We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
293
111
32
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
293
111
32
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews triumph grill louis university fox theater motorcycle museum boutique hotel arts district powell hall within walking distance grand center amazing hotel a wonderful stay front desk staff forest park definitely stay here again fitness center king bed slu
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 455 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2018 via mobile

This hotel has a perfect location near SLU and restaurants and downtown life and has the potential of being a perfect stay; however, it fell flat in a lot of ways. It had a whirlpool, but it kept turning on and off randomly (even throughout the night). There was no fitted sheet on the bed, there was a stain on the floor, and there was grime in the bathroom. Definitely easy things to fix to make this hotel perfect. My wife and I appreciated the customer service at the desk when we addressed our concerns, but for the price and current state, we wouldn’t go back and stay again.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Garrett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley C, Manager at Hotel Ignacio, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience during your stay. Our maintenance team was informed of the issue with the jetted tub and it has been resolved. Our housekeeping team has taken care of the carpet and has deep cleaned the bathroom. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention so we could immediately resolve them. We appreciate your feedback and would love to welcome you back to show you the changes!

Best,
Ashley
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2018 via mobile

Check in was fairly busy however there were two ladies checking people in and the wait wasn't bad at all. Although we did not end up in Emily's line it should be noted her customer service skills are top notch. Great with the customers, she gave additional tid bits about the area and was super friendly! Even though the lady that helped us wasn't quite the superstar Emily was, she too was pleasant and we got a lot of info just listening to Emily help the other guests.

We chose this location because we had concert tickets near by and the convenience of just being able to walk to Chaifetz Arena and back was certainly worth it. There were tons of people walking and the area was well lit. We had no worries for our safety.

The hotel itself was a nice change from regular cookie cutter hotels. We enjoyed the room although it was not as clean as we would have hoped for the price we were paying. The carpet was dirty, something had been spilled and it had gone from under the sliding bathroom door on tile to the carpet. It hadn't been cleaned up. The pillow cases had dark spots on them, not sure what that was about, it looked like mildew stains or something, we just tried to pretend it wasn't there. Instead of a fitted sheet on the mattress they just place a sheet on the mattress pad which we constantly had to adjust so it didnt move. The last thing you want is to end up laying on a hotel mattress with no sheet in between.

Nothing horrible by any means but maybe just some areas for improvement.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley C, Manager at Hotel Ignacio, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with details about your stay. I am extremely sorry for the issues you found with the cleanliness of your room. These issues are unacceptable and we will be sure they have been addressed. However I am very happy to hear that our front desk agents were helpful in providing information about the area. We would love to welcome you back to show you a true Ignacio stay in a room with no issues! Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Best,
Ashley
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2018

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the Fox Theatre. The hotel was very nice. Our room was well appointed with wifi, a safe and a refrigerator. Fresh coffee is available in the lobby in the morning. Enjoyed the onsite restaurants for happy hour and some food. Convenient pay lot across the street. Minor complaint that our king bed was a platform bed and the platform squeaked with every minor movement. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jaymarie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley C, Manager at Hotel Ignacio, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the issues with the bed however. I will be sure to have our maintenance team take a look to see if we can take care of that issue. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,
Ashley
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

We were in town for a concert at Powell Hall. It was a close, easy and pleasant walk to the hall. Steve at the front desk was amazing. He was polite, friendly and very professional. We arrived earlier than expected, so he gave us our parking sticker and told us he would call us when our rooms were ready. We walked around the area taking in some sites. Not even an hour later we received our call and were able to check in. The only complaint we have is the carpets need a good cleaning. The room was quiet and clean. Loved the Aveda bath products and the large shower with the rainfall shower head. The bed was comfortable. Coffee and water are always available on the main floor. Not impressed with the two restaurants that connect to the restaurant, but I covered those in separate reviews on their pages. Just be aware that bars/restaurants do close early in the area. We were ready for a drink after the concert so we decided to go to the bar at the hotel. It was closed and it was only 10:05. Most places close at or before 10:00 except the Fieldhouse down the street. If we would have known that in advance, we would have stopped there.

We would definitely stay at Hotel Ignacio again. We would just make sure we plan our evenings better now that we are familiar with the area.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Local50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley C, Manager at Hotel Ignacio, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am happy to hear Steve took such great care of you! We do our absolute best to accommodate all our guest requests, especially early check in's. We know that most everyone comes to town with some sort of schedule to keep and we like to ensure that we don't keep people from that schedule. Sadly you are correct that our neighborhood tends to shut down a little earlier than most but Fieldhouse is always a great option for drinks and food! Thank you again for your review, we appreciate it!

Best,
Ashley
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

We won't be staying here again after a failed attempt to break into our car in the hotel lot. Despite having a security guard four cars were broken into. We were lucky that our window was only cracked and not broken.

Other than that the hotel was felt like a dorm to us. Maybe a theme being on SLU campus. The furniture and carpets were stained. The AC rattled all night. One bright spot were the pillows. Most comfortable I've ever slept on.

Staff were polite but nothing extraordinary and not apolgetic about the car. Seems like they could have offered some gesture for our trouble.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank vsand2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley C, Manager at Hotel Ignacio, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to better our hotel for future guests.

Best,
Ashley
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews