We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed for a Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Louis St. Charles
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Saint Charles
Springfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Disappointed for a Marriott”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We were going to ride the Katy Trail and needed a place to stay and prefer Marriott. I read reviews about this property and saw a review that stated the room and property in general had an odor. It definitely did. It was even in the water. So I am not sure if things washed even were saturated with the smell due to the water issue. Breakfast was good when they brought everything out. Basic breakfast with waffles, cereal, pastries, biscuits and gravy, some fresh fruit and cup fruit. Not planning on staying here again when coming back. I expect more from Marriott.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyenurse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    49
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
43
23
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I am surprised by all the positive reviews on this hotel. We stayed here in July 2011 and I was somewhat disappointed. To start however, the service was great and the personal was very friendly upon check in. The hotel itself though seems very old and it looks and smells like it. We stayed on the third floor and as soon as the elevator door opened, you could smell a bad smell coming from the halls. Our room also had a old smell and look to it. I would probably skip this hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Charles hotels

Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We drove 12 hours to get here and were really tired, the front desk staff were awesome and very helpful. Great night's sleep in a comfortable bed, with fridge and microwave. Good swim in the pool and hot tub. We had to skip the breakfast though as I looked around for something to eat, there were biscuits but the gravy was all gone. There were no meats or eggs either. There were some danishes. I guess I got spoiled from the other Fairfield Inns I stayed at. It was still early so I know there was no excuse that they had run out.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stampdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This hotel was clean, comfortable, and a good value. Desk staff was very helpful, even offering unsolicited tips and a breakfast coupon for our daughter, who was joining us the next morning. The breakfast was above average for offerings by a chain hotel. The room was nice and the breakfast room pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealLilyBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Great service, nice mattresses. A/C was working overtime to keep the humidity out of the air. Free pass to 24hr fitness as hotel does not have gym. Pool is indoors so we didnt swim as it was so hot and humid in there.
Breakfast was very nice, lots of variety ---from hot waffles , cold cereal, many healthy choices aswell as doughnuts and bfast sandwiches. Free bfast added so much value and convience to our stay the money we saved on taking 5 people to a resturant practically paid for the room.

Room Tip: Name your own price on priceline.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiethone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I love staying in Marriott hotels. The part I love is that no matter where the hotel is, I know exactly what to expect. The beds are the same, the pillows are the same, the room caliber is the same. This hotel fits the bill. I stayed for only one night, but it was perfect. Came in late after 12 hours in the car and the desk clerk checked us in quickly and we were off to the room. Had a great night of sleep (always do in a Marriott) and a nice hot breakfast before taking off the next morning.

Room was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burkehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We checked into the Fairfield Inn late evening after a long day of driving. The property is well manicured and clean. The check was smooth as well as quick and the suite we stayed in was very comfortable. The front desk manager was neat in appearance and professional. She was also geographically knowledgeable about the area. Overhearing us speaking about seeking a restaurant for a late evening steak dinner with friends, she provided a recommendation and directions. Such an accommodating demeanor demonstrated more than average innkeeper prowess.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SportsRef-Off
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Charles hotels
1.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel
5.8 km away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 21 in Saint Charles
174 reviews
0.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis St. Charles
0.3 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - St. Charles / St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Louis St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Louis St. Charles

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Louis St. Charles
Address: 801 Veterans Memorial Pkwy, Saint Charles, MO 63303-2146 (Formerly Fairfield Inn St. Louis St. Charles)
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Louis St. Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete hotel renovation complete as of February 2014.You will still find the relaxed comfort and outstanding service you have come to associate with Fairfield Inn hotels everywhere you travel. Enjoy our complimentary high speed internet access and complimentary hot breakfast. Make your next stay with us and see for yourself. Please make your reservation now - our excellent staff will ensure that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable.This Marriott hotel is located in the heart of St. Charles, Missouri just minutes from Historic St. Charles' Main Street, Ameristar Casino, St. Charles Convention Center, Bass Pro Shop, Lindenwood University,Hollywood Casino, St. Peter's RecPlex and outstanding companies such as Boeing, Sun Edison, General Motors and many more. Just minutes from St. Louis Lambert Airport, we are close to everything St. Louis has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Louis St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn St. Louis St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Fairfield Inn Saint Charles
Fairfield Saint Charles
Saint Charles Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing