We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Weald Smokery

Weald Smokery
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Flimwell
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Wow the large airy extension, has brought this restaurant to a new height. The food was always great, but since the new manager has taken charge the menu has increased and perfected to a high standard. Don’t expect steak, they basically only serve what they produce in there Smokery. The food is cooked on arrival so it’s not a fast food outlet, so be prepared to wait, but it’s worth the wait. I had the haddock on spinach, although I am not a fish lover I really enjoyed the dish. My husband had a jacket potato with filling. We declined the salad as there portions are substantial enough without. The meal was perfect and very reasonably priced very good value, definitely one to remember and we will be returning

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhte12, Manager at Weald Smokery, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thank you very much for your comments. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your lunch and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 97 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018

We waited over an hour from ordering to receiving the breakfast which was very disappointing. The bacon rashers were so tiny could hardly be described as rashers. They need to up their game if they are to succeed - we will not be returning for a breakfast at this venue.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ella l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhte12, Manager at Weald Smokery, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

We do appreciate feedback from our customers and take all comments on board. All our food is freshly prepared which, at busy times, can mean a short wait. However I have asked every member of staff and no-one was aware of anyone complaining at the time or having to wait this long - or even anywhere near this long. The size of our bacon does vary and when it comes up on the small side we always serve extra. Kirsty and the team work extremely hard to keep our customers happy which is resulting in many positive comments on our new cafe. Thank you for coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

Lovely quaint restaurant. Slightly disappointed with the menu as it seemed to be mainly soup or sandwiches, but maybe I am being too fussy

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank francis1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhte12, Manager at Weald Smokery, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our newly-extended cafe. The menu is currently under review and we will certainly take your comments on board. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018 via mobile

Great new extension. Light, airy, fresh Room. Perfect smoked haddock on new potatoes and spinach. Mayonnaise flavourful.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank ghvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhte12, Manager at Weald Smokery, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you so much for your comments on our award winning smoked haddock - we are very glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2018 via mobile

We’re on holiday in the glorious Kent Weald and had passed the Smokery a few times. This morning we stopped for breakfast before going for a walk at Bewl Water. It was a splendid treat.

I had the most gorgeous smoked kippers with scrambled eggs, while my husband had the full English. I tried the fantastic smoked sausage which came with it - delicious. My kippers were beautiful and cake with lovely creamy scrambled eggs. It’s just as well we’re passing through as I suspect we’d need lots of walks at Bewl Water to burn off these delicious breakfasts.

Highly recommended.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhte12, Manager at Weald Smokery, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

We do appreciate your positive comments and are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to our newly-extended cafe. Bewl and Bedgebury are fantastic places on our doorstep to go and walk off all the good food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Weald Smokery also viewed

Ticehurst, East Sussex
Flimwell, East Sussex
 
Ticehurst, East Sussex
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Ticehurst, East Sussex
Hurst Green, East Sussex
 

Been to Weald Smokery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing