We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,213)
Filter reviews
1,213 results
Traveller rating
227
346
259
194
187
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
346
259
194
187
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun deck busch stadium scott trade center hockey game amtrak station wet bar scotttrade center sitting area city museum large room mini fridge king bed gateway arch downtown blues peabody
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 1,213 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2018

We booked this room through Hotwire, requiring accommodations with 2 beds for 3 adults. We were traveling to participate in a marathon which we had all been training for throughout the winter. When we arrived, we were provided keys to our room and pointed in the direction of the elevators. Upon entering the elevators, we are required to insert our door key to reach the floors with hotel rooms. However, none of our keys would properly operate the elevator. Thankfully another guest joined us on the elevator who had previously had the same problem and remedied it with the front desk. They said they were still able to open their hotel room door, so we continued on to our room. The keys did open the door but I wish they hadn't. I regret not taking photos as there was trash around the furniture, the bathroom was dirty/stained, the carpet was stained with muddy footprints and cigarette butts were left behind in a supposedly non-smoking room.

Perhaps worse than each of these issues was the fact they considered it acceptable to not provide a second bed and instead furnish a DISGUSTING pull out sofa I wouldn't wish on my worst enemy. None of us even cared to sit on it. But we gave it the old college try in hopes that the mattress may be more acceptable/clean than the sofa cushions. Suffice it to say that was not the case. In addition, they had not furnished sheets, blankets, pillows, etc. despite knowing we had three adults on the reservation. In the interest of full disclosure, we would have likely not subjected anyone to the pull out sofa because of the likelihood of a poor night’s sleep and throwing away months of preparation for the race the next morning.

Off I went to the front desk in hopes of securing alternate accommodations in the hotel that would more comfortable sleep 3 adults. I was informed that the pull out should be acceptable to us as that is the only room configuration for three adults outside of a suite, which would we would be required to pay extra in order to secure.

Back to the room to share the bad news. One friend called for the pillows, sheets and blankets while the other called Hotwire to see if there was anything that could be done. Hotwire contacted the hotel as we remained on hold. Within a couple minutes we had someone at the door to begin picking up the trash in the room. They stepped out to obviously communicate back to the front desk who was speaking with Hotwire.

When Hotwire returned to the line, they informed us that the hotel refused to issue a refund but that Hotwire would provide the refund out of their pocket. Thankfully, we were able to find a room for that night at the Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel which I will review positively next.

Bottom line: Under any circumstance that may bring you to St. Louis, stay away from this place. Even though it was about a 10 minute drive away from the downtown area where we had hoped to stay, the Sheraton in Clayton was hands down the better choice for the same price. And public transportation on the MARTA train is easy and convenient from the Sheraton straight into downtown.

If the St. Louis City Center Hotel is your only downtown option or it offers the best price, expand your search. It's not worth it. They also charge $25 to park and while I am sure their staff have to field complaints constantly, they could care less that you are unsatisfied. Meanwhile, back at the Sheraton, things are clean, orderly and the staff is lovely. And parking is free!

Room Tip: Wiling to bet the rooms are all gross
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel St. Louis City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

We are terribly sorry that we were unable to provide you with the service that you deserve for your recent visit to run your marathon. It is always our intention to provide our guests' with a clean and comfortable stay, and it troubles us that we failed you in this regard. We will speak with our front desk staff and review our booking processes across all channels to ensure that the type of accommodation booked is clearly represented to all future guests so as to avoid a mix up like this in the future. Additionally, we will work closely with our housekeeping team to ensure that a similar oversight such as the trash and general condition of your room does not happen again. Again, we apologize that we failed to provide a restful and comfortable place to stay in order to prepare for your big day. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us with your feedback, and we hope that you will reconsider and give us a second chance to prove our high level of value to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2018

The Metro-link (train) is located directly across the street from the hotel which provides easy access from areas such as the airport or other areas within the city. That said, the hotel room that I stayed in was very quiet. The room was spacious and clean when I arrived with a kitchenette, refrigerator, sofa, and desk. I will say that the end table was damaged as well as the desk appeared to be scarred. I did report this to the desk and they seemed concerned. A bar is available in the lobby as well as a on-site restaurant (seemed a little pricey compared to another stay in close by hotel). Although wifi is free, service was intermittent. Parking is available tor a daily fee. I spent little time in the room itself, but seemed reasonable to business purposed.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank bjudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel St. Louis City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Thanks so much for staying with us during your time in St. Louis. We hope you had a productive business trip and appreciate your thorough review. Our team loves knowing you found our property conveniently located and well-equipped, two key factors for both leisure and work travelers. We appreciated that you brought the table issue to our attention and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

This was my second stay here but I won’t be back. The first stay was fine location is great if attending an event at Scott Trade. Booked to stay after a concert. The hotel was understaffed and bar ran out of beer. We stopped quickly to check in and was back out the door. I should have time to look at our room before we left. Got back to the room and midnight and left the hotel at 12:15. There was a coat still hanging in the closet, the toilet was gross and found a note in the floor indicating someone has puked in the floor. Hotel was booked so they couldn’t give us a different room so we drove the 2 hours back home. It took us 2 days and 6 phone calls to get a refund.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AALogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel St. Louis City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

We were happy to welcome you back and truly apologize for the state of your room upon arrival. Room cleanliness is our goal for every guest, and we are sorry that we were not able to switch your accommodations during your stay and that you did not end up staying with us. We also apologize for the delay in being able to resolve the issue after you left, but we are glad to know that it has since been handled. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope that you will reconsider and allow us to provide the service and stay you were expecting the next time you attend an event at Scott Trade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

This place could be absolutely amazing. Rooms are a great size, but the details bring it down. Room still had trash from previous guest, and an open soap bar. Same issues as other reviews, clean but stained sheets. Just no attention to detail by cleaning staff, stay wasn't bad, just not great. Average hotel, I'm neutral on this one...

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Hoosier0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel St. Louis City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Thank you for your review! We welcome all guest feedback as we consider it an opportunity to continually improve the services and accommodations we offer. It saddens us to hear that your visit did not quite meet your expectations. We apologize that your room was not up to the cleanliness level that it should have been. We will be sure to address your experience with our housekeeping staff in order to provide excellent service to our future guests. Given the opportunity, we would like to provide you with the stay you expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

Check-in is supposed to begin at 3, so we assumed we could check in at 3, get ready quickly, and make it to a wedding at 4. Wrong! As other reviewers have noted (and “management” ironically stating they’ll address the issue) this seems to be a real problem. Extremely poorly managed and rundown establishment. Trying to explain your situation to the front end grunts Henry or Erica will also get you nowhere. They are a joke to the term management and something I would refuse to call either. Completely unapologetic that they cannot adhere to their own policies and lack of regard for others commitments. Needless to say, we left and gladly paid a higher rate with a much more reputable establishment. As I said before, don’t put yourself through the trouble of staying here. Do your self a favor and go with somewhere, anywhere, else.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Dustin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel St. Louis City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Dear Dustin,
We work very hard to provide an efficient and quick check-in process for all of our guests and truly regret that your room was not available at 3 pm and any inconvenience this caused for your wedding plans. We are even more disappointed that we did not have a chance to serve you, but hope that you enjoyed the celebration and the rest of your time in St. Louis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews