We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
213
71
20
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
71
20
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub grocery store the river osprey suite moose cottage the owner trout tour of the property deluxe efficiency bunk beds roosevelt arch montana whitewater deck overlooking bison nice deck in town within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 316 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2018

We sat on the deck overlooking the Yellowstone River and listen to the elk bugle then went to sleep in a comfortable bed. We come here every year for our wedding anniversary trip to Yellowstone National Park.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTTraveler736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DayTrip792425, Manager at Yellowstone Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

OH MY GOODNESS! That is awesome! Thank you for sharing that with us. I love listening to the elk bugle, too. Thank you for staying with us and HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!! See you next year...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

Upon arrival I was greeted by 2 large roaming (wild) elk/deer so I had to wait til they left to get to the office to check in. The office was unattended, but a sign was there saying please call the number - well I did and got someone else! Fortunately I had the number from my booking confirmation and I called that, she came to the office super quick and checked me in, no problem, very friendly. The cottages are lovely, I had number 3, space is fine, very clean, smells fresh, comfy bed, great wifi, and there is a really nice spot to sit on a balcony out over the river and I see a bbq there too. No breakfast, but that’s ok, I kinda wish there was breakfast out on the balcony area, how nice that would be to watch the river in the morning and have Breakfast served. Overall, simple, clean, lovely and small property. Parking no problem.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank TabithaAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DayTrip792425, Manager at Yellowstone Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2018

Hello again, Tabitha... So you were greeted by some of our (locals)… I apologize for not being in the office, I occasionally have to be out on the property. So glad you enjoyed your stay and was able to make use of our deck. The river and mountain views are awesome. We do have BBQ grills on the deck for guest usage. Breakfast on the deck would be great, but unfortunately, at this time we do not offer breakfast. Thank you again for staying with us. Safe travels...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a week. We are a family of 5 with a teenager and a 4 and 6 year old. The family suite worked well for our needs but would have been cramped if our children would have been older. The kitchen had everything we needed and we enjoyed our semi private balcony. It was smaller than expected but the view was gorgeous. My only complaint is that there was an abundance of gnats around our balcony. We enjoyed the family suite but I don’t think I’d book a regular room.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank clwdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowstone Riv... C, General Manager at Yellowstone Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Hi Candice, thank you for staying with us during mid-July, and we appreciate you sharing your opinion and feedback. We are glad to learn that you and your family enjoyed the kitchen, balcony and the view in/from our Park Suite (we also call it loft suite, or river-view suite). As your kids grow, we’d like to recommend our 2-bedroom suite (Osprey Suite) that can easily accommodate 6 people, should you come to stay again. Or if you prefer to return to the same Park suite, we will put in a roll-away bed at our cost to welcome you and your family back.

As for the gnats, we agree it is very annoying to see gnats swarming around. During the hot days in summer, especially in July and August, in Gardiner, MT, gnats are one of the most common insects in the area, especially after dark, as long as there are lights out there. Gladly they don’t bite, but they do feel like flying busily and aimlessly and bumping into things. This kind of gnats are common in similar geographical areas like Idaho, Utah, Wyoming, etc. Our hotel has routine pest control on site, nevertheless it does not do much to gnats because as long as there are lights outside, especially after dusk/dark, there are gnats there for sure. The most effective way to handle it is to leave the light off at the door. In addition, we keep eco-friendly organic insect killer spray in the front office that we can use to help temporarily manage the gnats situation when guests need. We will also put out some insect trap lights next summer to help manage the gnats situation.

Thank you again for your stay and the feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in our Yellowstone Riverside Cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018

This cottage was private, cozy, very new-looking, clean, with good wi-fi and a huge TV. The owners were friendly and recommended a good restaurant. There was a patio with a cooking grill overlooking the river just behind our cottage and also had a long, steep stairway that lead down to the river. We had no complaints and would recommend it highly.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowtifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DayTrip792425, Manager at Yellowstone Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Thank you so much... Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again, maybe in winter.... it is amazingly beautiful. Enjoy the rest of your vacation...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Probably would not return, but appreciated staff recommendations for local food and color. We reserved a studio for two people and were cramped and layout is not convenient at all, closet pole was missing so we relied on hooks on the wall. Bed was comfortable once you climbed under the upper bunk, and location just outside Yellowstone is great. An experience, for sure, but will not repeat.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank seritacchilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DayTrip792425, Manager at Yellowstone Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

We are sorry you were not satisfied with your accommodations. We have several cottages that offer a variety of options, from a studio for 2, to a 2 bedroom suite with a large living room and full kitchen that sleep 6. If you should decide to stay again, give us a call and we can help you choose accommodations better suited to your needs. Thank you for the feedback on missing pole. We addressed immediately. Hope your vacation was amazing and thank you for staying with us...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews