We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and very nice owners”
Review of Hillcrest Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest Cottages
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Rented the duplex which is a cottage of 2 rooms connecting. Clean, good price and location. The owner, Art and his sons very nice and helpful with local and yellowstone information.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandytntn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2010

This is a nice little place close to Yellowstone. The owners were very friendly and accommodating (we were on a long roadtrip & had to change our plans a couple of times)
Rooms very clean with basic amenities. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NandanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We stayed here for three nights. It was the cheapest place to stay in Gardiner, & for the price we were not disapointed. The cottage had a microwave and fridge. We did not hear any noise from neighboring cottages. There was a parking spot right next to our cottage. There was a beautiful view of the mountains from the front porch of our cottage. When pulling into the cottages there is a road off the the right (jardine road) that heads up to Gallatin National Forest and the tiny town of Jardine. Jardine is the site of an old Gold mine. There are still pieces of old railroad track and mine shafts on the hillside. There is a horse back riding stable North Yellowstone Outfitters on the right side of the road, they have a carved wooden sign. For $55.00 per person my husband and I went horseback riding, it was a 2.5 hour private ride with just our guide. It was a wonderful experience. Our guide even pointed out the names of the mountains around us. I highly recommend it if you are staying in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooterDEALshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

After reading reviews I thought this would be clean, if not small room to stay in in Gardiner. Upon settling into our TEENY TINY room (as in you have to go outside to change your mind!) we smelled a terrible odor from the bathroom. It helped a little to open windows and run fan, but upon realization that the floor in the bathroom was soiled, especially around the toilet, we realized it was urine - mixed with some kind of chemical cleaner they had sprayed to try to cover it up. It looked like the floors had only been swept (there was even a broom by the door) and not washed. I called and told them about it, asking that they clean it for us for the next night, they said they would. Then, we went to get in bed at 10 pm, exhausted after a long but beautiful day of traveling in the park, we noticed hairs all over the sheets - LOTS OF HAIR!!! I called again, the owner actually came over and threw the covers, sheets off the bed so that hair was flying all over our food, clothes, everything in that tiny enclosed space. Then he started to put on the "clean' sheets he brought to the room (that he had actually laid on top of all our food on the counter). I noticed that the topsheet i was soaking wet, so he went to get another. When we were helping him put it on, (so we could get to bed a.s.a.p, he actually said, "oh this one has some hair on it too, I don't know why."! I said maybe their housekeeper had a bad day, he said he and his wife ARE the housekeepers!! Now i know why they were the only ones with vacancies, reserve another place ahead of time. They had you pay ahead when you first came to check in and leave the keys in the room upon departure. If they had any business sense they would have called or come by, since they are the owners, and the housekeeping staff, and offered us a solution to the problems the next day, or at least some compensation.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Tamara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Loved these little cottages. Clean and slept three comfortably. Would be good choice for a family as there was a kitchen and two separate rooms with plenty of beds. And VERY close to entrance of Yellowstone. Grocery store just down the street. Ask at office for plates, bowls, silverware, etc. Loved the little dog we met when we checked in -- Rusty.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaTravelTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

The cottage was just next to the North entrance, opposite a gas station and restaurants, but it's quiet.
Cottage #3 we got had 2 Queens and 1 Twin (more than enough). The room had TV with cable, table with 2 chairs, kitchenette, coffee maker, toaster. They should provide utensils though.
The bathroom was clean and spacious, except the shower area.
Great experience!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mouth2pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed at Hillcrest Cottages in Gardiner MT on 8/12 and 8/13. We had unit A which has two double beds and a single plus a single fold up. We had a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 children ages 5/10/15).

The unit was a 2 bdrm/1 bath cottage - with 2 burner stove, microwave and full fridge and kitchen table. 2nd double bed was in kitchen area. We used the fridge and microwave and they worked well.

Units are extremely clean and servicable - i liked that we had enough beds to put everyone someplace to sleep comfortably. No frills and very basic small cabin unit and the price was right - plus great location in reference to YNP.

We enjoyed the view in front of the cottages facing the park and watching the traffic going to/from the park plus there were picnic tables or benches in front of most units for getting outside and we met a few of the folks staying there and had good conversations with them.

Gardiner is a very small town with not a ton of options for eating, so the stove and microwave can come in handy. Plus the cottages are located across the highway from the Cenex station/Subway and not far from other options to eat or get additional supplies/shopping.

Staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GUNNERDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.8 km away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,065 reviews
0.4 km away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.2 km away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Cottages

Address: 400 Scott St, PO Box 430, Gardiner, MT 59030-7761
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range: $99 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Cottages offer modern, distinctive individual cottages at the north entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Cottages vary in size for singles, couples or larger 2-room units to comfortably accommodate 1 - 7 people. All units include their own bathroom with shower, linens provided, heat and A/C, satellite TV, non-smoking rooms, and kitchenette facilities of microwave/fridge/coffee maker with larger units offering more complete kitchens. Dishes are available at the office for guests. Wifi is available on site. To reserve, we ask for name, address and credit card as guarantee with no advance charges made. Cancellations are 24 hour notice. Please call for available dates & rates. Located just 1/4 mile from Yellowstone's north gate, we have views of the mountains, and many cottages offer outside seating. Hillcrest Cottages is family owned and offers accommodations at a great value to enjoy Montana, and Yellowstone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Cottages Hotel Gardiner
Hillcrest Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing