We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveller rating
330
191
107
26
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
191
107
26
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barnes jewish hospital central west end forest park applebee's restaurant medical center patient rate hospital complex hospital stay medical facilities medical reasons parking garage children's hospital free popcorn fresh baked cookies wedding guests hot breakfast front desk manager
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 679 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2018

This hotel is the only hotel physically attached to Barnes -Jewish Hospital. I found that if I asked for a hotel rate the hotel was sold out. If I called back and just asked for room availability, rooms were available. What a horrible way to treat people who are already stressed with family illness. The smell as you enter the third floor hall, from the hospital is putrid. It might have seemed fresh years ago, but it no longer is. The breakfast is sub par. Small store bought rolls used as biscuits.Breads offered but no pastries or yogurt. The rooms were clean. The view...you could communicate with people in the parking garage.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawna Leigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Hello: The Parkway Hotel is attached via sky walk to the hospitals in the complex. The Parkway Hotel has the same type of clientele as all hotels. We have many weddings, family reunions, business travelers and leisure travelers.

We have a limited number of designated hospital rooms. When those have been reserved by other callers, our staff states that our hospital rooms are not available. Our staff is not trying to trick our guests or cause added stress, our staff is answering the questions they have been asked.

Like most hotels in our area, our breakfast items are store bought, we do have pastries each morning along with eggs, breakfast meats, fruit, bagels etc. Yogurt is currently not one of our standard breakfast staples at this time.

Like all hotels within a large city, not all rooms have the perfect view, cities are surrounded by other buildings and parking garages.

Thank you for the comments and I hope my answers have been helpful for the next time you travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2018

We came to St Louis to watch a chess tournament at the chess scholastic center. This was a hotel that was recommended by them, for convenience of location.
The hotel itself was fine, if a bit dated, but the location is excellent. It is situated in a very nice area of St Louis. If you cross the road to Euclid Avenue, there is good range of bars and restaurants, cafes. Plus the added bonus of a nearby Whole Foods.
One thing to note - the hotel is located nearby a hospital. Therefore, some staying at the hotel are in/out patients. It’s not unusual at times to see people in the hotel wearing a drip or oxygen masks. Just something to bear in mind.
Also to note, the hotel provides a secure gated car park, at $7 a night.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnewayRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Hello and thank you for the feedback. The Parkway Hotel is in a great location as mentioned with access to dozens of restaurants, shops, cafe's and many St. Louis attractions. IKEA is also walking distance from the Parkway Hotel.
Thank you again and we hope you will select our property on your next trip to ST. Louis. Enjoy the remainder of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2018

Positive: the room was clean.
Negatives: 1. Took over an hour to check in and get our room. We were part of a line of people waiting just as long or longer. 2. There was a constant, random knocking sound in the building all night long that made it impossible to get a good night's rest. 3. Breakfast was very substandard.

They apologized and said their "computers were down". This is still no excuse for the rampant disorganization. The 2 poor desk clerks were trying to do everything at "check in", including answering incoming phone calls, while the night manager sat in his office shooting the breeze with some other suit. If there was any alternative close to Barnes Hospital, I'd try it.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SJB268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Hello and thank you for the feedback. Unfortunately, our server crashed which caused many issues. With the system down, we had no way of knowing what guestrooms were vacant and clean for our guests arriving that evening. This did cause a delay with check in. Our staff was doing the best they could to move things along as quickly as possible.

This did require our staff to check in guests by hand without use of the computer system. Guestrooms had to be physically checked one by one by our staff to find out what rooms were available. This was an on going process for that evening, our staff was knocking on doors.

We apologize that our guests did not receive the experience they normally would have had. This situation was out of our control and it did take a couple of days to rectify. All staff and management was working around the clock and doing the best they could for our guests under the circumstance. Our General Manager and Assistant General Manager did need to sit and discuss what the next form of action they needed to take.

The evening you were checking in to our Hotel, was not typical. In the age of computers, in all types of business, everything runs smooth as long as the computers are cooperating. This was the first time we have had to deal with a situation such as this and we did our best.
Thank you for your time, we do apologize for the delay this had caused you. Enjoy your weekend.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2018

I worked with the Parkway in order to provide lodging for a conference that was being hosted in St. Louis. The staff there was amazing and very helpful throughout the whole process and I look forward to working with them again.
The environment of the rooms matched the environment of the growing upscale neighborhood of the Central West End.

Room tip: If you are on th east side of building, it looks out towards downtown STL with a great view of the Arch.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoardingPass730688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2018

Hello and thank you for the great score and wonderful comments, we truly appreciate it. The Central West End has grown over the last 14 years, our guests enjoy the large number restaurant choices along with the recent additions of Whole Foods, IKEA and Starbucks.
.
We look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip to STL. There is exciting news coming soon for the Parkway Hotel that our guests will find beneficial. Stay tuned and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018

Beautiful hotel! Staff always smiling, friendly, and always help if needed. Rooms very up to date, white glove clean. Breakfast has everything you would want and always fresh. Being connected to Barnes Jewish Hospital was the best. Saved a lot of time, steps, and driving around to find a place to park.. This is not a complaint, but staying for 5 nights preparing for my husband, to get stem cell transplant, the only thing that would be nice is to get a discount for people driving so far for visits to the hospital/cancer center, etc.. I would still stay there again, its that perfect. Thank You Parkway Hotel and staff, for making our stay to much easier!

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank BettyC1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkway2, Director of Sales at The Parkway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Hello and thank you for the great score and feedback. It's always nice to know when our guests have enjoyed our amenities and our staff.
On your next trip to St. Louis we hope you can enjoy all of the fun things to do in our area and forgo the hospital stay.
We hope all is well with your husband. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews