We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charcuterie!”
Review of The Pink House

The Pink House
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Genoa
Price range: US$12 - US$20
Description: The Pink House is located in Genoa, the first settlement in Nevada. Our house is a historic landmark, built in 1855 and restored in 2015. Much of the house is original and decorated in the Gothic Revival era. We encourage our guests to wander through the rooms, and our staff can answer many questions about the house and its history. Our guests may choose whether they prefer seating inside, or outside (weather permitting!) on our wraparound porch or beautiful patio. We feature cheese and charcuterie, as well as a seasonal menu and gourmet merchandise. We also offer an excellent selection of wines, whiskeys and beer. We are a small house and a popular destination, so reservations for large parties are highly recommended.
Restaurant details
Description: The Pink House is located in Genoa, the first settlement in Nevada. Our house is a historic landmark, built in 1855 and restored in 2015. Much of the house is original and decorated in the Gothic Revival era. We encourage our guests to wander through the rooms, and our staff can answer many questions about the house and its history. Our guests may choose whether they prefer seating inside, or outside (weather permitting!) on our wraparound porch or beautiful patio. We feature cheese and charcuterie, as well as a seasonal menu and gourmet merchandise. We also offer an excellent selection of wines, whiskeys and beer. We are a small house and a popular destination, so reservations for large parties are highly recommended.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

We stopped here on our way up to Lake Tahoe for snacks to have during our stay. We were not disappointed! They have a great cheese and meat selection. Bring a cooler to take yours to go!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 347christif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisW555, Owner at The Pink House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Great tip about the cooler. And we also have ice packs.

We’re so gjad you enjoyed your visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 43 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

There must be a great palate behind the buying decisions and menu creation. All the wines tasted great and unique, and the cheeses were outstanding. We had a glass of Albarino and a glass of Chardonnay, along with a custom board. We chose two cheeses and two cured meats. On the board were also several other accompaniments and everything tasted fantastic. Great way to start the evening sitting outside under trees. Oh, and the service was knowledgeable and friendly.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois W, Owner at The Pink House, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2018

We get our entire staff involved with our menu items, but the wine selection credit all goes to our General Manager Casey, and his relationship with our distributors. He in turn trains our staff with insuring recommendations so we’re able to provide our guest with a great experience.

Thanks so much for the review. We love that you captured what we do best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Had the pleasure of enjoying a dinner at Genoa's Pink House last night. We ordered a whiskey flight, an amazing Pinot Noir paired with Curry Vegetables w/shrimp and the Mediterranean sandwich. Lots on the sandwich; this meat lover was filled up even without the meat. While you normally order from their counter, they do offer table side service if that is desired (you just have to ask!). Don't forget to end your meal with one of their dessert selections. We had the peach cobbler topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, but last visit we split one of their cookie ice cream sandwiches. Such a treat every time we visit. (Keep in mind, they also offer beer flights and wine flights, paired with various cheeses, nuts and fruit.....check on availability!)

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NVbeachfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
841loisw, Owner at The Pink House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Thanks for visiting us and taking time to leave a review! We value input from our customers and are glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2018

We had made a reservation for 10 well in advance. Room was set up; however, no one greeted us. We went up to counter and ordered. Our food came in 30 minutes and others were served over 1-1/2 hrs. later. Food was so-so. Morgan was the apparent in charge person tonight and couldn't have been ruder. We all agreed that it was a very unpleasant experience.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marsha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
841loisw, Owner at The Pink House, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

My apologies for not responding sooner.....

The Pink House is an old house and a historic landmark. When the house was restored, we deliberately left the rooms intact so that our guests would truly get the feel of being in an old house and feel "at home". Because of that, our set-up and serving style is a little unusual, but we're always happy to serve table-side if that is what is preferred. That should have been offered to you and your group.

Our records show that your reservations were at 5:00 on June 20 and that you and your guests began arriving around 5:45. We are a small house and we did have other reservations, so this may have started the downfall of your experience with us.

Our staff is trained to be professional, so I am not sure why your server was rude. As to our food being considered "so-so", that's pretty uncommon for us. Our chef has been with us for two years and has consistently prepared wonderful dishes. Both items will be addressed with our staff to see if additional training is required.

We do strive for our guests to have a positive experience while visiting The Pink House and we apologize for failing to do so with you.

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns, and we hope you at least enjoyed seeing a Genoa treasure brought back to life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2018

A charming and pleasant find! Staff, food and atmosphere excellent. A great array of cheeses, wine, whiskey and more.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank hilarybca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois W, Owner at The Pink House, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2018

Thanks for visiting us and taking the time to comment on your experience at The Pink House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Pink House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing