We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magic on the Big Hole”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Divide, Montana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
aschussle...
Spring Park, Minnesota, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magic on the Big Hole”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is our 3rd rental with Mountain Home and it was a wonderful experience. Very private and peaceful. Saw moose, geese, pheasant and 5 bighorn sheep. The caretakers are attentive and helped me figure out how to get the oven going, and replaced the can opener, which broke as I was using it. We were disappointed that there were no trout in the trout pond, but it was not a deal breaker. The river is just down from the cabin. We were the first guests of the season, and the river was too high to wade fish by the cabin. We would love to return in September when the water is lower. The cabin was cozy and very clean. Loved the automatic gas fireplace.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness of the cabin, and great views of mountains right there.
Liked least: Coffee filters, but no coffee in the cupboard. Would have loved a cup before shopping.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
firefly_1...
the Eastside, WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Dreamy Montana Experience!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a specific feel to our vacation. Thanks to Big Hole Canyon Ranch, we succeeded! This cabin was exactly what we were looking for!

- It was very secluded.
- It had all the amenities while still having that rustic vibe.
- It was a very short walk to a river with great fishing and no other people around.

The two bedroom cabin was comfortable and clean with nice furnishings. The exposed log walls made us feel like we were someplace special in Montana, not in just any house that could be anywhere in the world. The grounds were very well kept and they even have a mowed path to the river.

The women of Mountain Home were great. The process of booking this cabin was easy, they happily answered our questions, they gave us great directions and they even followed up with a phone call the day after we got there to ensure we had everything we needed. We were very pleased with the service.

We definitely would like to come back!

Just a few notes to help others plan their stay at Big Hole Canyon Ranch:

- The bedrooms have ceiling fans, which is a nice touch on warm days.
- The Washer and Dryer are top of the line. They are in a closet around the back of the house. (Just be aware you need to go outside to get to them.)
- The kitchen had very limited counter space and could have used some mixing bowls and measuring spoons.
- The bathtub is an old fashioned claw foot tub with a wrap around curtain. The tub itself is nice, but it might not be for anyone who has any issues with balance or hip problems and the similar. It is very high to step over the edge into the tub and there isn't anything to hang onto for balance. (And that darn shower curtain kept clinging to my legs.)
- The sprinklers for the lawn were on timers, but they didn't seem to interfere with anything, and it was nice to have a green lawn.
- We didn’t use the fold away slotted kitchen table as there didn’t seem to be enough room and there was a picnic table outside, but when it rained it was difficult to find a place for our toddler to eat messy food.
- The cabin is across the road from the arch… not through it or next to it.
- They provided firewood for the fire pit.
- The river had very rocky banks at the end of the path, but if you have the dexterity to travel over them up the river a bit, you could find a few grassy areas to fish from that were more comfortable.
- Be aware of Fishing limitations set by the Montana Fish Wildlife and Parks… the river was low when we were there, so they announced fishing restrictions or closures in some areas of the Big Hole River.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WA
Reviewed July 10, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Calgary Alberta Canada
Reviewed May 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing