We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lava Creek Adventures - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Best way to experience Yellowstone

We had 3 generations from 6 years old to 65, group of 10. Michelle was amazing. She planned our day... read more

Reviewed April 13, 2015
adventureawaits419
,
Toledo, Ohio
via mobile
Knowledgable,

My wife and I went on a kayaking trip with LavaCreek on Hebgen Lake in July 2013. The goal was to... read more

Reviewed September 17, 2014
Siddharth S
,
Alpharetta, Georgia
Read all 47 reviews
  
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
41
3
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
3
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 46 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2015 via mobile

We had 3 generations from 6 years old to 65, group of 10. Michelle was amazing. She planned our day according to our interests... hiked us to a gorgeous spot to see grand prismatic springs, timed our viewing of Old Faithful perfectly, even found us a great quiet spot in the Lodge for lunch. Michelle had everyone engaged, from petulant teens to grandpa. We all remarked just how much we learned, and of course how much fun we had! She even gave up her rain jacket when one of the kids forgot the poncho and literally gave the shirt of her back (extra layer) when someone got cold. We travel a lot and have high expectations, in fact we rarely pay for tours as we do so much research on our own, but this tour was well worth the money!

2  Thank adventureawaits419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2014

My wife and I went on a kayaking trip with LavaCreek on Hebgen Lake in July 2013. The goal was to see the local bird life and experience the serenity of Yellowstone.
We went out with Debbie and two other visitors. Here are the top reasons why going out with LavaCreek was a great experience:

1) Great timing - Debbie picked a great time for us to go out on the water. There were no other boats on the water. We could take our breaks, explore a lot of the lake and she made sure we got back before the wind picked up and made paddling easy

2) Excellent knowledge of the lake - She knew where the birds were, what parts of the lake to avoid and when the wind picked up.

3) Great gear and better service - All off the LavaCreek gear was well maintained, and clean. The boats are washed regularly and the PFD (lifejackets) were dry. The care taken to maintain their gear is evident. Their customer service is excellent. They are very prompt with returning phone calls. They take care to understand what you are looking for on the trip and are make very insightful suggestions. This did not fell like one of those cookie cutter tour, because they took the pains to meet our individual needs.

All in all - My wife and I had a great experience with them and would go out with them again when we visit Yellowstone again.

1  Thank Siddharth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Before visiting West Yellowstone, I did my research and wanted to book a 1/2 day kayak trip with Lava Creek. I called and left a message on 3 separate occasions, expressing my interest and leaving my contact details, but no one ever called me back. Very unprofessional.

4  Thank Struyib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavacreek, Owner at Lava Creek Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

While we appreciate this person taking the time to review, we believe they are exaggerating the facts more than they should. We would like to let them and others know that we make every effort to answer every single call and email that our business receives. We can't afford not to!

We are in a very small town and work in a very seasonal economy. Because of the nature of the winters here, we have to make enough in those few short summer months to survive for the rest of the year, which means we can not afford to lose any calls or reservations! We can assure you that this reviewer never left one message, much less three, because we respond to every single message.

We pride ourselves in our professional, courteous, and prompt service. However, we may not have picked up the phone when they called, because we are a small company and have one person in the office at any given time answering phones, helping walk-in customers, and helping organizing guided clients. It's impossible to believe we would have missed them if they had actually called three times, and we certainly would not have missed one, much less three messages.

Our office hours are from 9-5 MST USA . If we cannot take your call, the answering machine will pick up during those times, and we will always return those calls as soon as possible during our business hours. We also have an emergency number that is given on the answering machine for last minute trip reservations, cancellations, change in plans, etc. which is monitored 24 hours a day by one of the two business owners that are on call.

Please see our other Trip Advisor reviews to learn why we are considered the best of the best at what we do. Please call or email us for more information, and we look forward to having a grand adventure with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great tour and experience for kids. Michelle took us off the beaten path to show us more of what Yellowstone has to offer. Her knowledge of the park and history was incredible. Thanks for the great memories

Thank Dontneedthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We spent two great days with Lava Creek. The first day was with Courtney exploring the lower loop. It became clear pretty quickly why doing Yellowstone with a guide was worth while. Courtney shared excellent information on the history and formation of the park (including plants, thermal features, etc) throughout the day. As well, we were seeing awesome features in the park not with the masses and traffic but with Courtney who really knew the Park. Wonderful day all around.

On Day 2, Jamie picked us up for a tour of the Upper Loop and whitewater rafting down the Yellowstone River. What amazed me was that Jamie brought out additional insights and stories about the Park without repetition from Day 1. It was really cool. Jamie really helped us see so much wildlife and he clearly is a student of the animals in the Park.

Both guides really made our trip special and it was well worth the investment for our family of five.

Thank travelclan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great tour with a knowledgable guide. Easy going with our teens, and showed us the best part of the lower loop. Great kayaking on the lake. Very much worth the money.

Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I did a guided 1/2 day kayak trip with Kourtney. Her knowledge of the area and of kayaking, her wonderful personality, and the excellent equipment, provided us with an awesome trip. We have taken kayaking trips on other vacations, and this one was truly the best.

1  Thank Anoel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We visited Yellowstone with our teen sons. Michelle was our guide and our day was amazing! She started by asking us what we would like to do and planned our trip accordingly. We said we were hoping to see as much wildlife as possible, and Michelle led us to some great spots. Not only did we see SO many animals, Michelle shared fascinating stories and history of the park, its wildlife and plant life. At one point we wanted to hike a bit and she took us to Trout Lake to see trout spawning. Along the way she pointed out plants that either could be eaten or used medicinally, or not to be touched. Her knowledge is incredible. She brought along binoculars and a spotting scope so when we saw wildlife she set up and gave us an even better view. Our top spot: a grizzly eating a carcass, then a wolf joined. It was a full day and worth every penny.

1  Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Michelle was a very knowledgeable guide...she had an answer for every question our group ranging from 11 yrs-65 yrs old threw her way. I'm an information maniac, but she kept it interesting enough that it didn't hire the kids. She knew all the little pull offs (lunch off the beaten path along the water), and gave an excellent side tour of the old faithful lodge. I'm glad we did this tour with my in-laws since they couldn't do much hiking. She gave us a list if recommended hikes that we did later in the week with the kids. Thanks for a great experience Michelle!

Thank Tina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2013

David Alder of Lava Creek was a fantastic guide for us this summer - late in reviewing as I just came across his business card! We hired Lava Creek for an evening tour (all day tours were full, so book early). Evening turned out to be great though - less busy, and we saw things that we never would have during the day or without David. We went "off path" and saw what he called "Thumper", which was our all time favorite experience of the trip. You'll have to book David at Lava Creek to find out what that is, but expect full sensory geyser experience!

Thank DTGray2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews