We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was AMAZING!!! And 100% we'll be back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service
Ranked #1 of 1 Cooke City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This was AMAZING!!! And 100% we'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

At first I thought that this was going to be some sort of weird cabin thing when my mom told me. But when we got there, I was astonished. It was a large house with about 6 rooms for people to stay in. My family (4 people) got the BearTooth room. It had a closet, bathroom with shower, and two double beds. Outside there was also a porch for everyone on the 2nd floor to use. Downstairs there was a T.V. with lots of movies from Cinderella to Lord of the Rings and more. There was also a Wii with a few games. In the kitchen area you could use a mini fridge, microwave, and some other small things. They had a coffee/tea machine, and some hot chocolate (Swiss Miss(No sugar added) and Real Dutch). Outside there is a hot tub, grill, and fire pit. The hot tub is open for any time of the day, but if you go early of late the family lives right near it so you have to be quite. In the morning you have to know approximately what time you have breakfast so you they know what time to wake up. They serve from 7 AM to 9 AM. During the first morning we had a delicious homemade raspberry muffin. And we could pick out of fresh fruit (which changes every day) or vanilla/strawberry yogurt. That day we also went to Bear Tooth Cafe for dinner in the town. (It was very good, but not exactly what I'm supposed to be writing about right now.) The next day we woke up at 7 and had breakfast at 7:30 and then went for a horse back ride with my family that the hotel (they offer fly fishing, horseback riding, and a few other things that I can't remember at the moment.) We went for about 2 hours and went up a small mountain where we could see everything. This was great for my 8 year old little sister and my dad who usually dislikes horse back riding. The national park was about 15-30 min. away from the hotel.Overall, this was an amazing trip and I can't wait to be back. :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbubble68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    31
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
67
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Skyline Guest Ranch just outside scenic Cooke City, Montana. We opted to drive the Beartooth Pass from Red Lodge to Cooke City and to stay here prior to entering Yellowstone. The lodgings are in a beautiful log home with comfortable accommodations. Our 3rd floor room had plenty of space, and no other rooms are on that level so it is very quiet. The kids enjoyed playing ping pong on the table on the 3rd floor balcony that overlooks the main living room on the first floor. The home and our room were very clean. The breakfast was fantastic- very healthy and tasty! I wasn't here for keeping contact with the outside world, but the wi-fi service was slow and somewhat intermittent- not a big deal to us, but this is something to keep in mind if this is important to you. The owners were very nice and hospitable. Our only complaint is that we had called well in advance of staying to make a reservation for our kids to go horseback riding the day we checked out and were told that reservations were not necessary and to arrange this once we were at the property. On arrival, we tried booking a horseback riding trip only to find out that this would not be possible due to the horses being used for other guests and family members. If you are looking for a great property in the Cooke City area- we recommend this location highly...just make horeseback reservations ahead of time if that's something you want to do.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RazorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We planned our family vacation to the Yellowstone area later than most and found all lodging within the Park was full. I am so glad that it was. Skyline Guest Ranch is a great place to stay. From the peaceful surroundings to the comfortable accommodations, our family was talking about going back nearly minutes after we left. Breakfast was delicious every morning and it was fun sharing stories of the adventures from days before with the other guests.
The highlight of our stay was the horseback ride we took. The scenery was spectacular and Lee our guide was wonderful. We learned about the area and how it has changed over the years. The horses were perfect for the ride and my favorite part was riding through the river at the beginning, what fun.
Our day trips into Yellowstone were awesome. Cooke CIty is only a few miles from the Northeast entrance and it was easy to get in and out.
Liz, Vic and the whole family made us feel at home. Their grandchildren provided constant entertainment for our son and even gave him a lesson in roping a "calf"...
Looking forward to coming back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaS1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had a great time staying at Skyline from the hospitality to the horse back riding. The rooms were generous size and beds are comfy. If we ever venture west again will definitely stay at Skyline.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BentonJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotonwood, AZ
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We rented the whole lodge for a family reunion. It was the perfect place for it. The breakfast was delicious every morning. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Our family enjoyed the living room area for family gatherings and movies and the kids had fun getting in the hot tub. The surroundings are just beautiful, it is very close to the Northeast entrance of Yellowstone park. If you stay here you will love it and want to go back I promise.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurine06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Cooke City is about three miles east of the northeast gate to Yellowstone and this location is about three more miles east of Cooke City. The couple operating it offers guide services in the Yellowstone area and also operate a bed and breakfast. We knew this area had been through an extremely difficult winter in this area, the lady said the worst in thirty years but were still greeted warmly. I wouldn't have blamed them for closing down until the snow melted.

The lodge was built by the owners using local lodgepole pine they cut themselves. You can't appreciate the work and craftsmanship which went into it without being there and hearing the remarkable story of how it was done. Its a huge place, three stories tall, heated by a wood stove arrangement. Our room and separate bath was very comfortable. Highly recommended. See pictures attached.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t515cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oroville, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed here 4 nights of at the end of a 2 week vacation. It is a great location, close to Yellowstone, close to town - but not in town. The rooms and lodge are very clean and comfortable. The horseback riding is great if you are 6 or 60. They will take care of whatever you need - fishing, riding for an hour or all day. A great hard working family. Whether you want to hang out and relax, take a day trip, or enjoy the options available at the lodge, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alrtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cooke City hotels
4.7 km away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#5 of 6 in Cooke City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
4.9 km away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.6 km away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service

Property: Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service
Address: 31 Kersey Lake Road, PO Box 1074, Cooke City, MT 59020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cooke City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7 miles from the northeast entrance to Yellowstone National Park, Skyline Guest Ranch borders the Gallatin National Forest. The lodge is made of hand-hewn logs, nestled back in the pines. Each of our guest rooms has its own private bath, there is a hot tub out on the deck, big screen TV, foosball, ping pong and wi-fi. Breakfast is included with your room. this is a full, hot, sit-down breakfast. There is horseback riding and fishing available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skyline Guest Ranch And Guide Service Hotel Cooke City
Skyline Guest Ranch And Guide Service Cooke City, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing