We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moose Creek Cabins and Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moose Creek Cabins and Inn
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Just returned from Yellowstone, stayed in Elk Cabin. The cabins sit on a cement roadway it is one step out of your door, in the middle of town, and also on a major noisy highway, they are not in the woods as pictured, back of cabins are against another hotel, at the end of the cabins is a large stone parking lot. Everything on the internet pictured is very deceptive. I am a small person and the shower barely fit me. After staying for 6 days I had to leave one day early due to airline scheduling change, owner very rude, and kept my deposit even after staying all week. Stay away from here, way over priced and not worth it compared to other accomodations in the area. Many guests complaining while they were there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    66
    27
    4
    9
See reviews for
67
110
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
springfield missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed at this motel for two days while visting Yellowstone. We had read some of the questionable reviews, but found the motel, clean, comfortable and affordable. If possible, I would ask for a room on the backside. We rented 3 rooms. The kids had two of the front rooms while we stayed on the backside. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again. We had a great time.

Room Tip: ak for a room on the back side as the front may be louder
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We spent 3 nights in the Ranger cabin and found it to be extremely clean and comfortable. The bathroom is small and the shower was tiny but excellent value. We were able to walk to restaurants,grocery store etc. Staff was very helpful and quick to offer ideas. For a good meal try the Beartooth BBQ! We would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MplsTravelKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We spent one night in early July 2011 in the Yellowstone Room (a motel room, not a cabin) of Moose Creek Cabins in West Yellowstone. Small and basic, the room was clean and we did get a pretty good night's sleep there. Couldn't open the window because our neighbor was smoking and the wind blew the smoke right into our room. The bathroom was tiny but clean.

The complex is pretty old with a small main parking lot if you want to park close to your room. Place seemed well maintained though. The rooms are smaller than they look on the web site. Also there is plenty of parking in a larger lot near the place for those with larger trucks or RVs. It was close enough to the main street to find easily a place to eat, but far enough away to avoid a lot of traffic noise.

Apparently they have continental breakfast in their small lounge, but we were on our way out to Bozeman to catch a flight later in the day. It was the average motel experience. Picked it because we were only staying one night and it was one of the less expensive alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fishergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We went into yellowstone and used west yellowstone as our base place to stay. The moose creek cabins were awesome! very clean and appropriate for being out west-- pine paneling, western accessories, and chairs out front to sit at night. The staff was outstanding and was willing to help us find a breakfast place daily and other places to eat. They gave us special maps also. Good location and walking distance to everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flasharchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We spent a couple of nights at the inn. I was not expecting much, but the place was absolutely nice, room bigger than they advertized. Staff extremely helpful and breakfast was included even if at the moment of booking it's not written.
West Yellowstone is closed to the West Entrance of Yellowstone park and the small village itself is nice with lots of shops.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manus76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

My daughter and I chose the Moose Creek Inn based on the quality reviews we had read and we were not disappointed. We arrived without reservations and were provided with a great (small) room directly next to the office. We had only intended on staying two nights, but added a third night because we knew we landed a great location. The young lady (owners daughter?) who was working the office desk during our 3 night stay was VERY friendly and accomodating to all our requests for dining advice and weather forecasts etc. The room was quiet, clean and very comfortable for just the two of us. (We only spent the late evenings there since our days were spent entirely in nearby Yellowstone NP). I would highly recommend this well-run establishment to anyone not wanting to stay inside the park.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevO910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.6 km away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.1 km away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.7 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.5 km away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.6 km away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Creek Cabins and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Creek Cabins and Inn

Property: Moose Creek Cabins and Inn
Address: 220 Firehole Avenue, 119 Electric Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Speciality Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to West Yellowstone's Moose Creek Cabins and Moose Creek Inn. West Yellowstone lodging at its best. All our cabins and rooms are no smoking and no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Moose Creek Cabins and Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moose Creek Cabins Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing