We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for motel like environment”
Review of Hampton Inn Butte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Butte
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Overpriced for motel like environment”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We were travelling through Butte after our trip through Salt Lake City, Las Vegas and San Francisco. This was the most expensive hotel (the other hotels were of the same brand or similar) during our entire trip and it was not worth it. During check in, there were toddlers crawling all over the lobby and screaming their heads off. We could not even hear what the front desk clerk was saying. We understand that this is not something the hotel could control but the guests with these children could have done something about it but chose not to. We had requested two rooms to be in a quieter area, away from the elevator and for them to be adjoining or beside each other. When we arrived on the third floor, we discovered one of the rooms was slightly in front of the elevator, facing the main street and the two rooms were separated by one room. Being separated by one room wasn't too big of a deal but we overheard another party that had booked two rooms and wanted them close together but this request was not fulfilled. The rooms themselves were very clean but the walls were very thin. We could hear the traffic outside all night and in one of the rooms, our neighbours decided to engage in potential family creating activities (I had previously described it as it was but someone didn't like it so I've chosen what I believe are "family friendly" words). We were awoken by banging on the wall and noises one tends to not want to hear from people engaging in potential family creating activities (again, I described what we heard but just in case that wasn't family friendly either, I changed it). It was very hard to get a good night's rest with all the noise (you'll have to use your imagination since I'm not allowed to write what I heard). Breakfast was ok but it was also the most basic breakfast we had during our trip. The staff member taking care of the breakfast decided to turn on the televisions and had it so loud that another guest told her it was too loud and asked if she could turn it down. She turned it down and breakfast was a little more enjoyable. Overall, the rooms were clean and our stay was OK except for the thin walls. It honestly felt like we were staying in a motel style of accomodation but at non-motel prices. Perhaps the rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    155
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
155
179
31
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

A good Hampton Inn, staffed by knowledgeable and friendly people. We had no complaints other than we were charged $1 more than we were quoted, but hey what's a dollar. They obviously needed it more than we did.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan1Bangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Very nice hotel. Comfortable clean rooms. Very nice helful staff. reaonable rates. The breakfast is standard Hampton inn food.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastsider66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
132 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I'll start out with my disappointments; I found this Hampton slightly overpriced for the facility, which I'd guess was built in the late 90's. It didn't have a full array of A/C outlets, nor the lovely little photo outside the room which helps to remember which one is yours. (The wagon! The cup of coffee! The windmill!) But everything else was stellar Hampton. Very friendly, helpful staff. Quick check in. Clean, spacious room with comfy beds, crisp linens, fluffy towels and a nice shower. We had a top floor room facing the back side and it was very quiet. We didn't stay for breakfast, but the coffee at 4:45 AM was fresh, which bodes well. There was a Starbucks two blocks away which rocked my world. This is now our #1 choice in Butte, unless something newer gets built to lure us away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Substrata23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We spent a night at this hotel. It was very clean and the staff were helpful. They recommended a restaurant and then offered to take us there and pick us up.

There was a free breakfast as well.

Very good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usmc63m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We live in Montana and when we drive across it we rarely stop in Butte. When we have stayed in the past the hotels have been less than desired. We ended up needing to have a one night rest break and Butte was the stopping over spot. We called around and nearly all the hotels were $120 to $160 a night so my husband said "Lets just spend the money for Hampton and hope it is worth it." It was. Very clean and welcoming. Comfortable bed with a variety of pillow types. Wall colors brighter than other Hamptons we stayed in but I liked it. Our room faced the back (away from Harrison) and was really peaceful. Parking lot seemed safe and backed up to a residential area and I think a Vision Center. The kids and I tried out the pool area. Pool a little on the cool side but I'm a wimp and hot tub was nice. Breakfast was good. I liked the sliced sausage best. Nice to start the next day well rested and well fed. Hotel provided some cleaning towels and spray in the entry area and we were able to wipe all the bugs off our windshield. We paid more than I would have liked but it is high summer season and it really was well worth it and ended up to be a super experience in Butte.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Idaho
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights the first week of August. We were immediately greeted by cheerful staff upon arrival. Rooms were very nice, standard Hampton. Very clean. The usual Hampton fluffy towels (which just make other chain's towels feel like worn out dish cloths!) and very very comfortable beds made our stay very nice. The maps of Butte were a nice touch too, helped us find the *back* way to downtown without having to battle the construction on one of the main drags. Breakfast was the usual Hampton, things were refilled frequently as there was quite a crowd in and out of the breakfast room. (Lots of folks headed to Sturgis!) I will be visiting Butte again and will make the Hampton my lodging selection.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0bby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Butte hotels
0.8 km away
Best Western Plus Butte Plaza Inn
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Butte
1.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Butte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn of Butte
Comfort Inn of Butte
#5 of 15 in Butte
467 reviews
4.7 km away
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
1.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 15 in Butte
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Butte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Butte

Property: Hampton Inn Butte
Address: 3499 Harrison Avenue, Butte, MT 59701-3545
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Butte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Butte
#1 Family Hotel in Butte
#2 Business Hotel in Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Butte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Butte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Butte Hotel Butte
Butte Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing