We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
48
36
10
12
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
36
10
12
17
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 123 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2016

The location is great, it's just as you enter Manzanilla and easy to find. Their rates are great and I love that they offer day passes where you wanna treat yourself or your family to a beach house trip without spending any nights. The food was okay, the catered for vegetarians. They cooked soya for us! Who would've thought we would actually get a vegetarian protein? We're accustomed to settling for side dishes as a meal. So this was a definite plus. The room floor was not clean. They was a bottle on the ground. The bathroom area was clean though. The doors were old and rusty. The maintenance of the building has been neglected. The seabreeze and the view though....completely magical. I could sit there all day and all night. Overall the experience wasn't that bad. The customer service was warm and friendly. It's common village folk doing the best they could. With rates like this, don't go with extremely high expectations of a 5 star hotel. It's 2 star at best. But definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Upper floors are more private and less noisy
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Varuna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennisonly, General Manager at D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Thanks for your review
It's the only way we can better our services
As for the neglect of the building you may not have a clue as to what it is like dealing with seablast
But thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2016 via mobile

Stay was fantastic! Friday and left Monday afternoon. Don't know where to start on this review because D Coconut Cove has all the amenities guests are looking for at an excellent price! Attractive layout refreshing colours, restaurant and bar,tasty food and lots of it. Polite and friendly staff. All rooms overlooking the pool and the beach. The resort is scenicly laid out. You can stay in the pool and enjoy the ambience of the beach a few feet from the pool. The pool opens 24/7 and is safe and beautifully designed. The rooms and outdoor are clean. It's a piece of heaven on earth. If you are looking for a little action of shopping, market, or night life, it's a short drive away.
Will always be back.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Bluemaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

I must say the service was (GREAT) the staff were very helpful/friendly. Mr. Sookraj I just wanna say thanks to you for all that you've done for us we all had a blast everyone loved it and we Wud return for sure....

To those who had a lot of bad things to say about the place well yall should realize it isn't a 5 star hotel and its located by the sea whereby the sea blast Wud be hitting the building so things would rust quickly and furnitures Wud be damaged faster than normal etc. but anyway to you Dennis I jus wanna say thanks again for making it possible.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank andnai20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennisonly, Owner at D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2016

Thanks for sharing your experience
As we say
It's where memories are made
And it must always be an everlasting one

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2016

Who: This was a family vacation which included my husband, three year old daughter and myself.

When: We checked in on Wednesday 03rd August and checked out on Friday 05th August 2016.

Location: The property is located in Manzanilla on Trinidad's East Coast. There is a pool and there is also access to the beach. There is a bar attached to the pool and a restaurant on site.

Room: We stayed in the 'White Orchids' room. It was spacious (accommodated two full beds), there was a small fridge and microwave along with a television (LG) and DVD player. The beds are in need of new mattresses and the sheets on one of the beds had what I assume to be a stain from bleach. There was a balcony with rusted furniture. I must mention that the television did not work (i.e. it comes on and not much else). The bathroom left much to be desired. The face basin needs to be changed and should be cleaned more regularly since the tap was surrounded by black mold at its base. The shower curtains also needed to be changed since they too were covered with mold at the base. There was also the unmistakable odour of urine in the bathroom area. Further, accessing the balcony was a task in itself since the double sliding doors were difficult to open - it could be that they had not been opened in some time or that the simple application of WD40 may solve this.Interesting is the fact that the AC Unit could not be turned off or adjusted.

Restaurant: The restaurant was average sized and easy to maneuver though it turned out to be stuffy because the AC unit was not working. The food served was satisfying for the most part. Being all inclusive buffet meals were prepared for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Pool: The pool was acceptable though there was apparently a party of some sort prior to our arrival and broken glass could be found in and around the pool.

Grounds: As mentioned above there was a party of some kind prior to our arrival and the general property was littered with broken glass which did not seem to bother management.

Overall Impressions

Liked best: The food and view of the ocean.

Liked least:
1. No one explained how meals functioned and an employee happened to come in while we were trying to figure things out (for our first meal there) and when asked he nonchalantly said 'meals are self served sorry if no one told you'

2. The room needed to be cleaned or cleaner.

3. Check out was ridiculous - we left hours before check out (official check out is 2pm) and no one was available to complete the process. My husband gave the keys to the grounds man / pool man who simply said okay.

4. More could be done in terms of explanations regarding how things function at the facility regarding meals, access to the beach, how to get clean towels.

5. The overall feel was of a place that may have been nice at some point in its existence but has been neglected for far too long.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool and ocean so your choice would depend on whether you want a balcony (upper floor) or not.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Family_Adventures_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2016

We stayed over the Easter weekend, there were various problems. The room was much to be desired. There was no water in the room, I had to get a bucket of water for bathing, while my companion had to shower in the open view of the rest of people by the pool shower. No potable water in the room, we had to buy water. The best part of this visit was the bartender, who went out of his way to try to help us and make us a little bit comfortable. He knows how to take care of customers. We spoke to someone who appeared to be a manager, about a rebate for the inconvenience, he was of no help! We will NEVER come back to this place!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evolvedtrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews