We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dinner in the flathead area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kandahar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kandahar Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
kalispell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dinner in the flathead area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

There are many good restaurants in the flathead valley. I have lived here almost 30 years. Dinner at the Kandahar on 2-18-2012 was the best I've ever had here(in all aspects). World class was the taste, presentation, selection, setting, and SERVICE. The wait staff was great just to watch their relaxed professional coordination. Kudo's go out to Jeff and Gareth who were as good as you can get. Not inexpensive, but worth every penny. You get far more than just a great meal, its an experience.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brucehird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    88
    51
    19
    6
See reviews for
106
106
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Kandahar Lodge has a beautiful lobby that is warmed by a constant wood fire. It also has a nice supply of board games for families to play. The staff is very helpful and polite, and the location is convenient to access the slopes and ski back to the hotel.
It is a short walk to a small area of shops and restaurants.
Our 3rd floor loft was less satisfying. The heat was basically uncontrollable. It was either too hot, or off, and we frequently opened the window to cool the room down. The breakfast was good, but had no variety from day to day. It consisted of muffins, bagels, boiled eggs, coffee and juice. The worst experience was the toilet, which became clogged several times during our stay. The maintenance man said the toilets were old, and needed replacing. I can't understand why they haven't been.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ddrjboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I stayed in February 2011 will ski-ing near by Whitefish Mountain Resort. Small put wonderful Hotel. With great rooms that are nice and warming in the Winter. After days Ski-ing great place to relax.

Room Tip: Try get view of mountains. Great to wake up to !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CreativeToursFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

I spent one night at the Kandahar Lodge. The lodge is very well situated and nicely built. Although I visited in the height of summer, it appears that it would be just as perfectly situated for the winter guest and sporting enthusiast alike.

The rooms were well equiped with modern facilities throughout, notwithstanding a good internet speed connection. The breakfast bar was of a simplistic, yet effective self service menu. The staff were all very friendly and their hospitality was synonimous with the region. My room had huge windows providing a great view of the mountain terrain and the surrounding forests.

I must admit, that although a good lodge for use in the summer season, I would imagine that its forte would be the winter season.

Room Tip: The family size rooms have are self sufficient and offer in situ washing machine facilities, plus mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ram P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlandville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We recently stayed at the Kandahar Lodge while attending a wedding in Whitefish, MT just ten minutes down the mountain. The staff, room, giant hot tub and fireplace in the lobby were are a great experience for all of us I would defiantly recommend this lodge to anyone. You could park your car on day 1 and have a bar, fine dining restaurant, and be at the bottom of the slopes to a ski-in resort and never get back in your car!

Room Tip: When available, sometimes you can upgrade to a kitchen/loft room when available, we were able to due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BassBoyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Kandahar Lodge is not exactly rustic but that was fine with us. Since we wanted lodgings that were clean and comfortable after a tiring day at Glacier National Park, Kandahar was just what we needed. Located on a ski mountain with other ski resorts, Kandahar is very pretty in an alpine kind of way.There was nothing nicer than sitting before the fire in the main room each evening and just relaxing and planning the next day's adventure. Though not luxurious, the rooms were nicely done and equipped with comfortable chairs, a mini-fridge, microwave and dishes. The bathroom was also updated and when we reported that the shower was not working properly, it was immediately repaired. For the the continental breakfast juice, yogurt, muffins, hardboiled eggs and fruit were available each morning and though not exiting, enough to get us going. Servicewise, I would have to say Kandahar could use a little tweaking when it came to straigtening the guest rooms and providing clean towels each day. But the staff was pleasant and helpful.

Kandahar is approximately a half hour drive from the West Entrance to Glacier NP and not an unpleasant drive. So we never minded driving there nearly every day of our stay. The park has many different entrances and it is definitely worthwhile to go to each, though these other entrances are much further from Kandahar than the west one. The unexpected bonus of the trip was the little town of Whitefish. What a cute not too touristy spot to catch a reasonably priced delicious meal. We highly recommend the Buffalo Cafe. It was so cool visiting the cafe made famous by singer Jack Gladstone and enjoying meals that were tasty and creative. Make sure to also check out the Farmer's Market each Tuesday. So with Glacier NP within a reasonable drive and Whitefish providing great food, Kandahar was just right for this traveling family.

Room Tip: No elevators, so if that is a problem let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank msmilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Now I don't disagree with almost everything that's been said about Kandahar Lodge and we have no regrets about staying here at all - comfy rooms, great staff, relaxing fire, easy, easy, easy. But I want to be honest about the food choices. The same breakfast, day after day, gets more than a little dull! We were there for the skiing and never a hot breakfast in sight...the same cold, hard boiled egg, bagel and cream cheese greeted us every morning for more than a week. BORING. No variety. Not a great kickstart to a day on the slopes. While I'm at it the restaurant is real 'try hard'. While there is clearly some arrangement in place to supply 'bar food' to the Lodge, they really seem to want to feel superior and disassociated. So stuck up they wouldn't even let our kids eat with us in the restaurant if they wanted to order off the bar menu (all prepared in the same kitchen!) For long stay Lodge guests with kids this is harsh punishment when you want a hot dinner at the end of the day and don't feel like walking out into sub zero temperatures but your kids are not interested in a wanna-be-haute-cuisine menu. We have never encountered such conceited inflexibility in our travels anywhere in the world. The temperatures are low...chill a bit! (I'll confine my ratings to the Lodge only.)

Room Tip: Not able to...only saw ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karinadivina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
8.0 km away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
9.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
28.2 km away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 km away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
5.6 km away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
15.2 km away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandahar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandahar Lodge

Property: Kandahar Lodge
Address: 3824 Big Mountain Rd, P.O. Box 278, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kandahar Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandahar Lodge is a rustic, yet elegant lodge located at Whitefish Mountain Resort, 7 miles north of Whitefish and 32 miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park. The Lodge has 50 rooms, a fully licensed bar and a gourmet restaurant that serves dinner only. A continental breakfast is included in the rates. The lovely lobby has a wood burning fireplace, free WIFI and comfortable couches and chairs. Other amenities include a large outdoor hot tub, steam room, exercise room and massage treatment room. The rooms all have queen beds, down comforters, microwaves, small refrigerators and a/c. Kandahar is open from the first week of December to the first week of April (ski season) and June 1 through September 30. The Lodge opens to prearranged groups of 20 or more in the spring and fall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Kandahar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandahar Hotel Whitefish
Kandahar Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing