We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place!”
Review of Hillcrest Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest Cottages
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Reviewed 25 November 2008

I visited Yellowstone off-season and the only in-park lodging still open was $200/nite (ouch!), so I continued driving north to Gardiner and was lucky to find the Hillcrest Cottages. Friendly owners and clean, quiet cabins that are just a five minute walk from the restaurants, saloons, and laundromats downtown. Gardiner is a great little town and an ideal base for exploring Yellowstone!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank chicago_traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2008

I love Hillcrest Cottages! The first time I stayed here was about 25 years ago with my then very young son, Shawn. I have such happy memories of staying here.

I am happy to say they have kept Hillcrest Cottages very clean and very well maintained throughout the years.

If you want an affordable, safe and clean place to stay without all of the unnecessary frills, this is the place for you.

We are going to Yellowstone Park next week and I hope that we are able to stay in Hillcrest Cottages again.

I wish I could afford to live here, it just feels like "Home" to me....

Thank you for all of the very happy stays!

Tara Lee Bertucci
Reno, NV (Formerly of Billings, MT)

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NVSheltieLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

This place had a good review here so we booked it. Very nice, clean and friendly service. needed extra towels and had it, no problem. There was a stove, couldn't find pots. Also a fridge.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stepjarsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2007

I booked HC after I discovered that all lodgings in Yellowstone must be booked at least 6 months ahead of time. It was early April and our trip to Yellowstone was planned at the end of June. Once I decided on Gardiner, MT as the next best location, I eventually settled on Hillcrest Cottages because they had housekeeping facilities. We stayed there 4 nights - 6/22/07 to 6/26/07. Our cottage had 2 areas - the main room had 2 double beds and the smaller housekeeping area had a single bed plus a mini kitchen which included a 2 burner range, a small refrigerator, a sink, some counter and cabinet space, a toaster, and a coffee maker. The management loaned us a cooking pot and some utensils and we were set. Being able to prepare our own breakfasts enabled us to save a great deal of time and get an early start, a crucial prerequisite if you want to enjoy sightseeing in Yellowstone without the crowds. The cottage also had a TV, although we found it rather complicated to operate and were therefore limited in what we could watch. The worst thing about the lodgings was the extremely small shower, which felt like a straight jacket. The shower stall was so small and narrow that I refrained from washing my hair because there wasn't enough room for this activity. As it was, I was unable to step away from the stream of water while washing, I had to actually turn the water off while I was soaping myself. This was the most unpleasant aspect of staying here. Otherwise, the cottages are modest but completely adequate. You can prepare your own breakfasts (and other meals if you are so inclined) and this will save you both time and money. Time can be of a premium so we definitely appreciated this. You are 5 miles from the Mammoth Hot Springs and can easily access the most popular sites in the park. If you get an early start (we got up at 5 am and left around 6 am) you can easily drive to Old Faithful in about 2 hours. Most other places are closer. If you don't like crowds this is the way to do it. Gardiner also has good places to eat - we ate twice in the Town Cafe and once in the Yellowstone Mining Company. Both were fine and reasonably priced (though not fancy). There are also other places, so staying in HC in Gardiner worked for us really well.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tina380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2005

This was a very small room, with a comfortable bed. busy town of Gardiner outside of the Yellowstone Park entrance. fairly high priced, in fact the most I spent for a hotel room on my entire trip. but then, this is the touristy town that all the rooms are pricey. the room was clean, heavy chemical smell when I first went in. and very hot inside so I turned on the air cond before going out for the evening, to cool it down and dispell some of the smell.

had a microwave and small fridge. didn't use either. coffeemaker but no coffee supplies. tried to make some coffee, but didn't work well. didn't drink it.

very basic room. hard to manuever as it was small. eh, it was a place to lay my head.

the downside. late at night, returning from the park, office was closed. when I took off my shoes I found the floor to be soaking wet. had to put down most of my towel supply to use as rugs. it was drier in the morning, but left so early office still not open, had to leave note. maybe their air cond or fridge leaks?

I'd probably stay elsewhere and pay a little more or stay further outside the Yellowstone area and not pay the tourist prices.

best thing about this hotel was its friendly staff. I was tired of the rude folks in Montana treating me badly cause I was a tourist. including the convenience store and the small restaurant in this same town. if you want the tourist dollars, but don't want to deal with them, then don't work here. I wasn't rude to them.

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank flwrgrdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Hillcrest Cottages in September 2004. We came to the north entrance of Yellowstone without reservations. The guest service agent the the Mammouth hotel, which was sold out offered us a list of hotels in Gardiner. We called Hillcrest because they adverstied small cottages or cabins with private bath. I have to admit we went without high expectations, the hotel was only$45.00 for the night! but we though it would be better than camping.

We were pleasently surprised. We got a small cottage with one queen bed, it has a small kitchenette and a very clean bathroom. They also had cable TV so you can catch up on weather and news. Overal the cottage was very clean and well kept, all the units had flower boxes and looked well cared for. We would certainly stay here again.

The young man at the main desk suggested the Park Street Grill which was also excellent. they offer pasta dishes if you alrady tired of burgers and bison. It was also very good and reasonable

11  Thank e0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptibilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.8 km away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,066 reviews
0.4 km away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.2 km away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Cottages

Address: 400 Scott St, PO Box 430, Gardiner, MT 59030-7761
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range: $99 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Cottages offer modern, distinctive individual cottages at the north entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Cottages vary in size for singles, couples or larger 2-room units to comfortably accommodate 1 - 7 people. All units include their own bathroom with shower, linens provided, heat and A/C, satellite TV, non-smoking rooms, and kitchenette facilities of microwave/fridge/coffee maker with larger units offering more complete kitchens. Dishes are available at the office for guests. Wifi is available on site. To reserve, we ask for name, address and credit card as guarantee with no advance charges made. Cancellations are 24 hour notice. Please call for available dates & rates. Located just 1/4 mile from Yellowstone's north gate, we have views of the mountains, and many cottages offer outside seating. Hillcrest Cottages is family owned and offers accommodations at a great value to enjoy Montana, and Yellowstone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Cottages Hotel Gardiner
Hillcrest Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing