We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely hotel, great staff, wonderful ammenities and it is connected to the Barnes Hospital. Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Parkway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Parkway Hotel
Ranked #36 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
“Lovely hotel, great staff, wonderful ammenities and it is connected to the Barnes Hospital. Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We loved the indoor walkway to Barnes Hospital. We also enjoyed the convenience of having a lovely restaurant connected to the hotel. The ammeneties are excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in St. Louis in that area of the city.

Room Tip: If you are going to Barnes Hospital there is a discount on the cost of the room to help you with you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the Parkway Hotel. We are very convenient to the Barnes Hospital complex, Washington University School of Medicine, Forest Park, along with 6 blocks of restaurants, shops, cafe's and more! The third floor of the Parkway hotel connects by skywalk to the complex. This makes it extreamly convenient to get back and forth to dr. appointments without going outside. We hold out a few discounted rooms each evening for the hospital patients as a courtesy.

I hope you had gotten to take advantage of our complimentary Hot Breakfast buffet that we recently have enhanced. On Monday, Wednesday and Fridays we add breakfast burittos, Tuesday and Thursday we add omelets and on Saturday and Sunday we add breakfast Biscuit sandwiches.

We would love to have you as our guest agin in the near future for a trip of leisure rather than visiting Barnes. There are so many fun things to do that our complimentary shuttle can take you to or you can take the Metro Link which is out our back door.

Thank you again for your review and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    150
    83
    20
    17
See reviews for
186
72
43
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ridgway, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

This hotel was clean, easy to get to, the people were very nice and helpful, and most of all so nice to walk inside to the hospitals. Such a nice place to stay when you have to hospital business

Room Tip: 3rd floor is where the walkway to the hospital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stay at this hotel for business every 4-6 weeks for several nights. On my last trip, I became ill and had a brief hospital stay. I cannot say enough about staff and their helpfulness. The Hotel manager Teri, front desk staff Erica and Stephanie, the security guards, and the bellman all went out of their way to make sure I was taken care of. Being alone and ill while traveling is difficult, but this staff made me feel like a family member!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Hello from the Parkway Hotel and thank you for taking out the time to review our hotel.
How wonderful that you stay with us each time you travel on business. We hear this often from our front desk staff regarding all of our "regulars" . Our staff takes pride in the service they provide and they genuinely care for all of our guests. Terry is our Front office manager, he does a fantastic job in finding the type of staff we require to make our guests feel comfortable and welcome.
We look forward to having you as our guest again and lets hope the flu does not follow you during your next trip. Have a safe winter and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoopeston, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We arrived on a Saturday night at 9pm and were surprised to see not one but 2 ladies of the night strutting their stuff right outside the main door. The room we reserved was not available and had to rent a rollaway for $20. Breakfast area was dirty, not real oj and the employee and the cart bringing fresh food was filthy. The floor area is filthy due to employees only vacuuming the middle. Heat did not work correctly and there is no security. will not stay again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mc35169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Hello from the Parkway Hotel. We take our reviews seriously and investigate if there is something of a negative nature.
After reading your review regarding “ladies” outside of our hotel, I had our camera footage checked for the month of January. We have 24 hour security which involves continual rounds inside and out. We have been open for 9 years and have never had this type of situation and we still don’t. What we can see from the camera footage is there are the young people that are dressed up for the evening and walking around, having fun ready to enjoy the night life in the Central West End Area. (There are 6 blocks of restaurants, shops, cafés, bars, clubs etc that make up the CWE).
Regarding the $20 roll away charge, yes we do charge, like all hotels for a rollaway, however, in checking our January 2012 report, there were no $20 roll away charges for any guest.
Regarding the heat in your guestroom, I hope you called the front desk for this issue. There are times, just like at home, where the thermostat has to be reset, which takes seconds. All staff is trained on this and would have been happy to do this for you.
The only cart that we can locate that you are speaking of that you said was unclean is a cart that is meant for our back of the house use only. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so that we can address this issue with our staff that used this cart.
Thank you for your review and have a great week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

The room we had was one of the most comfortable and clean we have stayed in. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The full breakfast every morning was very filling - the biscuits and gravy were the BEST. We would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the Parkway Hotel. OH YES.. our biscuits and gravy are always a big hit along with our fresh baked cookies that we have in our lobby for all guests between the hours of 5:30pm to 9:30pm. Regarding breakfast, we also have changed things up a bit to add a nice variety. Along with the scrambled eggs, sausage and biscuits and gravy , fruit, etc. etc that is our base breakfast ,on Monday, Wednesday and Friday we ADD breakfast burittos, Tuesday and Thursday we add omelets, Saturday and Sunday we add breakfast sandwiches.
Have a wonderful week Cheryl and we look forward to having you as our guest, again and again. There are so many things to do within the Central West End where we are located you'll never get tired of all the things St. Louis has to offer. See you soon. :O)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I highly recommend the The Parkway Hotel. Every aspect of my stay was perfect. If I ask for something it was delivered immediately. The staff was outstanding, especially John who shuttled us to the zoo and other destinations. This hotel has kind, considerate and customer friendly staff who go out of their way to smile and make you feel welcome. The Continental breakfast was delicious and had a very nice variety of food. The fresh cookies and popcorn made it seem more like home when you are traveling with children. This was an outstanding experience, others should strive to give the service the Parkway does. Thanks everyone!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unforgettable1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Have stayed several times and the staff is always friendly and ready to please. We orginally stayed because we needed to be close to the hospitals but look forward to staying and using to shuttle when we go to "The Fox" or other outings in the area. Its great that there is always coffee or tea available all day and the popcorn at night. Also there are snacks to purchase, you don't need to go out of the building to get a midnite snack.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you Sandra for taking the time to review the Parkway Hotel. We ARE the perfect hotel for families. With all of our free beverages, snacks and our hot breakfast which includes many choices, it's great when traveling with children. Our location is so convenient to the Fox Theater, as you mentioned, along with the St. Louis Zoo (the Zoo is free and our complimentary shuttle will be happy to drop you off) The Science Center is only 1 mile from the hotel, the Botanical Gardens is 2 miles.Just sign up for the shuttle at the front desk for the time you would like to depart and your day of fun can begin. Leave the driving to us.
Please remember the next time you call for a reservation, ask our reservationist about our Parkway packages. There might be the perfect package just for you.
Enjoy the winter Sandra and we hope to see you in the Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cheshire
#33 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel

Property: The Parkway Hotel
Address: 4550 Forest Park Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63108-2114
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Parkway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkway Hotel, Fully Renovated with a Modern, sleek, upscale look. only 5 minutes from downtown St. Louis. With 217 guestrooms, they provide the customer service that will always make your stay a comfortable and pleasant experience. As their guest, you will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, popcorn, fresh baked cookies, 24 hour coffee and fresh fruit. The St. Louis Metro Link station is 1 block from the Hotel. It provides inexpensive transportation from Lambert Airport and throughout the city. The Parkway courtesy shuttle is also available. It travels within the Central West End. Sign up for the Parkway shuttle is located at the Parkway's front desk. The Central West End consists of 6 blocks of restaurants and cafe's nestled among art galleries, antique and specialty shops. The Parkway Hotel is adjacent to Forest Park, St. Louis Zoo, Muny, Jewel Box, Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes/Children's Hospital, Close to dozens of wedding venues. The Parkway Hotel,is the perfect hotel whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. We do not accept pets at this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Parkway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing