We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Basin Inn(Gardiner)(Great Value!)
US$220
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs(Gardiner)(Great Value!)
US$295
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cowboy's Lodge(Gardiner)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
31
58
14
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
58
14
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee makerburner stovein townscott streetkitchen utensilsextra twin bedstay there againgas stationsmall refrigeratorair conditionercable tvroom was cleanquiet at nightprice was reasonablelabor day weekendsized bedroosevelt arch
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 108 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2010

This was our first stay at the Hillcrest Cottages in Gardiner. We usually stay at a diffferent establishment , but they weren't any vacancies. I am sooooo glad they didn't! We usually go to Yellowstone every summer and we always stay in Gardiner, MT ( very friendly town!) We did not know what to expect with the cabins. We have a 9 year old who does not react to change very well. We drove up and our son was crying, as he loved the other establishment we normally saty in. My husband brought out the key and we went in and my son was so excited! He ran from room to room happy! We were elated! We will be staying here from now on! Clean rooms, exceptional owners, roomy cabin...LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank heatherchris99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Hillcrest offers both cottages and "motel" rooms. The former were already booked when we made our reservation, so we settled for the latter -- a room in a one-storey duplex with a comfortable bed, a fridge and microwave, and a sizeable bathroom (seemed designed to accommodate a wheelchair). There was no daily housekeeping service, which I would have understood had we been in a cottage but was surprised to find in a motel. However, as we were staying only two nights, it wasn't really an issue to make up our own room and re-use our towels.

Hillcrest sits directly above Scott Street, the main road through Gardiner, just before the bridge leading to the north entrance to Yellowstone National Park. There are a number of restaurant options nearby. Outlaw's Pizza, at the far end of Scott Street, makes decent if unexciting pizza at a very reasonable price. The Tumbleweed Cafe and Bookstore, also on Scott Street but closer to Hillcrest, offers tasty, healthy meals and snacks and good coffee prepared and served by personable staff. You have a choice between eating inside or on their deck. We also enjoyed Rosie's, near the Roosevelt Arch entrance to the park, for dinner. Doesn't look like much from the outside -- or the inside, for that matter -- but the food is good. And there's a well-stocked supermarket on Scott Street. We were heading into Yellowstone to camp, so this was a convenient place to load up on groceries and ice.

Also recommend Montana Whitewater on Scott Street if you feel like trying whitewater rafting on the Yellowstone River. They outfit you with a wetsuit, neoprene boots, PFD and helmet to keep you dry and safe, and the guide works hard to make sure everyone has a fun time, especially kids.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripsterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I stayed there for 5 nights with my two teenage daughters as we explored Yellowstone Park & area. I felt the the value received was more than fair for the price charged. We stayed in a unit that had 2 double beds and a twin complete with a kitchenette.The cabins provide modern washroom facilities, but the only minor issue was the smaller showers. At $80.00 per night I was provided a clean room, clean towels, and the owners were very personable and more than willing to provide you with area information regarding what to see, where to eat and what to avoid. I would definely recommend this as a great option to stay...and will do so in the future again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ritzmank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Rented the duplex which is a cottage of 2 rooms connecting. Clean, good price and location. The owner, Art and his sons very nice and helpful with local and yellowstone information.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandytntn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2010

This is a nice little place close to Yellowstone. The owners were very friendly and accommodating (we were on a long roadtrip & had to change our plans a couple of times)
Rooms very clean with basic amenities. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NandanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews