We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pour slow service, very rude server”
Review of The Pink House

The Pink House
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Genoa
Price range: US$12 - US$20
Description: The Pink House is located in Genoa, the first settlement in Nevada. Our house is a historic landmark, built in 1855 and restored in 2015. Much of the house is original and decorated in the Gothic Revival era. We encourage our guests to wander through the rooms, and our staff can answer many questions about the house and its history. Our guests may choose whether they prefer seating inside, or outside (weather permitting!) on our wraparound porch or beautiful patio. We feature cheese and charcuterie, as well as a seasonal menu and gourmet merchandise. We also offer an excellent selection of wines, whiskeys and beer. We are a small house and a popular destination, so reservations for large parties are highly recommended.
Restaurant details
Description: The Pink House is located in Genoa, the first settlement in Nevada. Our house is a historic landmark, built in 1855 and restored in 2015. Much of the house is original and decorated in the Gothic Revival era. We encourage our guests to wander through the rooms, and our staff can answer many questions about the house and its history. Our guests may choose whether they prefer seating inside, or outside (weather permitting!) on our wraparound porch or beautiful patio. We feature cheese and charcuterie, as well as a seasonal menu and gourmet merchandise. We also offer an excellent selection of wines, whiskeys and beer. We are a small house and a popular destination, so reservations for large parties are highly recommended.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

We had made a reservation for 10 well in advance. Room was set up; however, no one greeted us. We went up to counter and ordered. Our food came in 30 minutes and others were served over 1-1/2 hrs. later. Food was so-so. Morgan was the apparent in charge person tonight and couldn't have been ruder. We all agreed that it was a very unpleasant experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marsha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
841loisw, Owner at The Pink House, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

My apologies for not responding sooner.....

The Pink House is an old house and a historic landmark. When the house was restored, we deliberately left the rooms intact so that our guests would truly get the feel of being in an old house and feel "at home". Because of that, our set-up and serving style is a little unusual, but we're always happy to serve table-side if that is what is preferred. That should have been offered to you and your group.

Our records show that your reservations were at 5:00 on June 20 and that you and your guests began arriving around 5:45. We are a small house and we did have other reservations, so this may have started the downfall of your experience with us.

Our staff is trained to be professional, so I am not sure why your server was rude. As to our food being considered "so-so", that's pretty uncommon for us. Our chef has been with us for two years and has consistently prepared wonderful dishes. Both items will be addressed with our staff to see if additional training is required.

We do strive for our guests to have a positive experience while visiting The Pink House and we apologize for failing to do so with you.

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns, and we hope you at least enjoyed seeing a Genoa treasure brought back to life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 41 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2018

A charming and pleasant find! Staff, food and atmosphere excellent. A great array of cheeses, wine, whiskey and more.

Thank hilarybca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois W, Owner at The Pink House, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2018

Thanks for visiting us and taking the time to comment on your experience at The Pink House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2017

A great place to meet for a relaxing visit with friends, or that special someone. Friendly staff, excellent food. With three different selections off the menu, it was a two-thumbs-up for each choice. To top that, the ambiance is special; set in a Victorian home which has been carefully restored yet up to the minute in decor and design. A cozy place tucked right under the gorgeous Sierras, easy to find, a delightful experience. Will return whenever we're there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Goingwell2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois W, Owner at The Pink House, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2017

Thank you for the kind words, and for catching the ambiance of The Pink House.

Hope you can come back for a visit soon and see us all lit up for the holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2017

Had a great meal last night. Six of us shared a charcuterie and then got a variety of salads, sandwiches, beef stew - it was all delicious. You order at the counter but the service after that was excellent. All set in a very cool old western town.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nhmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois W, Owner at The Pink House, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

We're glad you enjoyed your visit to Genoa, the oldest settlement in Nevada, and that you stopped in to visit with us at The Pink House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

Great hidden gem. We came here to see the oldest bar in NV and I'm very happy we stopped in. They made us a little cheese and meat plate and we sipped some whiskey on the front porch. The staff was young, fun and incredible sweet to our family as we couldn't make our mind.

Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois W, Owner at The Pink House, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Thank you for visiting The Pink House.

Our staff truly enjoys our customers and our goal is to make sure our customers have a memorable experience.

Hope we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Pink House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing