We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Grand Island
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly, clean”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Was in Grand Island on business, stayed 2 nights. Hotel was clean, staff was very friendly and helpful, rate was good. Pool area seemed clean, but I did not use it this time.
The lounge was a bit 70's, but the staff was friendly if a bit slow.
The restaurant was typical Holiday Inn, average food for selection and quality; service was dreadfully slow, so much that our team had to delay our meeting start times on both days because breakfast took over an hour.
All in all I would stay there again; but would probably plan to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonN099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    36
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
16
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed here for a convention. The staff said the hotel had been renovated, but it definitely showed wear! I usually stay at Hampton hotels, but decided to stay close to the activities. I inquired about the cost and said I'd think about it. Well, good thing I did because 2 hours later it was $20 cheaper! We heard every noise -- from the young kids running in the halls, to the adults laughing as they drank in the courtyard. The wi-fi connections never happened, even though the staff said they "had routers everywhere." This hotel is in a shady neighborhood, so I was glad I didn't have to leave at night. The food was good, but when you tacked on the $20 breakfast bill, I would have saved a lot of money by driving across town to Hampton. I would suggest one of the newer hotels on the other side of town before this one. I prefer clean, crisp and no funky smells at my hotel. I found some short & curlies in the bed. Kind of grossed me out.

Room Tip: If you want quiet at night, don't stay in a room surrounding the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yellowmom2919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed here recently for a meeting. Check-in was friendly quick and efficient. The room was spacious, clean, excellent bed and bedding. The meeting food service was delicious. The only neg was slow wi-fi in my room but that's all too common at almost every hotel. There is also a nice "holidome" type pool area complete with putt putt golf. Families would want a poolside room.

Room Tip: It's a very big hotel, ask to stay up front if you want to be close to the pool area and meeting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TundraTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This Holiday Inn is still in very good shape. The rooms were clean and the restaurant food was very good. Their nightly specials are very affordable. Great staff here too and is one of the best places to stay in town. Great location close to several other great restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cropsclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We all loved this Holiday Inn! Rooms were new, clean, big, and very nice! Also, they had an indoor entertainment area which included a large pool, hot tub, small miniture golf area, pool table, ping-pong, and a game room. There was a restaurant on site that had a nice breakfast buffet (not included with stay but for $5 at time of check-in they gave $20 voucher). Staff was pleasant and helpful and alll this for $117!! By far, the best place we stayed on this trip and the best deal for the money!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
206 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Grand Island as an overnight stop while driving across country. We reserved a room while we were on the road that evening using Priority Club points. When we arrived, the staff was friendly, and told us they had a problem with their computer (Uh-oh!) and the computer said they had a king room available, it was not correct (now we were really worried!)...........so they had upgraded us to a suite. (Yay!)

The hotel is an older Holiday Inn that used to be several buildings, so there are some hallways that have been added onto the ouside of the former outdoor walkways. So the hotel is a bit confusing, with hallways going every which way. The Holidome area is spacious and there were a lot of families having a great time.

The room was a pretty standard suite - living room area, seperate bedroom (with glass french doors, so it's not private if you have someone staying on the sofa bed), small fridge and microwave, and a good sized bathroom. It is an older hotel, but pretty well maintained and everything was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable, with a choice of pillows.

Despite the hotel being full with families, softball teams and others, our rooom was surprisingly quiet.

Two things to note:
1. There are no elevators - so if you have any issues with mobility or hauling your luggage, ask for a first floor room!
2. There is a nightstand on only one side of the bed! Do they think only one person has eyeglasses, cell phone, book, etc???

The price quote online was $129 for the night, but it was definitely a great deal using points!

Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues, ask for first floor room, there are no elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glacial_erratic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Platte, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We have always stayed a couple times a year just as a nice family getaway, I called to make reservations and was told the price would be 119 for friday and 134 for saturday. When I asked why the drastic increase, I was told because they were very busy for a big fight event in town. I hope they continue to have plenty of big events because my family and friends will never stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyofpoollovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIDWESTERNNE, General Manager at Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
We are very sorry that our Property Management system had a glich from the start up of a new program and it was changing some sporatic rates between the two programs. We adjusted this problem and rolled back the rates to the proper published rates for all reservations for this weekend period. It was not happening on any other dates, just Febr. 25, 26. THis has not ever occured at our property and actually I was not aware of this until I got this review that popped up in my e-mail so I appreciate someone bringing this to my attention. I'm sorry the desk clerk was new and did not alert anyone about the fact that the days had different rates for different days....And other clerks, as well as myself , did not notice this was going on..Tahnks for helping us get this fixed......Midtown HOliday Inn General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Island hotels
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Grand Island Inn & Suites
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Island
0.8 km away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#6 of 22 in Grand Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Island
4.8 km away
Hampton Inn Grand Island
Hampton Inn Grand Island
#2 of 22 in Grand Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.1 km away
Boarders Inn & Suites with Full Circle Venue and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown

Property: Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown
Address: 2503 S Locust St, Grand Island, NE 68801-8225 (Formerly Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown)
Region: United States > Nebraska > Grand Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concerts, sporting events, water parks, shopping, and 200 years of history are within 10 minutes of a great hotel guests love in Grand Island, NE. Hotel Grand Conference Center places you minutes from area attractions including Island Oasis Water Park, Stuhr Museum, and the Nebraska Bird Observatory at Crane Meadows. Our hotel is also the central location for guests visiting our local businesses such as Case IH, Chief Industries and Swift. If shopping is what you are looking for Grand Island is Nebraska's third largest retail center. Grand Island is home to Conestoga Mall, as well as many specialty stores and several large national chain stores.Our hotel has 196 beautifully decorated guestrooms, which include 6 suites, each of which is equipped with free high-speed Internet capabilities. All Rooms come with microwave/refrigerator units. The hotel has more than 13,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, which can serve groups from 10-500 people in size. For your enjoyment we have an indoor pool, whirlpool, 5 hole mini-golf course, and pool table. Stop by our Breakfast Cafe for "free" hot breakfast daily. Unwind at Images Bar & Grill located inside the hotel, serving the best steak and pasta dishes in town. Also check out our nightly drink specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown Hotel Grand Island
Grand Island Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing