We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2012

As others have stated, this hotel is a great spot to relax in after a day of skiing. We road the train out from MN and selected this hotel as part of a package deal with Amtrak. Everything was comfortable, low key, and elegant. We enjoyed our spacious room in the Viking Lodge, dinner in the restaurant, both hot tubs, and best of all, the wonderful service. The staff were wonderful and made getting around to town, the ski resort, and the train station easy.

Room Tip: Back side of the Viking lodge is very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desihook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

926 - 932 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

Located just a mile from downtown, on the edge of a lake, the Lodge is fantastic! Fireplace and overstuffed chairs in the lobby, terrific food in the bar and restaurant, breathtaking views, friendly and accommodating staff at every turn. We stayed in a King lakefront suite in the main building and it was terrific: fireplace, balcony, slate-tile bathroom and kitchenette, comfortable bedding and furniture. The hotel went above-and-beyond to get a birthday cake for my husband, and they enabled us to rent cars and snowshoes on-site to explore nearby Glacier National Park. Despite the close proximity, the hotel also offers free, regular shuttle service to downtown Whitefish, and will pick you up when you are done exploring the small town.

Room Tip: Stay in the main lodge: your balcony will overlook the lake and offer lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aandptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We spent a week at the Lodge with our ski club. The accomodations and the staff couldn't have been nicer. The owners are on site and involved every step of the way. We enjoyed the live music in the bar, the all you can eat seafood buffet and the service in the dining room. There is also a breakfast buffet avialable. They picked us up at the Kalispell airport. The Lodge is conveniently located between the town of Whitefish and the Whitefish Ski Resort. In addition to the free Snow Bus operated by the town, the Lodge provided additional free shuttles between Whitefish Mountian Resort and to the town. We stayed in a very spacious 2 bedroom/2 bath condo that had spectacular views of Whitefish Lake. All of the staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. They made us feel like they were glad we were there. We had a fabulous trip and will definately return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skiergirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are a skier! Located about half way from downtown and Big Mountain, backing onto the lake this place is the best of both worlds.
We were in the Viking Lodge. The quality of the finish in the room was exceptional and the room was very spacious. The bed was very soft though (actually hurt my back). Overall, I thought it was a beautiful hotel and the service was wonderful. Would definitley go again, no matter what the season.

Room Tip: If you are in the Viking Lodge, make sure you aren't too close to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolefromCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife and I stayed for a weekend of skiing at Big Mountain. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful... the food was fantastic, and the whole lodge had such a great atmosphere. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Full lake view is definitely worth the upgrade!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed two nights in this fine hotel. We were booked across the road from the main hotel, in the Viking Lodge. Only one year old, the room was well appointed with a gas fireplace. However, the flames of the fireplace hardly went higher than than the pilot light which dampened some of the atmosphere. Quiet except much sound passed through the door which awakened us several times during the nights. We had an accessible room and plenty of grab bars were available in the bathroom; however, the ones in the shower were awkwardly placed. They should have an accessible expert come in and redesign the shower grab bar placement. A second annoyance was that several of the outlets in the bedroom did not work; none on the lamps. Since it is difficult for me to reach down and put lower plugs in the wall, it was quite disappointing for a newly constructed hotel. Common areas are quite beautiful and well appointed. Obviously, this hotel caters to the summer lake crowd and skiers. But, although pricey, it is pleasant. Finally, I had two of the best steaks I have ever eaten in the dining room. Severed well and amply.

Room Tip: If you are placed in the Viking building, make sure your room does not overlook the parking lot (nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My first stay there with a friend we had a regular hotel room that was quite nice, just a bit noisy. This time we had a 3 bedroom condo that was excellent ! Good bedrooms and bathroom arrangement, nice kitchen, dining area, deck and living room with a fireplace. There could have been a few more extras in the kitchen such as tin foil or saran, plastic cups but otherwise the condos are a great deal. The walk to the hot tub is a bit far in the winter and a real change room with lockers nearby would be helpful (not just a bathroom).

The dining room was very good and we loved the pub and the music, however we had one extremely cranky waitress in the pub. She slammed down the mayo bottle (not in a cup), snatched away glasses and then we really made her made when our 2nd wine selection (now her recommendation) we sent back as it was just awful !

Room Tip: 3 bedroom condos on the top floor are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
2.4 km away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
170 reviews
5.6 km away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
325 reviews
3.9 km away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
27.9 km away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
371 reviews
3.2 km away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Whitefish Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Address: 1380 Wisconsin Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-3338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whitefish
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range: $135 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Whitefish Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Whitefish Lake is a mile from downtown Whitefish between Whitefish Lake and the Viking Creek Wetland Preserve. Offering classic hotel rooms in our Viking Lodge, suites in our main Lodge, Lakefront condominiums, and the Viking Creek Luxury Homes, The Lodge at Whitefish Lake has the perfect lodging accommodation for a wide variety of guests! On-site amenities and services include the Boat Club Lounge & Restaurant, the Spa at Whitefish Lake offering full day spa services, the Coffee Dock Cafe, (seasonal) Lakefront Tiki Bar, the full-service Marina at Whitefish Lake, Viking Falls indoor pool & hot tub, Lakefront hot tub and seasonal outdoor pool, concierge services, the Mercantile at the Lodge, airport, downtown & ski shuttle service, complimentary valet service, and free parking. As Montana's only AAA Four-Diamond rated property, we look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodge at Whitefish Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Hotel Whitefish
Hotel Whitefish Lake
Resort Whitefish Lake
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing