We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,301)
Filter reviews
1,301 results
Traveller rating
442
502
211
105
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
442
502
211
105
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swiftcurrent lake national park shared balcony snack shop boat ride lakeside room ptarmigan dining room lake view historic hotel swiss chalet iceberg lake parking lot hiking trails rooms are small claw foot tub mountain goats swift current lake
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,301 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2018

We were lucky to reserve a lake view room on the beautiful lake front. Unfortunately the double size room came with the smallest double bed ever. Fortunately, they had a beautiful king size lake view room available for only a small fortune more. But with a view this sublime we were very happy.
Dinner was incredible, a sous vide duck that was exquisite, and a very flavourful though petite bison tenderloin. Very delicious fresh accompaniment vegetables. A small problem with the starter was professionally looked after. Lovely wines and that view! Sigh!
We loved the buffet breakfast and thought it was good value though with the prices charged it really should be included. They had huge very fresh berries and interesting pastries as well as the usual items.
We saw moose, deer and fawns, grizzlies and cubs and loons all from this beautiful old charmingly restored hotel. Although we are not young we had no problem with walking up to our third floor room.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018

My husband and I are definitely budget travelers, who don't like to spend over $100 on lodging, but due to our need to catch the 8:30 boat for the Grinnell Glacier hike, we decided to splurge. We booked late, so there was one room left-an ADA value room for $207.

The room itself was nothing special (although it had a large bathroom to accommodate those with disabilities), but the hotel is beautiful, and its location beside lake Josephine, surrounded by the mountains, is beyond words. The lobby is grand with a large fireplace and everything is designed to provide the feeling of being in the Swiss Alps. I wish we had had more time to soak up the atmosphere.

We ate in both the lounge and the dining room. All the food comes from the same kitchen. Although not fine dining, it is a step above the ordinary made with seasonal ingredients. The view from the Ptarmigan Dining Room was incredible. Where else can you have lunch while watching grizzlies on the hillside!

Given the opportunity to visit Glacier again, I would probably splurge for two nights instead of one. The Many Glacier area was my favorite parts of the park.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lve2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018

We booked a family unit, knowing the room did not have a view.

At check-in, the guest in front of us was making a scene and berating the desk staff for what was clearly his own error in making reservations.

When I stepped up to the counter, I made a joke about the previous guest's temper. The desk clerk was so tickled by it she said, "Just for that, I'm giving you a lake view room!" So it turns out they do have a few lake view family units, despite the website's claim.

That family unit, on the 4th floor of the annex, was excellent despite its historic age. Two separate, spacious rooms with newer furnishings were connected by a bathroom. And the screened windows did have a nice view of Swiftcurrent Lake and Grinnell Point.

If you are in the annex -- which has no elevator -- I highly recommend repacking your luggage into as few of bags as possible. The stairs can get exhausting, especially if you're not acclimated to the higher elevation. Also, the stairs to the parking lot are longer and steeper than we expected. Together, they can make a tiring hike if you don't pack strategically and need to make trips back to your car.

When we arrived, we took the 2pm hotel tour with Ranger Kara. She also led our hike to Grinnell Glacier the following morning. Besides being an incredibly enthusiastic and informative guide, it was fun to hear the elementary school teacher's stories of spending summers at Glacier with her husband and kids who also work in the park.

The Many Glacier Hotel just completed a 10+ year top-to-bottom renovation, so some of the older reviews may not reflect the improvements that have been made. While certainly old and historic, we were impressed with how well the hotel has been kept up considering its age, location and very limited season.

We ate dinner twice at 'Nells at nearby Swiftcurrent Motor Inn since it had a more kid-friendly menu than the restaurants at Many Glacier. The breakfast buffet in the Many Glacier dining room was OK. Sometimes it seems they try a little too hard to be creative (organic Kamut pancakes?!?) when the basics would suffice.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MD5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018

As a matter of full disclosure, we didn't stay at the Many Glacier Hotel. Because we were concerned about the weather in early October, we chose a hotel outside Glacier National Park. After an early winter storm, the road to the hotel was open and we navigated the potholes so we could capture the magnificent view that we saw on the promotional material on the internet and also to have lunch at the Ptarmigan Dining Room. If you can book a room at the historic Many Glacier Hotel, do it. You won't experience a more spectacular this side of Switzerland or Austria. Many Glacier Hotel is the largest hotel in Glacier National Park. Called the "Switzerland of North America," it was built by the Great Northern Railway in 1914-15 on the shore of Swiftcurrent Lake. It is a secluded, five-story hotel with two suites, seven family rooms and 205 guest rooms. No TV or air conditioning. You won't need either, not here. It is a rustic environment but comfortable with modest amenities and old-world style accommodations. Remember, it's all about the view. The hotel was partially renovated in 2016.

Room tip: book a room with a view of the lake and the mountains
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018

We booked late so only had rooms with no lake view but that didn't both us, you can sit on the large veranda and look at the lake if you want. The room was basic (no tv), but again that didn't bother us, it was clean and comfortable. No wifi in rooms, only in public areas, if you can get on it - the hotel is in the middle of nowhere so understandable that wifi is not easily accessible.

It is a really nice place to stay and would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tracy166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews