We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Skyline Guest Ranch and Guide Service
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$160
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Rouge(Red Lodge)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soda Butte Lodge(Cooke City)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cooke City Alpine(Cooke City)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
133
33
7
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
33
7
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorseback ridingb blog homehot tubfly fishinghomemade cookiesyellowstone riverevery morninganother guesthour rideping pongbed breakfastpacked lunchhorse corralan amazing cookcats and dogsyummy breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Skyline Guest Ranch just outside scenic Cooke City, Montana. We opted to drive the Beartooth Pass from Red Lodge to Cooke City and to stay here prior to entering Yellowstone. The lodgings are in a beautiful log home with comfortable accommodations. Our 3rd floor room had plenty of space, and no other rooms are on that level so it is very quiet. The kids enjoyed playing ping pong on the table on the 3rd floor balcony that overlooks the main living room on the first floor. The home and our room were very clean. The breakfast was fantastic- very healthy and tasty! I wasn't here for keeping contact with the outside world, but the wi-fi service was slow and somewhat intermittent- not a big deal to us, but this is something to keep in mind if this is important to you. The owners were very nice and hospitable. Our only complaint is that we had called well in advance of staying to make a reservation for our kids to go horseback riding the day we checked out and were told that reservations were not necessary and to arrange this once we were at the property. On arrival, we tried booking a horseback riding trip only to find out that this would not be possible due to the horses being used for other guests and family members. If you are looking for a great property in the Cooke City area- we recommend this location highly...just make horeseback reservations ahead of time if that's something you want to do.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RazorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We planned our family vacation to the Yellowstone area later than most and found all lodging within the Park was full. I am so glad that it was. Skyline Guest Ranch is a great place to stay. From the peaceful surroundings to the comfortable accommodations, our family was talking about going back nearly minutes after we left. Breakfast was delicious every morning and it was fun sharing stories of the adventures from days before with the other guests.
The highlight of our stay was the horseback ride we took. The scenery was spectacular and Lee our guide was wonderful. We learned about the area and how it has changed over the years. The horses were perfect for the ride and my favorite part was riding through the river at the beginning, what fun.
Our day trips into Yellowstone were awesome. Cooke CIty is only a few miles from the Northeast entrance and it was easy to get in and out.
Liz, Vic and the whole family made us feel at home. Their grandchildren provided constant entertainment for our son and even gave him a lesson in roping a "calf"...
Looking forward to coming back again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaS1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had a great time staying at Skyline from the hospitality to the horse back riding. The rooms were generous size and beds are comfy. If we ever venture west again will definitely stay at Skyline.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BentonJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We rented the whole lodge for a family reunion. It was the perfect place for it. The breakfast was delicious every morning. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Our family enjoyed the living room area for family gatherings and movies and the kids had fun getting in the hot tub. The surroundings are just beautiful, it is very close to the Northeast entrance of Yellowstone park. If you stay here you will love it and want to go back I promise.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurine06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Cooke City is about three miles east of the northeast gate to Yellowstone and this location is about three more miles east of Cooke City. The couple operating it offers guide services in the Yellowstone area and also operate a bed and breakfast. We knew this area had been through an extremely difficult winter in this area, the lady said the worst in thirty years but were still greeted warmly. I wouldn't have blamed them for closing down until the snow melted.

The lodge was built by the owners using local lodgepole pine they cut themselves. You can't appreciate the work and craftsmanship which went into it without being there and hearing the remarkable story of how it was done. Its a huge place, three stories tall, heated by a wood stove arrangement. Our room and separate bath was very comfortable. Highly recommended. See pictures attached.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t515cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews