We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good but not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
526 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Rooms were very clean and beds comfortable but it feels a bit tired. Front desk staff did not know much about the town or the park. Breakfast was very average (we took our own yogurt and fruit). The hotel has everything you need at a reasonable rate but everything just fell a bit short. That said everything pales when you get to the Park.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    227
    72
    32
    13
See reviews for
212
229
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

This hotel was ordinary, but with very good new beds. This town is full of good hotels and stores. Very nice town to spend the night in when visiting Yellowstone National Park. The breakfast here was only so-so. But a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
157 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed there on a Friday night in July, thus peak season. This showed in the price, a hefty 220$ for a motel-style room. Apart from the price we were quite happy with the hotel. It is clean and quiet. Ample free parking in the front yard. Staff was friendly. The kids used the indoor pool and were happy with it, towels were provided. A decent continental breakfast was included.

We had a package deal for a visit to the grizzly & wolf discovery center. It was just a small amount more than the base rate (like 10$ for the four of us). The center is about 3 minutes walking distance from the hotel and worth the visit, particularly if you were not lucky enough to see a bear or wolf in the park.

There is not much to say about this hotel, it is an upscale motel, not more not less.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraugast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Reasonable rates. Clean. Friendly. For the $, it's a good bet. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FKAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed the night of Oct 3, 2011. I booked with an agency and got off season rates so never paid over $200 as some are saying. In fact it was considerably less than that.

The room was very clean, beds very comfortable, breakfast better than other complimentary breakfasts I have had. Front desk was pleasant to deal with. I had no complaints at all.

Location is very good as well.

I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flameforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas, nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

My title pretty much sum's this place up. That doesn't make this a bad place; it is just par for the course at "gateway" town's to national park's. I agree with most previous review's, with a few exceptions; 1. Breakfast: would it kill the owner's to offer a "real" hot breakfast? How much would scrambled egg's and hash brown's add to their overhead, considering that they charge you an arm and a leg to stay? Sorry, the tiny, tastless "hot" pancakes just are not worth the wait in line to make all of two silver dollar size pancakes each trip to the machine. The coffe was weak; the juice's nothing more than colored sugar water; the bagel's had no flavor. Why even bother? But, maybe that is exactly the point intended by the owner; skipping the "breakfast" altogether does keep their overhead down, and who cares if you won't get good review's; most guest's will not return anyway. And, because lodging choices are limited, many other future guest's will consider room cleanliness, bed comfort and location to the park in spite of a crappy breakfast. 2. Bed Comfort: the "fitted" sheet on the king bed was almost thread bare and was too small for the mattress, not staying in place, and it keep riding up all night long, every night. Very annoying. The sheet's were not changed once in the three night's I stayed. The mattress was "Motel 6" quality. 3. Room Appointment's: the room had all the appointment's that are advertised on the hotel web site, but given that I had a king bed room, there was a vast, open area on one side of the room where the second queen bed is placed in double bed rooms. No small couch with a coffee table, no easy chair, no table and chair set placed in this approx. 10' X 14' area. Only two very small side chair's in the corner. How much would a small sofa cost for this area? However, the room was clean, and the bathroom was large and spotless. The soap and shampoo were very good with a nice, clean scent. The front desk staff were polite, friendly and tried hard to help when asked. The pool/whirlpool area was enclosed. The pool was clean and the water warm. The whirlpool was too hot for my taste. I have stayed at numerous similar places in town's such as Oakhurst, CA (Yosemite gateway town); Tusayan & Williams, AZ (Grand Canyon gateway towns); Moab, UT (Arches & Canyonland's gateway town) etc., and in just about all of these similar "gateway" town's one thing is constant; the room price, regardless of property type or chain, does not represent any sort of value. I alway's leave feeling that I paid too much for what I received. None of these cities would even exist if not for the national park at their doorstep. I understand that cost's are higher in these remote location's, but somebody is laughing all the way to the bank, while the U.S. taxpayer foot's the bill to maintain the park's that are the draw for the hotels. I think much of the reason for exceedingly high room rates lies with the huge number of international visitor's drawn to the national park's, and who are accustomed to high (by U.S. standard's) room rates. Two hundred dollar's a night including taxes at a U.S. gateway town (pretty much the typical rate) is rather cheap compared to most of Europe and even Canda, where value added taxes, national sales taxes and high local taxes drive up average daily rates in similar settings well into the hundred's of dollar's per night for similar modest properties, without breakfast. So, a couple of hundred buck's a night, plus free breakfast (even if it's crappy) is a deal, and the international crowd loves our national park's. I'm glad they are here; I just wish the national park's could collect more from our foreign guest's, such as charging a higher admission to non U.S. citizen's. The room's, food and gas all are a bargan for foreign guest's compared to almost everywhere else in the world, including Canada. Paying a little more to enter our splendid, taxpayer supported national park's will not keep them away...not even one.

Room Tip: The pizza was really good at "Wild West Pizza"; pitchers of ice cold Bud were only $7; bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lasvegastravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We had booked 2 nights in a twin queen bed room 6 months in advance. (They charged us for both nights 6 months in advance). When we arrived they had allocated us a king room (one bed). When I asked to be moved, they said the hotel was full and that we would have to spend the 1st night in the King room and they would move us the next day. They blamed the mistake on Bookings.com. I told them I was not happy about this and they said that there was nothing they could do. Then, 15 minutes later, after settling in to our room, they rang to say that they were "upgrading" us to a suite at no extra cost. Odd that it was available, when the hotel was supposed to be full. However, great, or so we thought. The suite turned out to have 1 king bed and 2 old pull out sofa beds. These had old spring bases and were most uncomfortable. We definitely would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Check your booking before you arrive. Don't book a suite as they are not worth the extra you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan1Bangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 km away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.3 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.1 km away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Park Hotel

Property: Yellowstone Park Hotel
Address: 201 Grizzly Avenue, PO Box 930, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#9 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique-style hotel proudly features amenities such as an indoor heated pool, hot tub, dry sauna, limited continental breakfast and free WiFi. Our 66 well-appointed guest rooms and suites feature upgraded linens, bathrobes, mini-refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and 36-inch flat-screen TVs. Open in the warm season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Yellowstone Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yellowstone Park
Yellowstone Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing