We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yellowstone Basin Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Gardiner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malibu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We had a great time. The owners are warm and friendly. They were really helpful on were to go hiking and see the most wild life. They let us know what restaurants are good, and breakfast at the hotel was home made and different everyday. We had a great time and plan on returning next year.

Room Tip: All the beds were brand new. All the rooms were remodeled last winter. Everything was new and clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    90
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
204
335
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This location is a great place to stay when visiting the north and east sections of the park, including Mammoth Hot Springs and LaMar Valley and Bear Tooth highway. The rest of the park is accessible from Gardiner, but it takes some time to get there. Gardiner is also the only entrance to Yellowstone open all year. The inn is comfortable, clean and quiet. It is out away from town and overlooks the river and mountains. The breakfast is fabulous and the owners (Greg and Sabina) are into healthy organic type cooking, so it is actually good for you. They also offer a packed lunch to take into the park, which is a good value and tasty. Greg can advise you on places (and times) to go in the park, and is also quite a good source for exceptional lodging and eating establishments all over the country. We had a great stay and felt the value was exceptional. Greg made us feel at home and we had a comfortable bed, clean and quiet room and wished we could have stayed longer. We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marshall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This inn is nice and quiet, being 5 miles north of Gardiner. No town noise. Quiet rooms. Greg, the owner, is EXTREMELY helpful in directing you to sights you want to see in Yellowstone or Grand Teton NP, all tailored to your adventure level. Breakfast before you head out, and an optional packed lunch if you want to purchase that. Greg runs a great place. You'll be glad you drove those 5 miles north of town!

Room Tip: Rooms vary with beds and other amenities. We were next to the hot tub, but didn't notice any no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Fifty-two years married and at last a Honeymoon Suite!!! We were on our three-week tour of the West to include Yellowstone National Park and decided to book two nights at the Yellowstone Basin Inn. What luck! The Inn is about five miles from the north entrance to the park and is a very convenient base for exploring the northern part of it. We were greeted by Gregg Strauss (he and wife Sabrina own the Inn) who gave us a comprehensive welcome to the area and after we got settled in our very comfortable and well equipped suite he gave us advice on what to see and where to go. His knowledge of the Park is comprehensive and he was able to advise on walks, wildlife etc. We resisted his suggestion to get up at 5.00a.m. to go and see wolves. Our room was very comfortable and it was a delight to sit out on the balcony and admire the scenery. Hot breakfasts are included in the prices but it's a case of fend for yourself after that. This is not a big chore as there is quite a good grocery store in Gardiner and having the kitchen meant we did not have to take up Gregg's recommendations on local restaurents. Altogether this is a welcoming and convenient stop over while exploring the local area. Gregg even offered us fishing equipment!!

Room Tip: Spend the extra and go for the Honeymoon Suite - it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faughaballagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Just a few miles out of the north entrance YELLOWSTONE BASIN INN is the place to stay. My fiancee and I found this place by luck and plan to go back again. Greg can tell you the best places to eat dinner in town and has great knowledge of the park. The breakfast at the INN is great. The rooms are great with knotty pine, and it is so quiet there sleeping is like the best. On this trip I drove so such getting into their outdoor hot tub under a full sky of stars is the way to go at the end of your day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orwigsburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Yellowstone Basin Inn is a wonderful Inn located near the north entrance to Yellowstone Park. It was the perfect location to start and end our week long visit to the area. Of all the places we stayed, it was the cleanest and most comfortable and most reasonably priced for what you get. Great view, great hospitality, great breakfast.It was nice to come home to at the end of a long day of sightseeing.There aren't alot of places to stay that close to the north entrance...this one would be my choice again if we go back.
The Leonfortes, Orwigsburg,PA

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST COVINA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I recently visited Yellowstone and stayed at the Yellowstone Basin Inn. Greg is a walking encyclopedia of information on the surrounding areas along with things to do and see in Yellowstone Ntl. Park. He runs a very comfortable & clean Inn. We had the best nights sleep on a king bed. Would highly recommend the Yellowstone Basin Inn as a place to stay. We would stay there again, when in the area.

Room Tip: For couples I recommend room #8. Great king bed and the room has a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruiser8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
6.8 km away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
723 reviews
6.9 km away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
6.8 km away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,960 reviews
7.1 km away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
347 reviews
7.2 km away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Basin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Basin Inn

Property: Yellowstone Basin Inn
Address: 4 Maiden Basin Drive, Gardiner, MT 59030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Basin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run Inn just a few miles north of Gardiner. Our first priority is to welcome you as friends and help you have an unforgettable Yellowstone experience. Comfortable, clean and inviting rooms. This is the Yellowstone you came to see: quiet, scenic mountain views, with wild animals roaming freely. •Enjoy our complimentary hot local/organic breakfast buffet May-Oct. •One-on-one personal Yellowstone itinerary planning included. •Smoke-free and pet-free property •Certificates of Excellence 2011-2016 •Free Wifi, HDTV, private bath, air-conditioning. •Some kitchenettes and full kitchens • Incredible views of the park • Porch with bistro tables/rockers (May-Oct) • Free calf roping lessons on the front lawn (May-Oct) •We make green choices: We recycle. We use earth-friendly laundry soap and natural cleaning products. Free organic toiletries in room. Duvet-style bedding for extra cleanliness. Sustainable bamboo towels. Eco-harvested Made in Montana log furniture. We are active in our local area to help keep the Yellowstone ecosystem loved, cared for, protected and valued. Savor your time with us: Relax and watch a mountain sunset. Calf roping (lassoing) with the owner right in our front yard. Tell stories to other guests on the front porch and listen to theirs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Yellowstone Basin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Basin Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing