We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST VISIT DESTINATION - HAD A GREAT TIME!”
Review of Calamus Outfitters

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burwell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Calamus Outfitters
Reviewed 20 April 2016

I’m an amateur photographer and have had the pleasure of spending time on the family owned Switzer Ranch during the Prairie Chicken and Sharp-tail Grouse mating season. Bruce and Sue Ann are gracious hosts, serve great food and are glad to talk about their operation and answer questions about it as are their children. The scenery is awesome and I highly recommend the ranch tour, Chicken and Grouse Lek Tours. Sarah hosted the ranch tour and is very knowledgeable about ranch operations, its history and habitat. The lodging is always clean! One of the Best experiences I’ve had photographing nature. This is a prime spot to visit for Eco-tourism. Come and experience the Nebraska Sandhills! The people I spoke to were from various parts of the U.S. and everyone totally enjoyed themselves, the birds, and the scenery. A MUST STOP FOR BIRDERS AND PHOTOGRAPHERS ALIKE! Be sure to come back during the summer and float down the Calamus River.

Room Tip: Wifi is available in the store and meals are included in the cost of lodging.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank richneedham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Calamus Outfitters
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2015

If you are looking for the best way/chance to see Greater Prairie Chicken and Sharp-tailed Grouse, Calamus Outfitters is the way to go.

A fall birding trip - particularly for those species - is essentially the hardest time to find them. Most ranches and/or guides focus on spring and don't even offer guided tours or trips in fall. The Calamus Outfitters however, were able to offer a great birding tour of their ranch, fitting us in despite my last minute call to them to schedule a birding tour of the ranch. Extra effort was made to find both species!

Our guide for the day was really great, she was very knowledgeable on many topics, and I learned quite a bit and had fun as well. The family was really nice and I enjoyed meeting them too.

Room Tip: This is an ecotourism adventure, with rustic cabins nestled on the ranch with great sunrise views of...
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

Fifteen members of my family went tanking/tubing on the Calamus River. Such a gentle, family-friendly river! My grandkids loved every minute. We were on the river for 3 hours and felt sad when our float was done. Afterward, we spent the night at the lower lodge. The place was clean and had plenty of room for all of us. So peaceful on the ranch! We made s'mores and sang songs around the fire pit. Truly the stuff family memories are made of.

Kudos to Sue and her family!!

Stayed: July 2015
Thank pcrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

We were impressed with the friendliness of the staff, the service was excellent and our cabin was clean and stocked with helpful items. We especially enjoyed our jeep ride with Sarah, it was relaxing and informative and she was very friendly. If you are looking for luxury however, this is not the place for you. The cabins are small (I prefer cozy) and basic. But they offer a roustic experience and have all the necessities like airconditionoing, coffee pot, shower, kichenette etc.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

We attended the 3rd Annual Nebraska Prairie Chicken Festival. We were able to see the prairie chickens dance in their lek which is an unusual experience to say the least. This ranch offers offers a very good ecotourism adventure. The festival was very well planned in an effort to appeal to the broad range of people who attended.

As one should expect, the accommodations are somewhat rustic and the food is country cooking. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. If you have not had the chance to visit Nebraska and appreciate its wonders, this is the place you should go.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at Calamus Outfitters in the beautiful Calamus River basin (north central Nebraska) this past weekend for a family reunion, and it was perfect! The owners and staff were SOOO accomodating and helpful with the planning of the reunion and during the weekend, they couldn't have been nicer. The property was well groomed and comfortable with multiple opportunities for outdoor activities; hiking, walking, playing and exploring for kids or just visiting on the deck all afternoon. The accommodations for cooking meals, and gathering were just perfect for our family. A great setting for all ages; small, medium or large groups, and beautiful view looking west for awesome sunsets. River tanking was a first for my family and we had a blast, also spent time at the lake which was beautiful and relaxing! We enjoyed the easy and comfortable family atmosphere at Calamus for the weekend. Thank you to Bruce & Sue Ann Switzer and family!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jaloder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

everything is all fine and good if you let the owners walk all over you.. they are very rude and will not listen to any feed back from you, because they know everything and they think they own the entire river and lake..... they are understaffed and treat people badly... they are old and need to retire...
DONT EVEN THINK OF GOING THERE.........................

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Calamus Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calamus Outfitters

Address: 83720 Valley View Ave, Burwell, NE 68823-3121
Region: United States > Nebraska > Burwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Burwell
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Calamus Outfitters Hotel Burwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing