We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
Ranked #3 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for about 4-5 days in December 2011. The hotel building, though (almost) on the strip is a bit obscure. But the hotel's exterior belies the grandeur that lays within! The reception area has magnificent views of the strip. The overall decor was understated, yet stunning. The room was very modern-chic, and the bathroom was luxurious! Needless to say the hotel and the room, both were spotlessly clean. The front desk staff was very helpful, and the concierge went out of her way to get us a great deal on a one way car rental.

The hotel does not not have a casino, which is a good or a bad depending on what you're looking for. But even if you do want to try your luck, there's plenty of casino options within walking distance. There's a CVS 2 minutes away, which was very convenient.

My only gripe was that the hotel did not have a casual marketplace type of cafe. You could buy coffee to go, but only in the mornings. The tea room next to the reception (I forget what it was called) was great, but not really appropriate for a casual cuppa with snacks. I almost took a star off for this reason. But all in all, I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtravelsaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,790
    654
    191
    59
    47
See reviews for
779
2,963
272
839
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My wife and I both agree that The Mandarin Oriental Las Vegas is one notch below other Mandarin properties. That said we’d say the same of the Four Season in Vegas. Over dinner at the adjacent Aria resort we concluded that the Mandarin was great as our cocoon in shielding us the masses of the strip, but we would not likely return.

As other guests suggested the elevator setup becomes a hassle after a few days. Go up to the lobby and transfer to another hallway then down to your room. Before boarding an elevator think do I need to go up to go down or down to go up, transfer or not? Either way you’ll want to allow extra time.

Speaking of elevators they were too dark. You need a flashlight to find the buttons and we found the hallways to the pool area a dark cave. This became a running joke when meeting people in the hallway.

Giants In The Bathroom
We reserved a City Suite and arrived Sunday evening. And although the hotel was not near capacity during the week, the front desk put us in what appeared to be a handicap room. I’m 6-2, and the bathroom counter tops came to my mid-thigh. The water closet had the toilet shoved against one wall but there were no rails. It took until checkout for reception to agree that our suite was once meant to be a handicapped room but was never fully completed as such. Why not tell us upfront when they notice we appear to be taller than average?

Our biggest grip with the room was that the HVAC system was poorly designed. Only one small vent in the large bedroom area meant that we had to keep our sitting room at 66º to get the west-facing bedroom to 73º. Storage is also an issue with a very small closet and a minimum of drawers.

We were here for a small conference next door at Aria. On day one we were told the pool would be half closed at 4:30 and fully then closed at 6PM so that a small business group could enjoy cocktails. On day two the lounge was overtaken by the same group of about 40, so the bar was also unavailable for the most hotel guests (maybe there weren’t any others except us).

Other gripes include a $65 breakfast for two that included greasy sausages and potatoes and toast that had clearly been sitting under a heat lamp. My omelet was dry as a bone likely from the same heat lamp one day and good the next. The daily $25 resort fee should be included in the daily rates or banished.

On the plus side most of the staff were well trained and there to please guests. The pool staff was excellent in serving our cabana and the weekday cabana rate was reasonable considering the level of all day service.

Don’t know where we’ll stay on our next quarterly visit to Vegas. I guess we’ll keep reading the other reviews and try something new next time.

Room Tip: Stay off the strip to avoid noise. That said, some west-facing rooms can have HVAC issues as our Cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shinyroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I would 100% recommend staying at this hotel if you want a retreat from the madness that is Vegas. Without a doubt, I would not have enjoyed our trip as much if we hadn't had the calmness of the hotel to come back to.

The rooms are very tasteful and large. (We were in a cityscape on a higher floor.)
Spotlessly clean with turn down service in the evening. Wonderful bathroom with huge bath and shower.

The pool is lovely and also calm. Water and little treats are provided by the excellent pool staff.
Food at the pool is reasonable with large portions. You can easily share a starter and salad for lunch for two.
The pool is fairly quiet Monday to Wednesday but got very busy from Thursday onwards.

There is a little takeaway coffee shop in the hotel next to the bistro. My husband and I had coffee & pastries from here each morning for around $20. Maybe a bit pricier than Starbucks but a lot more convenient!

The Mandarin was booked through Megallan Vacations - they are absolutely excellent. I dealt primarily with Ashleigh. She secured a very good rate with the hotel and the upgrade (for our honeymoon). The rate is monitored after booking and if it drops, you will pay the lower rate when you check out. We booked three hotels through Megallan - all in all, fantastic! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shmaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is our second stay at MO Las Vegas and we love it. Each time we return here from the craziness of the strip, we are welcomed by the beautiful MO ginger flower scent (thankfully no stale cigarette smoke), the professional staff, and the calm luxury and feel like we have come home.

The rooms and suites are spacious and luxurious. The bathroom has a great shower and huge bath (complete with fresh rose petals each night at turn down). Housekeeping is excellent- room spotlessly clean.

The pool is fantastic. You are always welcomed and escorted to the lounge of your choice, iced water is provided free, and poolside meals and cocktails are delicious (try the 'spa water'), and not overpriced for a 5 star (cocktails $16. Entrees 18-20).

Gym and spa facilities also very good.

When we visit other hotels and see the massive queues for check in (we were taken straight to our room, even at 10am and checked in there) we feel so lucky to be at the mandarin oriental!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katie255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for a week as part of a 40th birthday celebration for my husband.

From start to finish it was a pleasure to be here, the staff cant do enough to help with anything including we were told we were to be charged the resort fee. I produced my documentation to say we were excluded and it was taken right off our bill. There was a discrepancy for 4 burgers charged to us at the pool which were also deleted. The door staff are very useful, they know where and how to get to all the hotels and restaurants, they are proficient in getting a taxi and even got the house car to use for the trip back to the airport. The rooms are spacious and thoroughly cleaned every day, together with turn down service each night. Plenty of towels provided, a surprisingly good hairdryer and straighteners were also present with Gilchrist and Soames toiletries. It is a peaceful hotel but is also right in the middle of any action you may want, no shouting in the hallways, no queuing for the front desk and secure enough that a room card is needed to operate the lifts. Cupcakes appeared on our birthdays which was very thoughtful and fresh fruit and water appeared during our stay also. We will stay here again and recommend it if calm is your thing after the madness of Vegas.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor to see the amazing views and less Strip noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimmyCustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The idea of a non-smoking, non gambling facility is great. The rooms are lovely.
The spa was nice but pricey & spotty as to service. Massages & facial were very good. Haircut was incompetent, manicure merely ok.
No sauna in ladies area. sparse ammenities available.
There were no yoga classes (as advertised) & when asked about private class it was made clear they would have to try to find someone. Pilates instructor was on vacation & that too was cancelled.
No one cared about the customer beyond a superficial level; friendly yet distant.
We had one serious complaint &, it was minimized & not appropriately responded to.
We expected more from this facility.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amadeusny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin O, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for valuable feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to complete a review of Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

At the onset please accept my very sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you personally about your stay with us and I hope that you will reach out to my office. I may be contacted at molas-gm@mohg.com

Once again thank you for taking the time to provided us with your feedback. As we can only continue to improve with the help and guidance of our valued guests.

Sincerely,

Susanne Hatje
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. It was/had:

- A great view
- Great service
- Possibly the most comfortable bed ever
- A great getaway from what Vegas is
- Good location, walking distance to everywhere
- Innovative/high tech room
- Great looking room and bathroom

When they found out we were on our honeymoon they put a desert in our room with 'Congratulations' on it. Nice touch.

It was a bit X'y ($$$) but defiantly worth it. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waves-2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Wynn Las Vegas
Wynn Las Vegas
#5 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16,670 reviews
ARIA Resort & Casino
#14 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23,422 reviews
The Strip
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#12 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,593 reviews
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
Address: 3752 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89158-4382
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#3 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#4 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas is one of only eight triple Forbes Five-Star hotels in the United States and is the only hotel in Las Vegas with Five-Star recognition for the hotel, Twist by Pierre Gagnaire restaurant and The Spa. A sophisticated sanctuary of modern elegance prominently situated at the entrance of ARIA Resort & Casino, Mandarin Oriental has made its mark as the ultimate urban resort destination in the heart of the Las Vegas Strip. Designed entirely by interior designer Adam D. Tihany and architecture firm Kohn Pedersen Fox, Mandarin Oriental brings to Las Vegas a new standard of style with stunning suites, captivating architectural design, unique restaurant and bar venues, and the legendary hospitality of Mandarin Oriental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing