We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, outstanding.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt High Sierra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hyatt High Sierra Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Incline Village
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow, outstanding.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2006

We got lucky and were able to rent a two-bedroom condo for $199 a night. Stayed 4 nights, and were absolutely thrilled. I noticed that a regular room at the Hyatt Regency next door is $185 a night for the same time period, so we obviously got a good deal.

Anyway, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, super nice furnishings (decorated in an upscale cabin sort of motif with all the modern ammenities) and outstandingly clean. The layout is wonderful with 1/3 the space being a kitchen and living room combination with gas operated fireplace with a stone and wood mantle. 1/3 of the space is devoted to the two bedrooms -- main bedroom has a king bed and a large, jetted bathtub in the bedroom. The other bedroom has two full sized beds. The bedrooms are far apart for privacy. Each has its own bathroom and dressing area, which along with the washer-dryer and entry foyer account for the other 1/3 of the space. There is a small patio area on each ground condo and balcony on each upstairs condos.

You can walk across the parking lot to get to the Hyatt casino, restaurants, pool, and spa. You get free access to all the amenities at the Hyatt, including room service. There is a charge for high speed internet access, although dial-up access is free. I noticed many nice touches such as a stack of extra towels under the sink, coffee for the coffee maker, maid service (many condos we stay at do not have maid service). Also there is no tacked on "cleaning charge" that we've seen at many condo rentals.

Cannot say enough about how wonderful this place is. It would be great for two couples staying together or for a family. Go to the Hyatt web site and look up the pictures of the High Sierra Lodge -- they give you a small idea of how nice it is.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank solsa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    21
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
40
30
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2006

My family of 6 stayed in one of the 2-bedroom units over Thanksgiving vacation. The resort is comprised of 5 or 6 residential looking condo buildings next to the Hyatt Hotel. Check-in is at a motel type office. It does not reveal you are at a Hyatt. The check-in clerk was excellent and very helpful. The buildings are 3 story, and there is a convenient elevator in each. Ask for building 3 or 4 - they are closest to the pools and furthest away from the roads. The unit is comprised of a kitchen, dining room, and 2 bedrooms on either side of the living room. There were some real design flaws - I don't know who should be shot, the architect or interior decorator. The master bedroom was stuffed with a king, and there couldn't have been more than 1' to walk between the bed and the dresser. Very cramped. There was a spa bathtub in the room also. In the living room, the ceiling fan was mounted under 2 recessed lights, so when on, the room literally spun. The living room was generously sized though, and so was the balcony. The pools are great - my kids had a lot of fun. The great thing is all there is to do - from skiing at nearby Diamond Peak, to Lake Tahoe across the street, to the gorgeous casino located at the hotel. It doesn't feel like a Hyatt, but it's great to have a property like this next door to one.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ebexplorer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2006

This hotel is AWESOME as stated by other travelers. This is the best Hyatt I've ever stayed at. We went from January 5th to January 12th with our 3 children who are ages 17 and twins 21. The Hyatt has every amenity needed right on their property.

Check in is a breeze and the rooms are always clean and new. We were in the vacation club 2 bedrooms, 2 baths which had plenty of space for the 5 of us. The room had everything you could possible want and if it didn’t the front desk was happy to help.

The exercise room is top of the line with no fee to use. Believe it or not, the slots are pretty good here and the casino is small enough to be "comfortable." The pool is great with a swim out from inside and hot tubs (3) which could hold up to 15 people each.

The food is very good at all dining establishments. We ate at the Lone Eagle Grill which was top notch with fabulous views of the lake. The beach is very nice, but the water is very cold. The view is the best part about this hotel - it's absolutely amazing.

The snow capped mountains and beautiful waters of Lake Tahoe will be embedded in our memories forever. Incline Village will definitely be a future destination for us again but next time it will include our children. After seeing the South side of Lake Tahoe we were very happy to be at the North end where it was quite.

Loved this place,
Luann, River Edge, New Jersey

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2003

This hotel is AWESOME. This is the best Hyatt I've ever stayed at. I've stayed at this hotel twice, both times in July - August.

Check in is a breeze and the rooms are always clean. The rooms are very "rustic," yet classy looking. One concern, if you don't like the smell of cedar, don't stay here. The rooms smell like cedar, which I enjoyed, but I know some people won't.

The exercise room is top of the line, but I'm pretty sure you have to pay a fee to get in. Believe it or not, the slots are pretty good here and the casino is small enough to be "comfortable." The pool is great.
The food is very good at all dining establishments. The beach is very nice, but the water is very cold. The view is the best part about this hotel - it's absoultely amazing.

I would describe this hotel as very romantic, but can also be for someone who is outgoing and likes outdoor activities and being with nature. To me, this would be the perfect hotel to propose to someone at or a nice place to go with you buddies for a long weekend. I give this hotel an A+ and will stay here again for sure if the opportunity affords me to be able to.

  • Stayed August 1999, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank TechWriterCor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2003

North Lake Tahoe (Incline Village) specifically and the Hyatt High Sierra Lodge were absolutely breathtaking. The snow capped mountains and beautiful waters of Lake Tahoe will be embedded in our memories forever. Incline Village will definetely be a future destination for us again but next time it will include our children. Thank you, MikeyH.

Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Incline Village
16.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
31.8 km away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
31.4 km away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
33.3 km away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt High Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt High Sierra Lodge

Property: Hyatt High Sierra Lodge
Address: 989 Incline Way, Incline Village, NV 89451-9528
Region: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Incline Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Incline Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt High Sierra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Hyatt High Sierra Hotel Incline Village
Hyatt Incline Village
Incline Village Hyatt
Hyatt High Sierra Lodge Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing