We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it here...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paradise
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quinn's Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paradise
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Loved it here...”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Went over Christmas break in December of last year. Did not disappoint.

Everyone has their own experience, but I don't understand some of the poor reviews. Make reservations, read the web site, and pay attention. Open your mind and have a good time!

The staff here was friendly, the food good, and the water hot and therapeutic. It's a hot spring - it has stuff (silica) floating in it. If this disgusts you, do not go to a hot spring.

As far as the restaurant goes, order off the menu, don't be a jerk or difficult, and tip. It is simple. Don't go somewhere to be cheap - have some fun, live a little!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Quinn's Hot Springs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BFG1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    97
    43
    26
    31
See reviews for
60
164
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I have been to Quinns many times. For the day and to stay in the resort.
1. The rooms are average, not the greatest.
2. The restaurant is a little over priced for what you get. The food in the bar is a better deal.
3. Once you get out there you are pretty much stuck. Its in the middle of nowhere.
4. Prices have gone up almost doubling the price of day passes.
5. There is almost always a bunch of kids screaming and splashing people in the face with their parents looking the other way.
6. Out of date

Its a good place to hang out if you know what to expect. Last time we stayed the mosquitos were so bad we couldn't enjoy the pools for more than an hour. Kind of a wasted trip that time. The karaoke was fun. Staff aren't the friendliest. If the prices keep going up the way they are I will probably go elsewhere.

We locked our keys in the car once and the bartender wouldn't let us use the phone to call AAA. That's a problem since there is NO CELL SERVICE. Emailed the owners and they could have cared less.

You can pay for day passes and stay in Plains just a few miles away at the Dew Duck Inn. Rooms are alot cheaper. Its a cute little motel for sure.

After looking online, I found the Fairmont Hotsprings Resort which looks gorgeous, has brand new rooms and a water slide all for just a few more bucks. I'm going to try it next and who knows, it may be my new favorite hot springs. Sorry Quinns.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Very remote setting with Clark Fork River nearby. Person at check-in was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the duplex cabins. Rooms were large but a little dated. We also had the deluxe extras, with a bottle of wine and snacks, robes and towels for the hot springs. If I were to do it again, I would go for the basic room. I don't think that its worth the extra money for those items. Pools were clean but crowded. We stayed on a Saturday night so thats to be expected. Had dinner at the restaurant on site. Both our meals were excellent. A bit on the pricey side, but the quality was worth it. Went into the bar after dinner and had a few drinks and played video poker. Drinks tasted great and won enough on poker to pay for them. Overall a great weekend getaway, but personally don't you should spend extra on the deluxe packages.

Room Tip: Don't spend extra for a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank binford13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

1 st mistake to go on New Years Eve, our anniversary so we gave it a try. The waitress would not stop pushing until we gave in an ordered a special purchase bottle of wine for $26. The food was very good, although a lengthy delay +/- 30 minutes between soup and dinner. Ater dinner the waitress keep pushing dessert until someone gave in and ordered one, even though we all stated how full we were. It was so obvious she was trying to run up the bill. After waitng 30 minutes for her to ring up our credit cards I had to ask another server to find her and send her over. Good food, very expensive, fair service, poor server.
Woud not return on a Holiday, or make a special trip there to eat.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eastsidegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

went to Quinss on New years Eve afternoon, enjoyed the pools until what look like a bus load of young children arrived and turned it into a summer day at an inner city pool. The facility has an open room for a dressing room, no lockers, hair dryers etc, that one would expect for what they charge. We paid $10 for a pass to the pool, only to be told it was good for 4 hours and we would have to purchase another pass. Also paid $10 for a New Years Eve Party - a joke.
Would return to Quinns on a non-hoilday weekeday to soak in the pool, eat and stay elseware. may be worth a longer drive to another hot spring.........

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastsidegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Montana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My review of Quinns is somewhat limited due to the fact that all we did was soak in the hot springs. After reading the other reviews on here (trip advisor) prior to our trip, I decided it would be best to eat dinner and stay somewhere else.

Our trip consisted of staying at 2 other hot springs in this general part of Montana and visiting Quinns for a soak then staying in Plains. This was the final hot springs on our trip and I am what could be called a "hot springs connoisseur" and have visited most of the hot springs throughout Montana at one time or another. We got to the hot springs at about 8:00 p.m. and left sometime around 10:00 pm.

The pools were very nice with a nice variety of water temperature to choose from. They were clean, drinks were allowed poolside provided they were contained in a plastic cup, and there was plenty of room for everyone that was there (about 15-20 people at this time). It was snowing slightly which added to the outdoor hot springs experience. One thing that this hot springs included which not many hot springs do include is a cold pool...a VERY cold pool. I very much enjoy the option of getting out of the very hot water after my body temperature has risen quite a bit and then climbing into the cold water and sitting in that as long as I can take it. If you haven't already, try it some time. It's a great feeling! The initial shock goes away several seconds after climbing into the cold water. Just tough it out for a few minutes and you will be rewarded with a sense of euphoria...and the hot water will have never felt better after you climb back into it!
The admission price was a bit steep, but not extremely out of line. The lodging prices were very much too high! The food prices were also extremely high. For these reasons we stopped in Missoula, caught a movie at the theater, then had dinner. After that we drove out to the hot springs.
I called up the "Dew Duck Inn" on the way to Quinns and spoke with them. They had one room left. I told them that we would not be there till sometime around 10:30 or so and they told me that they would be asleep by then and would leave the key for me in a hidden spot and that I could just come in and pay in the morning. I was very impressed with that! The room was recently remodeled, very cozy, and was much better than I was expecting. Very nice place to stay and the price was MUCH better than ANYTHING that Quinns offered.

Room Tip: I would recommend finding a room in one of the nearby towns (Plains, Hot Springs, or St Regis are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Overview:
I began staying at (the old) Quinn’s in the late 1980s, when the bar’s ceiling was covered in dollar bills and the “hotel” consisted of a few single-wide trailers and off-kilter cabins. It was a cheap chance to get in a soak, have a few drinks, and so on. The (new) Quinn’s is nothing like that place. The restaurant and bar are better appointed, the cabins and hotel are new(er), and the pools have been completely redone. The result? A higher quality experience at a much higher price point. What Quinn’s once was is what the Symes (Hot Springs, Mont.) still is (more or less). The problem is that Quinn’s promises (more or less) the value of Fairmont (Anaconda, Mont.) and fails to deliver on that in ways both large and small.

We just returned from a family getaway (varied ages from one year old to 85 years old). We stayed in both the lodge (a minimal, though serviceable, hotel room) and in a cabin (a duplex hotel/lodge room basically). We had breakfast and dinner (both in the Harwood House restaurant) and had drinks at different times during the day in the tavern. We also soaked in the early afternoon and early evening. This review is based on these details.

Summary:
The good: excellent breakfasts that are well priced; multiple pools with a range of temperatures; some staff that go out of their way to make your stay pleasant; a lovely expanded dining room.

The meh: WiFi doesn’t work; attempts to enforce a “property only” policy regarding food and drink are schizophrenically enforced.

The bad: the management does not respond to queries sent via their “contact us” page on the website prior to arriving; rooms are in need of better cleaning and/or updating in order to justify the costs per room; drinks in the bar are watered down (even for the reasonable price); dinners in the Harwood House are over-priced; some staff need better training even if they are only temporary/seasonal employees; management needs to find a way to strike a balance between monetizing the experience of being a guest and making the guest feel like they are actually a guest (and not just a way to cover off-season costs or continued expansion of the property itself).

General Comments:
The owner of the resort obviously knows one thing well . . . once you are at the resort, you don’t have many other options. You can go to Plains, or to Hot Springs (the town), or St. Regis. But, even then, choices are limited given that Quinn’s markets itself online as an inclusive “resort” experience. So having a captive audience has created an opportunity that the owner takes every opportunity to exploit. That is a good thing when the result is incredible (the breakfasts at the Harwood House). That is a bad thing when the results are horrible (the dinners in the Harwood House). And the sense that things have been monetized to the max surrounds you at Quinn’s. That would be fine if not for the glaring examples which suggest the money isn’t being directed to maintaining the experience of guests: in poorly trained staff, in staff that talk about staffing issues within earshot of guests, in smoke-free accommodations that contain bed sheets with cigarette burns.

Simply put, holding to a Fairmont standard, which isn’t without faults, requires a level of service that Quinn’s simply can’t provide at this point in time. Food preparation, cleaning, customer service, and the like all require a lot of time and attention and—perhaps most importantly—money. If you charge for an up(per) scale experience, you need to provide it. Otherwise, you need to adjust expectations, lower costs, and slow down on expansion plans.

Conclusion:
I didn’t expect the old Quinn’s and would never judge the new Quinn’s according to an unfair standard. I can’t honestly recommend Quinn’s save as regards the hot springs themselves and the breakfast. In a pinch, and with adjusted expectations (what you pay for isn’t always what you get), those two items might be enough for me, some members of my family, and even some of you who read this review. But only in a pinch.

If you want what Quinn’s promises, go to the Fairmont or to Chico (Pray, Mont.). If you are willing to downscale and get a more authentic/rustic/weird (in good and bad senses) hot springs experience, go to the Symes.

Room Tip: Either recognized that you are over-paying to experience the hot springs, or plan to stay in St. Reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScottCanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise
17.2 km away
Big Sky Motel
Big Sky Motel
#1 of 1 in Superior
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
24.6 km away
Little River Motel
Little River Motel
#3 of 3 in Saint Regis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
39.0 km away
Rocky Point Ranch
Rocky Point Ranch
#1 of 3 in Thompson Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 km away
Alameda's Hot Springs Retreat
Alameda's Hot Springs Retreat
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Quinn's Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinn's Hot Springs Resort

Property: Quinn's Hot Springs Resort
Address: 190 Quinn's Canyon Road, Route 135, Paradise, MT 59856
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paradise
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinn's Hot Springs Resort is nestled in a majestic canyon on the Clark Fork River in Sanders County on Quinn's Canyon Road (Hwy 135). We have a full service restaurant, tavern, gift store, 6 pools, massage, and currently 57 rentals. All lodging is new since 2001 and forward. Quinn's new event and convention center opened November 2015, Paradise Hall. Great location for weddings, corporate events, and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quinns Hot Springs Hotel Paradise
Quinn's Hot Springs Resort Montana/Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing