We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
Nearby Hotels
Signature at MGM Grand(Las Vegas)(Great Value!)
US$236
US$199
SignatureMGMGrand
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
ARIA Resort & Casino(Las Vegas)
US$159
Aria.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
MGM Grand Hotel and Casino(Las Vegas)(Great Value!)
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bellagio Las Vegas(Las Vegas)
US$169
Bellagio.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Mirage Hotel & Casino(Las Vegas)(Great Value!)
US$99
Mirage.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Paris Las Vegas(Las Vegas)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$69
Paris Las Vegas
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$66
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino(Las Vegas)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Caesars Palace(Las Vegas)
US$240
US$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Excalibur Hotel & Casino(Las Vegas)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,397)
Filter reviews
6,397 results
Traveller rating
5,286
748
237
71
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,286
748
237
71
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmozen bistrosky lobbyvalet closetcityscape roombath saltsstrip view suitepool cafefour seasonsturn down serviceluxury hotelother hotelspool staffhigh techin room diningsteam roomremote controlsoaking tub
Filter
Updating list...
4,868 - 4,873 of 6,397 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My wife and I both agree that The Mandarin Oriental Las Vegas is one notch below other Mandarin properties. That said we’d say the same of the Four Season in Vegas. Over dinner at the adjacent Aria resort we concluded that the Mandarin was great as our cocoon in shielding us the masses of the strip, but we would not likely return.

As other guests suggested the elevator setup becomes a hassle after a few days. Go up to the lobby and transfer to another hallway then down to your room. Before boarding an elevator think do I need to go up to go down or down to go up, transfer or not? Either way you’ll want to allow extra time.

Speaking of elevators they were too dark. You need a flashlight to find the buttons and we found the hallways to the pool area a dark cave. This became a running joke when meeting people in the hallway.

Giants In The Bathroom
We reserved a City Suite and arrived Sunday evening. And although the hotel was not near capacity during the week, the front desk put us in what appeared to be a handicap room. I’m 6-2, and the bathroom counter tops came to my mid-thigh. The water closet had the toilet shoved against one wall but there were no rails. It took until checkout for reception to agree that our suite was once meant to be a handicapped room but was never fully completed as such. Why not tell us upfront when they notice we appear to be taller than average?

Our biggest grip with the room was that the HVAC system was poorly designed. Only one small vent in the large bedroom area meant that we had to keep our sitting room at 66º to get the west-facing bedroom to 73º. Storage is also an issue with a very small closet and a minimum of drawers.

We were here for a small conference next door at Aria. On day one we were told the pool would be half closed at 4:30 and fully then closed at 6PM so that a small business group could enjoy cocktails. On day two the lounge was overtaken by the same group of about 40, so the bar was also unavailable for the most hotel guests (maybe there weren’t any others except us).

Other gripes include a $65 breakfast for two that included greasy sausages and potatoes and toast that had clearly been sitting under a heat lamp. My omelet was dry as a bone likely from the same heat lamp one day and good the next. The daily $25 resort fee should be included in the daily rates or banished.

On the plus side most of the staff were well trained and there to please guests. The pool staff was excellent in serving our cabana and the weekday cabana rate was reasonable considering the level of all day service.

Don’t know where we’ll stay on our next quarterly visit to Vegas. I guess we’ll keep reading the other reviews and try something new next time.

Room Tip: Stay off the strip to avoid noise. That said, some west-facing rooms can have HVAC issues as our City Suite did on the 11th floor. We still had pretty loud music from the strip and we were facing Aria. Bring your own pillow.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shinyroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I would 100% recommend staying at this hotel if you want a retreat from the madness that is Vegas. Without a doubt, I would not have enjoyed our trip as much if we hadn't had the calmness of the hotel to come back to.

The rooms are very tasteful and large. (We were in a cityscape on a higher floor.)
Spotlessly clean with turn down service in the evening. Wonderful bathroom with huge bath and shower.

The pool is lovely and also calm. Water and little treats are provided by the excellent pool staff.
Food at the pool is reasonable with large portions. You can easily share a starter and salad for lunch for two.
The pool is fairly quiet Monday to Wednesday but got very busy from Thursday onwards.

There is a little takeaway coffee shop in the hotel next to the bistro. My husband and I had coffee & pastries from here each morning for around $20. Maybe a bit pricier than Starbucks but a lot more convenient!

The Mandarin was booked through Megallan Vacations - they are absolutely excellent. I dealt primarily with Ashleigh. She secured a very good rate with the hotel and the upgrade (for our honeymoon). The rate is monitored after booking and if it drops, you will pay the lower rate when you check out. We booked three hotels through Megallan - all in all, fantastic! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shmaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is our second stay at MO Las Vegas and we love it. Each time we return here from the craziness of the strip, we are welcomed by the beautiful MO ginger flower scent (thankfully no stale cigarette smoke), the professional staff, and the calm luxury and feel like we have come home.

The rooms and suites are spacious and luxurious. The bathroom has a great shower and huge bath (complete with fresh rose petals each night at turn down). Housekeeping is excellent- room spotlessly clean.

The pool is fantastic. You are always welcomed and escorted to the lounge of your choice, iced water is provided free, and poolside meals and cocktails are delicious (try the 'spa water'), and not overpriced for a 5 star (cocktails $16. Entrees 18-20).

Gym and spa facilities also very good.

When we visit other hotels and see the massive queues for check in (we were taken straight to our room, even at 10am and checked in there) we feel so lucky to be at the mandarin oriental!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katie255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed here for a week as part of a 40th birthday celebration for my husband.

From start to finish it was a pleasure to be here, the staff cant do enough to help with anything including we were told we were to be charged the resort fee. I produced my documentation to say we were excluded and it was taken right off our bill. There was a discrepancy for 4 burgers charged to us at the pool which were also deleted. The door staff are very useful, they know where and how to get to all the hotels and restaurants, they are proficient in getting a taxi and even got the house car to use for the trip back to the airport. The rooms are spacious and thoroughly cleaned every day, together with turn down service each night. Plenty of towels provided, a surprisingly good hairdryer and straighteners were also present with Gilchrist and Soames toiletries. It is a peaceful hotel but is also right in the middle of any action you may want, no shouting in the hallways, no queuing for the front desk and secure enough that a room card is needed to operate the lifts. Cupcakes appeared on our birthdays which was very thoughtful and fresh fruit and water appeared during our stay also. We will stay here again and recommend it if calm is your thing after the madness of Vegas.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor to see the amazing views and less Strip noise.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimmyCustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The idea of a non-smoking, non gambling facility is great. The rooms are lovely.
The spa was nice but pricey & spotty as to service. Massages & facial were very good. Haircut was incompetent, manicure merely ok.
No sauna in ladies area. sparse ammenities available.
There were no yoga classes (as advertised) & when asked about private class it was made clear they would have to try to find someone. Pilates instructor was on vacation & that too was cancelled.
No one cared about the customer beyond a superficial level; friendly yet distant.
We had one serious complaint &, it was minimized & not appropriately responded to.
We expected more from this facility.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amadeusny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin O, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for valuable feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to complete a review of Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

At the onset please accept my very sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you personally about your stay with us and I hope that you will reach out to my office. I may be contacted at molas-gm@mohg.com

Once again thank you for taking the time to provided us with your feedback. As we can only continue to improve with the help and guidance of our valued guests.

Sincerely,

Susanne Hatje
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews