We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great guide info, quiet place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone Basin Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yellowstone Basin Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Gardiner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great guide info, quiet place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

This inn is nice and quiet, being 5 miles north of Gardiner. No town noise. Quiet rooms. Greg, the owner, is EXTREMELY helpful in directing you to sights you want to see in Yellowstone or Grand Teton NP, all tailored to your adventure level. Breakfast before you head out, and an optional packed lunch if you want to purchase that. Greg runs a great place. You'll be glad you drove those 5 miles north of town!

Room Tip: Rooms vary with beds and other amenities. We were next to the hot tub, but didn't notice any no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    88
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
197
322
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Fifty-two years married and at last a Honeymoon Suite!!! We were on our three-week tour of the West to include Yellowstone National Park and decided to book two nights at the Yellowstone Basin Inn. What luck! The Inn is about five miles from the north entrance to the park and is a very convenient base for exploring the northern part of it. We were greeted by Gregg Strauss (he and wife Sabrina own the Inn) who gave us a comprehensive welcome to the area and after we got settled in our very comfortable and well equipped suite he gave us advice on what to see and where to go. His knowledge of the Park is comprehensive and he was able to advise on walks, wildlife etc. We resisted his suggestion to get up at 5.00a.m. to go and see wolves. Our room was very comfortable and it was a delight to sit out on the balcony and admire the scenery. Hot breakfasts are included in the prices but it's a case of fend for yourself after that. This is not a big chore as there is quite a good grocery store in Gardiner and having the kitchen meant we did not have to take up Gregg's recommendations on local restaurents. Altogether this is a welcoming and convenient stop over while exploring the local area. Gregg even offered us fishing equipment!!

Room Tip: Spend the extra and go for the Honeymoon Suite - it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faughaballagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Just a few miles out of the north entrance YELLOWSTONE BASIN INN is the place to stay. My fiancee and I found this place by luck and plan to go back again. Greg can tell you the best places to eat dinner in town and has great knowledge of the park. The breakfast at the INN is great. The rooms are great with knotty pine, and it is so quiet there sleeping is like the best. On this trip I drove so such getting into their outdoor hot tub under a full sky of stars is the way to go at the end of your day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orwigsburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Yellowstone Basin Inn is a wonderful Inn located near the north entrance to Yellowstone Park. It was the perfect location to start and end our week long visit to the area. Of all the places we stayed, it was the cleanest and most comfortable and most reasonably priced for what you get. Great view, great hospitality, great breakfast.It was nice to come home to at the end of a long day of sightseeing.There aren't alot of places to stay that close to the north entrance...this one would be my choice again if we go back.
The Leonfortes, Orwigsburg,PA

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST COVINA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I recently visited Yellowstone and stayed at the Yellowstone Basin Inn. Greg is a walking encyclopedia of information on the surrounding areas along with things to do and see in Yellowstone Ntl. Park. He runs a very comfortable & clean Inn. We had the best nights sleep on a king bed. Would highly recommend the Yellowstone Basin Inn as a place to stay. We would stay there again, when in the area.

Room Tip: For couples I recommend room #8. Great king bed and the room has a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruiser8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

This Inn was excellent! It is conveniently located outside Gardiner MTso it feels like being in the country. Greg, the owner, is a walking encyclopedia of good restaurants, hiking trails, river rafting, and anthing else you would want to know about the area. The breakfasts were tasty and interesting, the staff were pleasant,very cosmopolitan and enlightening to talk with. The room was comfortable, clean, and we loved sitting on the porch in the evening with our feet up after a long day.h We stayed 5 days and would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsdelaney47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

My husband and I stayed one night at Yellowstone Basin Inn as we began a week long stay at Yellowstone and Grand Teton. We wish we had stayed longer. The room was comfortable, the bed was fantastic, and the breakfast was deliscious. The location was great for seeing wildlife, we saw elk while driving to the town of Gardiner and we saw a bald eagle perched in a tree across the road from the breakfast room.

Room Tip: We stayed in paradise room. Greg said it was a new bed and it sure was comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
6.9 km away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
7.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS By Mammoth Hot Springs
13.1 km away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
7.2 km away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 5 in Gardiner
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
7.3 km away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Basin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Basin Inn

Property: Yellowstone Basin Inn
Address: 4 Maiden Basin Dr, Gardiner, MT 59030-9331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Basin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome!Offering year-round hospitality in a quiet mountain setting, Yellowstone Basin Inn is located just 5 miles north of the town of Gardiner, Montana and the north entrance of Yellowstone National Park. All rooms and suites include private bath, air conditioning, satellite TV, WiFi, and a Home cooked, FROM SCRATCH, buffet breakfast*. Some units have a fully-equipped kitchen or kitchenette. Activities in the area include fishing, hiking, biking, horseback riding, whitewater rafting, and nature photography. We offer: • Home cooked buffet breakfast* • Outdoor hot tub* • Incredible views of the park • Porch with bistro tables/rockers* • Free calf roping lessons* • Complimentary Concierge • Lunches to go* • Friendly and helpful staff • Fantastic Yellowstone experience. *Limited availability in Winter Your hosts Greg and Sabina Strauss are dedicated to making your Yellowstone vacation an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Yellowstone Basin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Basin Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing