We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Saint Louis Science Center
Ranked #15 of 263 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With the mission "to ignite and sustain lifelong science and technology learning", the Saint Louis Science Center is one of the top five science centers in the United States, and has been named one of the Top 10 Science Centers for Families by Parents Magazine and one of America's most visited museums by Forbes Traveler Magazine. The complex includes over 96,000 sq-ft of interactive science-technology exhibits that are part of the Science Center's free general admission. The most recent major permanent exhibit is GROW, a one-acre outdoor exhibit that will take visitors on a journey of food, to gain a deeper understanding of our food supply. The Science Center's ticketed areas include the OMNIMAX, a four-story IMAX Dome theater; the James S. McDonnell Planetarium, one of the world's largest planetariums; and the Discovery Room, an activity area for families with younger children.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The place was nice, we didn't stay long, as we wanted to get to the children's museum, but there were a few exhibits that really caught their attention-one was setting up a binary code to make a train move and the other was a traveling exhibit. Our kids are still a little young for this place (the 4 and 2 year old). the 8 year old enjoyed it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lahnie51675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    343
    134
    30
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“FREE”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Another great STL free attraction. Ive been many many times with my sons. Its got great interactive exhibits and they have new special exhibits frequently, they are usually quite pricey in my opinion, but always seem interesting. We only attended one, which was a Marvel exhibit and the kids loved it, it had a climbing wall, tons of superhero things and even a place to 'lift a car'. Its a bit boring to go to after years of going as the main exhibits dont really change. However, we do go about once a year as its free and the kids do always enjoy it.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank MrsPerfectWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quality Free Science based museum”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We went on a Wednesday afternoon in late March and it was not crowded at all. Parking was $10.00, main museum was free but movies and planetarium show was extra. We did not do any of the movies. We hit the planetarium after 4 and were able to walk around for free. We really enjoyed laying on the floor and looking up at the constellations. They go through all 4 seasons. We also liked seeing the crew capsules (I think they were from Gemini and Mercury flights). It was very peaceful and relaxing. We also enjoyed the dinosaur and fossil exhibits, which included both casts and orginals. The kids like the displays on weather and birds. We did not do the Star Wars stuff and after we saw it from outside were glad as it looked pretty poor. The store had a bunch of cool stuff for kids, plus the typical junk. There was a Pizza Hut Express on site but we didn't eat.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank disfan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville
Level 6 Contributor
486 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Really cool place”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The science is really cool but the coolest thing is the OIMAX it is like IMAX except way way cooler it surrounds you best to sit has high up as you can it makes you feel like you are in the ocean has three diff films great wonderful you will truly enjoy the science center and especially the OIMAX

Helpful?
Thank andypandaNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great time! Too much to do in one visit!”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We had a memebership to a reciprocating science center so we got free parking and into some of the special things free. But, even if we had not, there would still have been too much to do. It was a lot of fun, and interactive for the kids. I think though that by the time they are tweens, it is less exciting. I would say the best ages to go are 5-8. We did try to do a planatariam show and that bored the kids. But, there was so much to do, we didn't even get to everything.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank CincinnatiCeleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saint Louis Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Saint Louis Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing