We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Family swim, hot tub, breakfast, ski hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Mountain Lodge
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family swim, hot tub, breakfast, ski hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is not a fancy, upscale resort. Keep that in mind when you book, and you'll be satisfied. The pool is small and is primarily there for the water slide. The two hot tubs are out doors, and were always hot. Breakfast bar was clean, well stocked and well attended to. Sausage, eggs, toast, cereal, juice, coffee etc.

The rooms on the ground floor have doors directly to the parking lot and into the hallway. Rooms are ok. They are clean, but showing signs of the volume of low budget families who frequent this hotel.

Come here to sleep, swim and hit the slopes. Keep your expectations low and you'll be satisfied.

Room Tip: Dos Amigos down the street for great mexican fare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rescuerandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    43
    31
    16
    9
See reviews for
40
33
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

I was not expecting much when we arrived at this hotel but what a pleasant surprise to find
a big, clean, well lit room with great bath. We were on the 1st floor so we had an additional
outside entrance (big help with all our stuff). The hotel is located just outside of downtown so a car is required to visit the shopping areas. It has this wonderful pool area and free breakfast. The staff at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. Could not wait to get back & write a review.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We almost didn't stay here based on the reviews, but decided to ignore them. Glad we did!!! The staff is SUPER friendly and helpful. The hotel is nice with a good breakfast in the morning. The location is good, with several restaurants within walking distance. Finally, if you have kids, they will LOVE the pool. The water slide in the pictures is even more fun in real life. It also accomodates adults. I would stay here anytime!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed here for one night as a stop over on our way to another destination.
There were four of us in one double queen room and the room was clean and the beds were comfy.
We arrived late which wasn't a problem as the front desk is manned 24 hours.
We didn't stay for breakfast or use the pool facilities so no comments there.
Overall our stay was just average.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DodsYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We decided very late to make a trip to Whitefish/MT and this was one of the last hotels available for a reasonable price.

The room itself was clean and the front desk staff was friendly.

However, some features were just not as advertised in Expedia: There was neither a microwave nor a fridge in our room and the hotel has no restaurant attached. The "deluxe buffet breakfast" is served in a tiny room so that chances are high you will find no seat.

Some of the amenities described in Expedia seem to be there only to make the list longer (smoke detectors, sprinkler, fire alarm with light ...) and others do not belong to the property at all but are nearby attractions (golf, tennis, scuba diving, skiing ...).

Would we go there again? For a short-term booking it was ok, but probably not if we book earlier next time and alternatives are still available.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed there with my family for 3 nights, we can't find the motel because there sign is so small. There room is so bad worst at all they don't vacum and I think they don't change the comforter. Breakfast is ok not to many choices the guy works there is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenlafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIG RAPIDS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

AMTRAK came in late. Our two grandsons were really tired. The motel down the street had lost our reservation. We were rescued by the excellent staff at the Big Mountain Lodge. To quote our seven year old grandson, "The best thing that happened was those other guys lost our reservation and we got to stay at the Big Mountain Lodge!" We loved the pool and the kids thought that waterslide was the BEST! Our special thanks to your kind and friendly staff. If we return to Whitefish, we KNOW where to stay. The Big Mountain Lodge is great!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
2.0 km away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.3 km away
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
#13 of 16 in Whitefish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.2 km away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Mountain Lodge

Property: Big Mountain Lodge
Address: 6390 Hwy 93 S., Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Mountain lodge Whitefish Hotel is a 100% non-smoking hotel. Whitefish, Montana is the perfect vacation destination for your visit to Glacier National Park or Whitefish Mountain Resort. For the family, we have our indoor pool, and two outdoor hot tubs, and a variety of restaurants, and shopping within walking distance. Free high-speed internet access in all guest rooms (DSL and wireless internet access). Also, a business computer in the lobby with access to printers, copier, and fax. Generous breakfast bar with, fresh fruit, bagels, yogurt and lots more! We also offer shuttle service for pick up and drop off at the airport for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Big Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Holiday Inn Whitefish
Whitefish Holiday Inn Express
Big Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing