We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cottage at convenient location”
Review of Hillcrest Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest Cottages
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Reviewed 26 August 2009

The cottage was just next to the North entrance, opposite a gas station and restaurants, but it's quiet.
Cottage #3 we got had 2 Queens and 1 Twin (more than enough). The room had TV with cable, table with 2 chairs, kitchenette, coffee maker, toaster. They should provide utensils though.
The bathroom was clean and spacious, except the shower area.
Great experience!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mouth2pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed at Hillcrest Cottages in Gardiner MT on 8/12 and 8/13. We had unit A which has two double beds and a single plus a single fold up. We had a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 children ages 5/10/15).

The unit was a 2 bdrm/1 bath cottage - with 2 burner stove, microwave and full fridge and kitchen table. 2nd double bed was in kitchen area. We used the fridge and microwave and they worked well.

Units are extremely clean and servicable - i liked that we had enough beds to put everyone someplace to sleep comfortably. No frills and very basic small cabin unit and the price was right - plus great location in reference to YNP.

We enjoyed the view in front of the cottages facing the park and watching the traffic going to/from the park plus there were picnic tables or benches in front of most units for getting outside and we met a few of the folks staying there and had good conversations with them.

Gardiner is a very small town with not a ton of options for eating, so the stove and microwave can come in handy. Plus the cottages are located across the highway from the Cenex station/Subway and not far from other options to eat or get additional supplies/shopping.

Staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GUNNERDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Nice hotel with good sized rooms near Yellowstone's northern entrance. Gardiner was a cool little Montana town and made the experience fun.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparkatude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed here 3 nights. It was quiet, close to the park, and a good value. Much nicer on all fronts than the madness of West Yellowstone. Refrigerator, table, microwave and sink, queen bed in unit #9. Liked the hand painted walls - nice touch. The cabin was tiny however, once we opened the suitcases and spread out. We only encountered the owner one time when we checked in. They had some funny postcards in the office that we liked, but it was always closed and locked. Food options in town are limited if you do not eat dinner early. We ran into a fair amount of latent hostility from locals who were clearly not happy with the never ending influx of tourists. This led us to plan meals elsewhere, prepare our meals in the room, and limit our time in Gardiner to sleeping.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sangredulce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

My husband and I spent 7 days hiking in Yellowstone and found the location great. We stayed in cottage #10 - 1 queen bed with kitchenette, small table, two burner cook top, microwave, coffee pot, toaster. Full bathroom. The cottages are not huge, but meet our needs. My only complaint would be that there were no pots/pans with the kitchenette and we were expecting there to be some. We had bought groceries ahead of time thinking we could cook basic meals and ended up having to throw away some things that we could not cook. We will stay here again, just plan different meals as taking pots/pans with us is not doable.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Scoutmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

I visited Yellowstone off-season and the only in-park lodging still open was $200/nite (ouch!), so I continued driving north to Gardiner and was lucky to find the Hillcrest Cottages. Friendly owners and clean, quiet cabins that are just a five minute walk from the restaurants, saloons, and laundromats downtown. Gardiner is a great little town and an ideal base for exploring Yellowstone!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank chicago_traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

I love Hillcrest Cottages! The first time I stayed here was about 25 years ago with my then very young son, Shawn. I have such happy memories of staying here.

I am happy to say they have kept Hillcrest Cottages very clean and very well maintained throughout the years.

If you want an affordable, safe and clean place to stay without all of the unnecessary frills, this is the place for you.

We are going to Yellowstone Park next week and I hope that we are able to stay in Hillcrest Cottages again.

I wish I could afford to live here, it just feels like "Home" to me....

Thank you for all of the very happy stays!

Tara Lee Bertucci
Reno, NV (Formerly of Billings, MT)

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NVSheltieLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.8 km away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,065 reviews
0.4 km away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.2 km away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Cottages

Address: 400 Scott St, PO Box 430, Gardiner, MT 59030-7761
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range: $100 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Cottages offer modern, distinctive individual cottages at the north entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Cottages vary in size for singles, couples or larger 2-room units to comfortably accommodate 1 - 7 people. All units include their own bathroom with shower, linens provided, heat and A/C, satellite TV, non-smoking rooms, and kitchenette facilities of microwave/fridge/coffee maker with larger units offering more complete kitchens. Dishes are available at the office for guests. Wifi is available on site. To reserve, we ask for name, address and credit card as guarantee with no advance charges made. Cancellations are 24 hour notice. Please call for available dates & rates. Located just 1/4 mile from Yellowstone's north gate, we have views of the mountains, and many cottages offer outside seating. Hillcrest Cottages is family owned and offers accommodations at a great value to enjoy Montana, and Yellowstone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Cottages Hotel Gardiner
Hillcrest Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing