over to really get it up to today's high end resort standards. I had a room in the main building. It was on the top floor and had a spectacular view. It was a very nice sized room with two double beds, a small round table, sofa and coffee table and would work well for a family of 4. The room had a separate sink area outside the bath. The TV was an older version but worked fine and had a lot of channel options. The room was fine if you aren't really picky about things. The wrought iron balcony needed paint. The carpeting was a little stained in the corners, but overall the room was clean, well lit and comfortable.

Tan Tar A still has a lot of charm and the "older feel" seems to be a fit with the lake. In the Summer you could probably wear your swimsuit or shorts and a t-shirt just about anywhere. They still have tons to do at this resort....a nice arcade, minature golf, bowling alley, large water park, nice fitness center that adjoins an indoor pool and hot-tub, shops, a few restaurants to choose from including a Burger King in the main building, tennis and golf. You also have a number of things you can do at their marina to enjoy the lake. I've played the 9 hole course and it is a really nice "executive" course. It appears to be in very good shape. Their main course "The Oaks" looked like it had not recovered from the winter yet.

While the fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub are included with the cost of the room, it appears just about everything else is extra. I would check to see if you can include some of the activities as a package with your room, otherwise you are going to spend some serious money if you use all the amenities. The waterpark is $22.00 per person. The miniature golf is $8.00 per person.

For a weekend or perhaps 4 day trip, this could be a fun family place. Just don't expect a Hyatt or Hilton lobby or room, be ready to pay extra for things to do throughout the day and you'll enjoy it!

Room Tip: You're going to the lake...ask for a lake view! The rooms in Building A are nice and I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We visited Tan-Tar-A over spring break and chose to stay there mainly because that is where the indoor water park was located. First of all, keep in mind that there's not a lot else to do other than shop during the 'off-season'. Outdoor pools weren't open yet, and it was too chilly to be on the lake. Our 2 kids really enjoyed the place. We went down on a Thursday and had the whole resort to ourselves for the first day. They were impressed with the arcade and of course the Burger King onsite. We weren't overly impressed with the water park though. Felt like they could offer a special water park package. We paid $17 apiece for three of us to go while my wife went shopping. Your pass is good for one day only. After a couple of hours, my 8 year old was asking if we could go back to the indoor pool at the resort (which I thought WAS pretty decent!). Water park would have been worth maybe $10 apiece, but definitely not $17. And would have been nice if a package were offered or if for $17 you could visit over multiple days and spend an hour or two at a time. Overall, the resort is definitely dated and expansive to walk to everything, but the kids had fun roaming all around and it does offer a lot of activities in one location without having to hop in the car and drive all over. Rooms weren't extravagant, but about what I expected. Internet hookup (not wireless) was free, which was nice.

Room Tip: We stayed in building E. Quite a walk to arcade, pool, water park. Parking underneath was nice the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shayes0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The other reviews that refer to rude staff , dirty rooms are totally WRONG!
Tan Tara A is right on the lake with breathe taking views ! Very comfortable beds with nice comforters and bathrooms with two vanity , nice couch and mini fridge ! The pool is very large and the hottub is superb! The young lady at the front desk (Stephaney) was great with a speedy check in ! We stayed in building A and it was as nice if not nicer then all the all the complexes ! There are TONS of fun activities for the whole family very cool bowling alley and awesome arcade! The food court and market lane is a neat touch ! STAY HERE ! WE WILL BE BACK !

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boycea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tantara_Resort2012, Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We value all of our guests and hope to provide service so memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clark, mo usa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The age of this hotel is showing. Hallways smelled musty like they'd been under water. Outside needs painted, inside needs painted and new carpet installed. Could see cracks in the stucco and rust on the patio railings. Great breakfast buffet in the Bears Lodge Restaurant and a great server....however our dinner the evening prior gave me heartburn and kept me up all night! Burger tasted good but server was less than adequate. Whole place could use some thorough cleaning, especially the bear in the restaurant. He had layers of dust and cobwebs everywhere. Not very appetizing. I was there for a convention and the food served at lunch each day was really good! If I was traveling to the area again I would find another place to stay.

Room Tip: Lakeside view was nice in the morning but not sure the patio was safe....rust around railing and stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilMissPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tantara_Resort2012, Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for choosing Tan-Tar-A Resort and we truly apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are always striving to meet our guests needs and appreciate you for letting us know when and where we have challenges. Your comments have been noted and will be used to make improvements. We hope you give us another opportunity in the future to provide quality service and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Osage Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osage Beach
16.3 km away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
3.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
3.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
#5 of 14 in Osage Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Inn At Grand Glaize
Inn At Grand Glaize
#12 of 14 in Osage Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
7.2 km away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
9.1 km away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 13 in Lake Ozark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 494 Tan Tar a Drive, Osage Beach, MO 65065
Region: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Osage Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 880
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tan-Tar-A Resort, we provide guests endless excitement with an abundance of year round recreational activities in a casual and relaxed resort setting with an experienced team of friendly staff. Conveniently located on the shores of the Lake of the Ozarks in Central Missouri,Tan-Tar-A Resort offers a great value for families, couples, and conference attendees with:- Exciting water adventures including wave runners, and ski, pontoon & paddle boat rentals- Wet, wild indoor family fun at Timber Falls Indoor Waterpark- 27 holes of championship golf with tree-lined fairways, rolling hills and breathtaking vistas of the Lake of the Ozarks- The "Bears Den" Arcade, guided horseback trail rides, miniature golf, a bowling alley and two outdoor tennis courts provide guests of all ages a variety of fun experiences- Seasonal supervised fun for kids ages 4-12 at "Kids Kabin" and "Camp Tan-Tar-A". While the adults are golfing or enjoying a romantic day at the spa, the kids can have the times of their lives with a variety of affordable fun activities2- Windjammer Spa and Salon is the place to spend a day nourishing your body and soul in an intimate, relaxed setting- 9 restaurants & lounges available to suit every palate and pocketbook, from hardy casual Ozark favorites to lakeside dining- Over 90,000 square feet of customizable indoor meeting space with 30 meeting rooms,as well as multiple scenic outdoor venues- Experienced, down-to-earth conference planning team offering solutions to unique group events- Personalized, custom wedding services, down to the last detail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina And Indoor Waterpark
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Osage Beach
Osage Beach Tan Tar a Resort
Tan Tara Resort
Tan Tar Hotel Osage Beach
Tan Tar Resort Osage Beach
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Osage Beach, MO - Lake Of The Ozarks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing