We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs(Gardiner)(Great Value!)
US$220
US$179
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascade Lodge(Yellowstone National Park)
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
105
129
74
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
129
74
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivereach room has a balconyno frillsnice balconyacross the bridgeplace to staythe ground floorfree wifirestaurants within walking distanceyellowstone national parktwo queen bedsvisiting yellowstonemule deeroff seasonnothing fancygrocery storenight's sleep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I stayed here about 20 years ago. There was a ex cop from LA running the place, his name is Clay. The Place is getting a bit of age on it but if you are doing Yellowstone Park and are looking for the best rate in town this is your spot. Just on the other side of the river, close to the few restaurants that are open downtown in the off season. The rooms are, and most over look the river itself. You can hear the rushing water from the room. Rooms have a balcony that overlook the river. It's rustic in a 70's sort of way but everything works and they have WiFi. The beds are okay, plumbing is good. Carpet needs replacing and another blanket would be nice. The air conditioner/heater is one of those that sticks through the wall but is operated by a thermostat on the wall. Confusing as there are two set of controls but they have thoughtfully taped instruction to the thermostat. This must lead to many complaints that the air does not work. Lighting could be better but they have powerstrips which is good if you are recharging for the park. Can't say enough about Yellowstone National Park. Makes me proud to be an American. Beautiful and the Asaroka is convenient after a day in the Park. Office closes at 7PM and the reccomended restaurant closes at 8PM but it gets dark at 5:30 in the fall. You should be able to make it from the Tower or the Lake. This is still a keeper, barely.

Excellent Rate!!! No discounts, you don't need one.

Room Tip: Ground Floor, River Balcony. You can go look at the rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stopped here one night and were not that impressed. Our room was cheap and moderately clean, small and lacking all the amenities that you might expect in other hotels, like a hairdresser. The rooms are dated and could do with modernisations, especially the beds which are well used. The view over the river is impressive, and the location ideal for walking into town, just across the river. Unfortunately we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RC62Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

You'll be happy to know that in January of 2012 we renovated our hotel upgrading all of the rooms with plush new beds, high profile toilets, and brand new carpeting throughout the hallways and office among other things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The only thing going for this lodge is the view of the river. No coffee maker, no hair dryer, no kleenex, air conditioner didn't work, linens were very cheap and thin, stains on the carpet and chairs.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. Although we don't have coffee makers in the rooms we have all the free coffee, tea and hot chocolate you can drink in our hotel lobby.

We do typically have kleenex in the rooms but sorry to hear it wasn't refreshed on your stay. We don't have hair dryers in the rooms but do have them available upon request at the lobby.

We are constantly buying new linens and we pride ourselves on one of the cleanest properties you'll find anywhere.

In January of 2012 we renovated our hotel upgrading all of the rooms with plush new beds, high profile toilets, and brand new carpeting throughout the hallways and office.

I'm sure if you make it back you'll have a much more enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

One storey block with standard rooms, all clean and comfortable and basic, but redeemed by the situation and the view, and for me, the sound at night of the river rushing by.

The bed was large and comfortable, and Gardiner itself is a gem of a small town - more of a village, really - and a lovely walk from the hotel, across the river bridge, to find dinner. Several small bijou shops selling Indian and Wild West memorabilila and artefacts.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The Absaroka lodge is within walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants in Gardiner, MT, which is great after a long day of driving through Yellowstone. Great view of the Gardiner River, and the rooms were comfortable and clean. Gardiner is a stone's throw from the park entrance and only 10—15 minutes from Mammoth Hot Springs. We saw the whole park from this area, and it was more reasonable than staying in the park. Would recommend it and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PorterFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews