We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it and will be back when in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelers Rest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
136 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Loved it and will be back when in the area”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The owners were very friendly and gave us a guided tour of our loft which was above the barn. At check-in I was asked if we'd eaten and when I answered no was told about each of the local eating places. I really appreciated the info since we had no clue where to go eat dinner. The recommendation was perfect and the food was great. To go even further we were offered the ability to wash our motorcycles if we wanted to. Its not often when you arrive and the owners offer to provide what is needed to clean your ride.

The loft was cozy and we enjoyed the stay. We got our dinner to-go so we could sit on the deck and eat it while looking into Glacier NP. Nothing like enjoying the evening and watching the sun go down. Made for a relaxing stay.

You do need to know the train is loud so be sure to bring ear plugs. East Glacier Park is small so everything is near the train.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solartj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    32
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
53
131
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We were so happy we chose to stay here instead of the GPL. The cabins were comfortable and attractive. The owners were interesting to interact with and gave us great restaurant advice. I honestly do not think that you could stay anywhere in East Glacier that is not close to the train tracks. The coyotes were much louder at night than the trains!!
You really cannot go wrong here!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mhpif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Spent 1 night at the Travelers Rest Lodge in July. The lodge is huge, with 2 large beds, lovely fireplace, big bathroom and dresing area, and a kitchenette/table. There are plenty of super fluffy bath towels and the bedding is very soft.

Criticisms: There was no information folder in the room; information about local take aways would have been useful. A hob cooker would be handy in the kitchen. The blinds were not very good and the window at the top of the cabin has no curtains at all, so the cabin gets very light early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraJane83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I highly recommend this location for family or couples. Its a beautiful lodge and the owners are very welcoming and very super friendly :). I reserved through phone and there was no issues. The lodge itself is renovated with 4 star washroom and kitchen.

The only issue is there is train tracks next to the lodge and a large train blew its whistle at 02:00 in the morning. It woke us up but we were back to sleep in no time.

The heating was great as we were worried with my 68 year old parents that they would not be warm enough. The gas heating (gas fire place) heated the lodge perfectly.

There is no breakfast so bring your own food and have a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erickilinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We booked all of our accomodations from home sight unseen, which can be risky. In this case we got lucky! Travelers Rest Lodge was great.

It has all of the amnities of a modern hotel room in a stand alone cabin. The cabin is nestled in an aspen grove about 500 yards from a highway. If you have the windows open, which we didn't as it was quite cool, you can hear the traffic on the road. We didn't notice it.

The cabin itself was awesome. Very well layed out. Everything was new.

The OWNERS were super nice and very accommodating. It was obvious they cared very much for the property. Not like nearly everywhere else we stayed, which seemed to be staffed by children.

The cabin was an unattched unit. It was very well built too. There was a thunderstorm while we were there and you couldn't hear the rain on the roof.

There were a TON of mosquitoes.

After looking around at East Glacier, I think this is the best place to stay. The lodge is "historic" which means 100 year old plumbing and tiny rooms. The other places we saw, didn't hold a candle to Travelers Rest.

Room Tip: All the cabins looked very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HenryMudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Just spent a night in probably one of the most beautiful places in the world in Glazier Park. I stayed in the barn which was immaculately clean and very quiet. Had the best night sleep I have had for months. Owners are very friendly and helpful people. Everybody should visit Glazier Park once in their life.

Rob
Sydney AUST.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank RobandCin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Beautiful, quality construction. Recently built and an absolute delight of our Western road trip. The cabins were immaculately clean. Well-decorated cabins in a tastefully done (and not overdone) Western motif. The owners were kind individuals with a high-level of knowledge about the area. When we asked, they shared quality, individualized suggestions. We were required to switch cabins due to our later-booking (March) and were pleasantly surprised that both cabins were so great! And we were thrilled about the affordability of this quality lodging. No question I would stay here again and recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: We were happy with both cabins we stayed in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2attystrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
0.8 km away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
229 reviews
34.8 km away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
541 reviews
34.0 km away
Half Way Hotel
Half Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Essex
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Mountain Pine Motel
Mountain Pine Motel
#1 of 6 in East Glacier Park
335 reviews
0.8 km away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
728 reviews
0.5 km away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#3 of 6 in East Glacier Park
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelers Rest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelers Rest Lodge

Property: Travelers Rest Lodge
Address: 20987 US Highway 2, PO Box 3, East Glacier Park, MT 59434-5022
Region: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelers Rest Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, deluxe, private cabins nestled in the aspen trees. Cabins have large, covered front porches, kitchenettes, dining area, full baths, gas-log fireplaces. Nicely decorated with log beds, open log ceilings, and fir flooring in the kitchen area. Close to hiking trails, wildlife viewing, dining, shopping, golf, and Amtrak station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Travelers Rest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelers Rest Hotel East Glacier Park
Travelers Rest Lodge East Glacier Park, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing