We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,834)
Filter reviews
1,834 results
Traveller rating
227
378
370
339
520
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
378
370
339
520
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool gateway arch an older hotel large room bit dated mississippi river courthouse baseball
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 1,834 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2017

We booked when the hotel was still charging minimum $130/night, but when we arrived their room prices had gone down to $75/night. We still had to pay the original booking price which was absurd.

Breakfast is overpriced, air conditioning hardly works, and the "free wifi" is a huge joke--it doesn't work in most of the hotel, and hardly works in the rooms. Also, we only had boiling water, and had to run the taps 20 minutes before we could even try and shower. Told front desk about it and nothing was done.
Housekeeping didn't replace toilet paper, and if you were empty you had to go down to the front desk and get it yourself (or find an unattended cart to snag one off of).

For $75/night it probably would have been fine, but they sucked every penny they could from us and it was just generally a very unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Fully explore room on the first day, and change if needed. Few food options outside of expensive hotel food.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaleighcartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Dear Kaleigh,

We appreciate you taking some time to write us a review of your stay. It is saddening to read that you experienced so many issues with maintenance and service during your visit and that you felt that the experience was not a good value. We must apologize for the poor air conditioning, other issues you encountered. We will share your review with our maintenance team so that we can take steps to correct the problems you have identified. These conditions were clearly not acceptable for your stay and will be corrected for future guests. Our housekeeping procedure will also be examined and reinforced to be sure that we are not missing such critical areas as toilet paper replacement. Please consider us for a future stay in St. Louis so that we can demonstrate our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

So I am staying at your hotel & just want to send my appreciate to SHONDA RUSSELL who was the front desk attendee upon arrival to hotel!! I can not speak enough on how professional, kind, personable & just darn right AMAZING!! I have never been treated soo good at a hotel & I hope you guys know you Have a gem in her!! I also want to mention Joe Cramer as well who was super personal & kind as well during my stay so far, as well as all the staff I have had the pleasure to speak with!! ⛦⛦⛦⛦⛦

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Dear Daniel,

Your rave review of City Place-Downtown St. Louis brightened our day! Shonda Russell and Joe Cramer are wonderful assets to us, and they'll be delighted that their courteous and attentive service meant so much to you. We're also very proud and flattered to hear that you've never been treated so well at a hotel before and we'll certainly commend our entire team for their kind assistance! We trust that the rest of your stay was enjoyable as well. Many thanks for your glowing praise and we'd be privileged to have you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017

I have stayed at this hotel several times when it was still a Crowne Plaza. It is obvious that it is a hotel in distress hence no longer part of the IHG franchise.
We had reserved a rate that required advance payment. NOONE at the desk could confirm whether or not we had indeed been charged. The desk clerk asked for help and the supervisor (Shonda) came over and essentially walked off without trying to help or answer any questions. She then used profanity to refer back to our group.
The desk was slammed because there were so many complaints...some with similar questions to ours, others that had been checked in for a day already with no ac and had been promised a new room, but then told "they didn't hold the room" and now couldn't help them and the list goes on.
I tracked down the management company, InnerCircle, and called them. They referred me to Julia Baker, General Manager. Julia was on vacation the week of July 10 and returning on the 17th. We have yet to hear from her to follow up.
I will never stay here again. It is sad what has happened to this property. If the phone call had been returned, I wouldn't have posted this review and tried to visit the hotel again for a second chance.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank hmhargrove2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns to us. We're honored by your loyalty as a returning guest and are saddened that you've noticed a decline in our service that has discouraged you from returning. Please accept our heartfelt apology for failing to meet your expectations. We regret that your questions regarding room charges were not handled in a more professional manner at the time. Your comments will be reviewed with our team in order to ensure that our normally high standards are upheld. We appreciate you reaching out to us and intend to determine the reason for the delay in resolving this situation. Your feedback enables us to improve and we'd love a chance to use it to provide you with the stay you expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

Not super impressed by this hotel. The foyer looks nice but otherwise, I don't think I'd stay here again. We were on the 15th floor, tucked in the corner at the end of hall. The hallway smelled musty and like cigarette smoke.

The bathroom is situated oddly. The faucet in the shower leaked. The bed was pretty pitiful. Just a thin blanket sandwiched between two thin sheets--not even a proper blanket.

This was simply a place to sleep, and we didn't linger long.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nanixon89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

We appreciate your insight as it gives us a glimpse into our guests' needs and helps us determine what can be done differently to improve our services. It's nice to know that our foyer was welcoming. We are sorry, however, that much of your time with us was not satisfactory. We apologize that the hallway was not pleasing and that your bathroom faucet didn't shut off properly. It is our intention to address your issues with our team in order to improve the quality of our accommodations. We also apologize for the inadequacy of the bed. We want all of our guests' experiences to be relaxing and enjoyable, so we would appreciate the opportunity to deliver that for you the next time you're in our area. Please consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

Don't waste your time or money staying here. On checking in they confirmed was paid for by our travel agent. On check out we were presented with a room bill from a very unhelpful receptionist, after going back and forth a manager confirmed it was paid for and we wouldn't be charged. Upon returning from our vacation we have been charged on our credit card which we are yet to receive a refund. I've emailed the hotel everyday last week and no response. A very unhappy customer!

I don't know how this hotel is still operating, the walls are filthy everywhere and the furniture in the room is very dated, our sofa at the bottom was black! Only good thing about our room was the view of the arch. I still await a response from city place before I take this further!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ABNewman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

Thank you for the time you've taken to share your concerns with us. We appreciate you reaching out to discuss the charges you received and sincerely apologize for the delay in resolving the issue. If this has not yet been addressed, please contact us directly. We also regret that our accommodations weren't up to our usual high standards of cleanliness. Our housekeeping team will be made aware of this in order to improve. Although we're sorry that you found our rooms to be a bit dated, we're glad you had a nice view of the Arch. It saddens us to know that these issues have discouraged you from recommending us. We appreciate your feedback. Given the opportunity, we'd love to deliver the stay you expected and deserve at a later date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews