We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity on the Strip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
Ranked #3 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Serenity on the Strip”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Shaltered from the hustle & bustle of the Strip, this hotel is truly an oasis. Service is superb, as are the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,830
    661
    194
    59
    47
See reviews for
784
2,989
275
848
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

First thing I have to say: I am a non-gamer. There is no casino in the hotel! The idea here is to relax!

The hotel location is perfect. In the middle of Strip, in a walk distance of everything of Vegas.

The service is perfect. Every one of the hotel staff is nice and willing to help you with every need you have, even the bellboy and the housekeeping. From the moment you walked in, everyone that I encountered was very friendly and eager to please.

The rooms are fabulous – large, clean, modern and high tech. The bed and linens were top quality. Most things in the room are controllable from the touch panel, from curtains, lighting, TV channel and room temperatures.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bralvarenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

When you are in Las Vegas sometimes you just want to get away from all the noise and people as well as the casino. If so, then the Mandarin Oriental is a fine choice. If you are familiar with Ritz Carlton Hotels this is somewhat similar, but with an oriental flair. The hotel is nestled in the heart of City Centre, within a 5 minute walk of the Aria, most of which is under cover. It is also very close to Crystals shopping center where there are some very good restaurants and plenty of over-priced shopping. Again, there is no casino here and only two restaurants.

As for the hotel the configuration is a bit odd. To get to the lobby you have to go to the 24th floor (they call it the sky lobby). Off the lobby there is a very nice bar with great views of the strip and with some unique drinks, so look at the menu. They also have high tea in the lobby, a nice touch.

The check-in process was painless and the staff was very professional. Now, another oddity, depending on where your room is you need to take two elevators to get to it from the ground floor. I was on the 19th floor, requiring me to transfer at either the 8th or 24th floors. A minor inconvenience. The room itself is spacious, but not necessarily by Vegas standards, but roomy enough. The rooms also have a bit of an odd configuration for the closet area. The touches in the room are very nice. Automated lighting and drapes, a large separate tub with bath salts, tv in mirror in the bathroom and a nice flat screen with lots of stations. The bed was very comfortable and overall the room was clean with nice amenities, but what is expected of a hotel of this class.

There is a butler pantry where you can get your shoes shined for free and where they will drop off the paper of your choice. It is locked from the outside. There is also a large safe in the drawer.

I did go to the spa and so should you. While again smaller than other Vegas spas the staff was very professional and they offer multiple types of rooms, beyond the typical sauna. Worthy of at least a few hours. The best part of the spa is that it was not teaming with people, which presents a great way to relax. I dislike the larger spas where there are throngs of people as it defeats part of the spa experience.

As far as dining I only ate on the 8th floor where there is a sushi bar as well as a nice place to get breakfast. It is pricey, so be prepared, but the food is far better than average.

Lastly, if you made it to the end of this review here is a hint, make your reservation with a platinum American Express. You will get various benefits including a $100 spa credit, better rates and very late check-out.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room where you don't have to take two elevators and be sure to check the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stacey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I made a last minute trip to Vegas with friends and stayed at the Mandarin on a Saturday night. The service was very good. The room was nice with an awesome view of the strip. We ended up going to the Sky Lobby Bar for appetizers and a few drinks. The bar itself was awesome and so were the drinks but the shared appetizers we ordered for a ridiculously high price would not have satisfied a bird let alone three humans. The live band was really good so we stayed a little longer (hungry) to listen to them before we walked down the street to get something else to eat. (BTW the woman who checked us into the hotel raved over and over again about the great food at the Sky Lobby Bar...interesting.) We ended up coming back to the room after dinner to sit and watch the action on the strip and catch up. It ended up being a wonderful evening with good friends with a beautiful view.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dobermandogmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

What an amazing place! Apart from being superbly looked after it was such a a pleasure to return to the beauty and tranquillity of the hotel after fighting with the crowds in down town Vegas!! Every aspect of staying in this hotel was exceptional and I cannot recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicky557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Had the Mandarin been less expensive and not tried to charge at every opportunity, I'd gladly have increased my rating.
Will NOT be staying here ever again.

Minuses:
Compared with the Aria's well equipped 'Gym' the Mandarin's 'Fitness Centre' is sorely lacking
Breakfast doesn't offer much choice and is not included
The business centre will do NOTHING for you without charging a fee. For sending a package via FedEx, the Mandarin extracted a service fee on top of the FedEx fee. To make matters worse, the staff members didn't counsel me against using a PO Box for the delivery of a small box, so the package was delivered much later than it should have been.
Asked for a small amount of olive oil or similar to be delivered to the room. Hotel insisted that they would charge for this as a 'food'.
Having to take 2 sets of elevators/lifts to enter and exit is a pain.
Staff took the liberty of throwing away my plastic spoon, and didn't provide any cutlery.
Check-in wanted to charge an exorbitant amount to my debit card upon arrival for each day of stay. Other Vegas hotels charge a far more modest holding fee upon arrival. This required a negotiation I did NOT need to have.

Pluses:
No smoking policy throughout!
No casino.
Very close to the strip, but slightly recessed from the strip, so not as noisy as some other properties.
Gym is included
Free shoe shine and local calls are incl
Twist restaurant, although pricey and dishes are unconventional with may not really working well (creativity at the expense of tastiness imho) is worth trying once.
Gorgeous views from bar and Twist restaurant
Front desk made a mistake by sending another guest to my room by writing the wrong number on their room card. Front desk apologised by reducing my Twist restaurant bill.
Room was attractive with good amenties, though not as attractive as the Cosmopolitan's.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank calumc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a busy weekend in Vegas. However, the moment that you walked into the hotel, the entire Vegas vibe is gone. Instead, it gives you very soothing and calm feeling.

The lobby is located at 23rd floor (Sky lobby) and the guest rooms are actually located between 4th to 22nd floors, where 7th & 8th floors are actually spa/pool/gym use so the room numbers are limited. The decoration are not Vegas fancy, but definitely tastefully decorated and its very modern elegant with the hint of Asian tone in it. From the moment you walked in, everyone that I encountered was very , very friendly and eager to please. I loved the fact they placed a very comfortable couch inside elevator. If you happened to be there, make sure to try it out.

The room that I stayed at was the cityscape room on the 22nd floor. The room itself is very nice. A huge walkin closet, separate bath tub/ shower and nice work space table and a very, very comfortable couch. The bed and linens were top quality. Its so smooth that you actually feel like a second layer of skin on you and their mattress guarantee a good night sleep. Housekeeping also did an excellent job maintaining their room. Most things in the room are controllable from the touch panel located next to bed. From curtains, lighting, TV channel and room temperatures. However, I can feel their AC is weak for Las Vegas weather and it will become a problem during summer time when Vegas hit 100Fs. Shower is a bit difficult to get used to it for the first timer but once you get used to it, its no problem. However, the biggest issue with this room is the lack of privacy between bathroom and bedroom. The glass on the walkaway between bathroom and bedroom are transparent, and there is nothing to block it at all. It will be an issue if staying at this room with friends or family.

I also dislike their swimming pool. It was very small and uninteresting design. Comparing to other hotel pools in Vegas, this is like your average apartment style swimming pool without the heated function during the non summer time.

The biggest pet peeve for this property is their food & beverage department. Its not just average, it was quite bad for the hotel at this caliber. I tried their breakfast at Mozen, Horrible. Overcooked steak, undercooked salmon (bento box) and the fruits were not even ripen. I wish I could've return the food entirely but I did not do so. Their afternoon tea at Mandarin Tea Lounge was very average at best too. Dry sandwiches with ultra sweet cakes & pastries. However this does not affect the overall rating since I am rating based on the hotel itself.

If you ever get to stay at this hotel, make sure to check out their Spa. Its definitely worth paying the top amount money to use the facilities. JP in the Men section was the best spa attendant I have ever seem in years.

Room Tip: Higher floor room. Standard room are on the low floors where people walking on the sky bridge can e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doraemon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
ARIA Resort & Casino
#14 of 263 in Las Vegas
23,580 reviews
The Strip
Wynn Las Vegas
Wynn Las Vegas
#5 of 263 in Las Vegas
16,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
The Strip
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, Autograph Collection
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#12 of 263 in Las Vegas
15,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
Address: 3752 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89158-4382
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#3 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#4 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas is one of only eight triple Forbes Five-Star hotels in the United States and is the only hotel in Las Vegas with Five-Star recognition for the hotel, Twist by Pierre Gagnaire restaurant and The Spa. A sophisticated sanctuary of modern elegance prominently situated at the entrance of ARIA Resort & Casino, Mandarin Oriental has made its mark as the ultimate urban resort destination in the heart of the Las Vegas Strip. Designed entirely by interior designer Adam D. Tihany and architecture firm Kohn Pedersen Fox, Mandarin Oriental brings to Las Vegas a new standard of style with stunning suites, captivating architectural design, unique restaurant and bar venues, and the legendary hospitality of Mandarin Oriental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing