We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy with the choice”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #51 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Victoria,Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very happy with the choice”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We were a group of ten friends. Two were not staying at the Desert Rose but they changed to it for the end of their stay. It has a great location and is comfortable, clean, friendly, secure, and seemed to be smoke-free. Housekeeping was a bit sporadic. There are laundry facilities. The breakfasts were variable in quality and fairly basic but there was always something for all but the most picky eaters. We liked the evening receptions as that gave us a time to meet up and plan evenings and excursions for the following days.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and perhaps plan how much Sun you want and at what time of day. There are four bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,053
    1,198
    316
    106
    83
See reviews for
1,364
1,304
143
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
255 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed here 7 nights @ an average of $110 per night including taxes for a one king bed suite with living room and full kitchen, free parking, wifi and breakfast. Four buildings of rooms: Bldg 2 & 4 face the noisy pool and next to Hooter Hotel's evening loud music. We were happy to stay in Bldg 3 room #3218 facing a quiet inner courtyard. Free buffet breakfast is served in the lobby of main registration building: reasonable spread, different selection day to day, very crowded after 8 am, had to clean the tables ourselves. Monday thru Thursday 5-7 pm reception served mostly junk food snack. 15 minute unpleasant walk to the Strip and locals advised not to walk it after dark, so we took the $8 taxi each way. Good housekeeping and clean room, very comfortable king bed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kueimei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

When the noise and craziness of the LV Strip gets to be too much it is wonderful to head "home" to Desert Rose. A quick 1.5 block walk from Las Vegas Blvd right off Tropicana and you are home to a quiet, casino free world of exceptional room comfort, beautiful pool to relax, exceptional staff who treat you like family! The daily breakfast is billed as a "continental" but is much more...breakfast includes eggs, toast, sausage/ham, oatmeal, fruit, cold cereal, and, of course, coffee/tea and juice. We truly enjoyed our stay and when heading back to Vegas will most definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Great location slightly away from STRIP, simple but nice rooms, free breakfast and afternoon snacks+drinks, free wifi, though quite slow, computer+printer in the lobby, rooms with kitchenette that include everything you need to cook and serve your own food, swimming pool outside. The bathroom slightly too small.

Breakfast stops being served at 9, so it gets crowded before 9AM. Breakfast could be of a better quality to my eyes.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandarineBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, MT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We had a ground floor 2 bedroom suite. It was amazing for the price. It would sleep 6 very comportably w/ 2 bathrooms. And it had a kitchen, living room and dining room, with a balcony. The beds were amazing comforatable. We slept great, The pool was beautiful but we didn't get time is use it. The breakfast was AWESOME. Sausage, eggs, hashbrown, ect. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank styln75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were invited to join a friend at this timeshare. The 2 bedroom was roomy and quiet for our party of 5 adults. One person took the couch, with 2 in each bedroom. It seemed newly decorated - clean and neat with TVs in all rooms. Outdoor parking just outside our unit was very convenient. The hot breakfast included each morning was a treat, as we sat near friendly vacationers each morning. The gym is small, but not crowded and we used great treadmills. One in our party swam in the pool and found it comfortable. We usually stay in suites at the Golden Nugget Hotel downtown, but found this to be a very nice alternative. I do have to add that the twin beds were comfortable for the 2 of us petite women, but may not suit larger or taller persons.

Room Tip: We were a unit or two away from the elevator, so didn't hear a lot of noise from that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed while attending a conference at the Mandalay Bay and got a great deal. I read some reviews that talked about the Desert Rose being "a block and a half" from the Strip. Those are some pretty big blocks, though! It took me right at 10 minutes to walk to the southeast corner of Tropicana and Las Vegas Blvd (through the Hooters and Tropicana properties). 10 minutes may sound like a short walk, but it's 10 minutes to just get you to the Strip. You're still probably not anywhere you want to really spend any time. Bring comfortable shoes to Vegas!

After four days of walking back and forth, I was ready to take a cab, but the Desert Rose is too small to have cabs waiting out front. The major Strip hotels always do. The front desk clerk told me it would take 20 minutes for a cab to come if she called one for me, so I just walked some more. (When I left for the airport, I did ask the front desk to call me a cab, and one turned up in three minutes. He had been waiting at Hooters for a fare and sped down the block to meet me. I'm not sure if this was typical or just lucky responsiveness.)

The property is lovely and does have a condo feel. I had a one bedroom unit with a full kitchen. The breakfast was good, though crowded, as the other reviewers have mentioned. The fitness center was better than average.

I truly have no complaints about the Desert Rose. It is my own fault for underestimating its distance from everything I wanted and needed to do in Las Vegas. I would not stay here again while traveling for business, as the company would have reimbursed an on-strip resort. I learned that I prefer to be in the thick of the action, and that's exactly opposite of how I can describe the Desert Rose.

However, if budget is a concern, and/or if you'll have access to a car, I would be surprised if you could find a better value in Las Vegas.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToughCritic36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#16 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#30 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#29 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#9 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Property: Desert Rose Resort
Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing