We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“thour thoroughly enjoyed day,beautiful area,experienced guides can't wait to return”

Geyser Whitewater Expeditions
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Yellowstone Rafting Trips on the Gallatin River near Big Sky Montana. Plunge through Yellowstone's most famous whitewater or kick back and relax as you glide down the river on a Scenic Float. A perennial favorite, Geyser Whitewater will provide family memories never to forget. You can be assured of great times and great service as Geyser is unparalleled in safety on the Gallatin River, and is the only Yellowstone region outfitter to host both the First Family of the United States and the Vice President. Geyser Whitewater offers the Original and Best Value on Horseback and Rafting Adventures and introduced the Zipline and Rafting packages, imitated but unequaled by others in the area. Rafting, Kayaking, Zip lining, Horseback riding, Family boat rentals, Climbing Wall, Bike Rentals.....Grab a paddle, for the Adventure of a Lifetime!
Linwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“thour thoroughly enjoyed day,beautiful area,experienced guides can't wait to return”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

friendly staff, called first to get information about level of rapids, clothing...extremely helpful!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    43
    10
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Geyser Whitewater - WOW!”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

If you are going to Big Sky Montana and you want to go whitewater rafting, your best bet is Geyser Whitewater.

I emailed them quite a few times prior to going to Big Sky to ask a lot of questions concerning rafting with my young daughter, 7 years old and they always responded immediately, specifically and ready to answer any questions. I was very specific as to wanting the 1/2 day float because neither my daughter or my wife swim and wanted to make sure that they would be safe. They were open and honest that although that float specifically wasn't available, there was a very calm 1/2 day float down the river that would be appropriate for us.

Upon arrival, there is a really fun, well coordinated atmosphere that also is quite exciting because they are so busy all the time. Nevertheless, you never get a feeling of recklessness but rather a well-oiled machine that is cranking out some serious fun.

Our guide was a young woman who was extremely warm, friendly and very knowledgeable not only about rafting but about the area. What was astonishing and I believe slightly unique was the safety talk we had prior to going on this relatively easy stretch of the Gallatin River. It was very comprehensive, straight forward and what was most remarkable and greatly appreciated given that I was with my young daughter was that the guide clearly stated that if we had any reservations or decided we did not want to go, we were free to change our minds and that she would take us back with a full refund!!! What!!! A business with principles!!!! This was offered with no hint of cynicism what so ever and I can't tell you how greatful I was to at least be offered that option.

Our float down the Gallatin was one of the most beautiful events of the trip, my 7 year old absolutely loved it, we say bald eagles, beautiful homes, great scenery and felt safe the entire time.

In addition, Geyser takes great pains to get great shots of you and your group on the river. You will be torn when you come back as to whether or not to spend the big money and get a whole CD of your trip, but alas, how often do you go rafting. There is a bit of a sale job happening, but it's very friendly and I believe there is nothing wrong with selling a good product that reminds you of a great experience.

I had a great conversation with the owner and his passion for the river and his business translates to how they treat their customers.

Have a great time!!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Risk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Geyser crew delivers!”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We had so much fun w/ Geyser in 2005 that we decided to do it again since we were in the area this summer. Carl was a great guide...even though he goes to Emory! Turns out, my bro was among those crazy kayakers you told us about. Lunch was delish!
Thanks, your rafters from WashU-StL!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank De P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilBoozer
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good lunch and rafting”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The lunch they provide is a very good Deal. The rafting part was a bit cattle car feeling with getting on a bus with a lot of other people. But the water was exciting and a real adventure. Definitely wear a bathing suit...you do get wet even in a wet suit. Changing room is not the greatest and pretty small with the amount of people.

Helpful?
3 Thank LIlBoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An Absolute Must-Do While in Big Sky!!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My husband and I went rafting twice in July on the Gallatin River with Geyser Whitewater Expeditions. This is the premier rafting outfitter servicing Big Sky, Montana, and we were impressed with their organization and their incorporation of FUN with SAFETY. Carl and Mac are fantastic guides and gave excellent instructions, pointed out lots of sights, even told some good jokes. The highlight along the way was a mama moose with her calf on the river bank. The trip begins with a bus ride - towing the rafts - to a launch site, where you then have a thorough safety briefing while the guides carry the rafts to the river bank. Our raft held 6 paddlers plus the guide. You mostly float downstream while enjoying the scenery but you do have to paddle through rapids or around larger boulders. There were probably 6 different rapids plus the "mad mile" - a mile long stretch of river littered with rocks and rapids, including House Rock (you can picture it!). The whole trip including bus rides took about 3 hours or so - hard to remember exactly how long, we were having so much fun! Again, I cannot emphasize enough how impressed we were with Geyser's emphasis on safety combined with fun, and we totally appreciate this!

Some tips: We rented the wetsuits - you do get wet (the front riders get soaked) and the water is still pretty cold - but if you have your own water shoes, bring them as the river water makes booties get really stinky. Skip the camera - there are professional photographers along the river that will take great pics of you as you paddle through the rapids. Remember also to bring "keepers" for you sunglasses so they don't float away. If you have a towel, you might want to bring it to dry off afterwards along with a change of clothing. And leave the jewelry at home. If you are hungry, they have a great quick lunch BBQ tent. One other tip, if you have small children, they do a float trip higher up on a calm stretch of river. Our grandkids have done this - and the indoor climbing wall - and loved both!! We look forward to our next rafting trip with Geyser in late August.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank VGDreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Geyser Whitewater Expeditions also viewed

 

Been to Geyser Whitewater Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing