We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place off the Strip”
Review of South Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Point Hotel
Ranked #41 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stay at the South Point hotel to break up long trips. Its a great place because its clean and easy to get to. The rooms are close, just a short walk through the casino. Overall its a great value and the rooms are huge, and new. Nothing bad to say about this place, very good stay always.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darthvader78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review our property and for the information you provided. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall visits with us, and we appreciate your patronage. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,537 - 3,543 of 5,388 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

Visited this hotel after debating staying on the strip. Excellent choice...there was plenty to keep occupied with, lots of great food, and although I don't gamble, it sure sounded like patrons that did were winning more than the people who were gambling further north on the Strip. As a runner, it was nice to be able to leave the hotel and venture to surrounding areas and not feel unsafe....and you could run from the hotel, into residential areas, and back into shopping and schools....and if you got turned around, all you had to do was look in the direction of the hotel, and it was almost like a giant mirage in the middle of the desert!! The staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean and spacious. I am definitely looking forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the front of the building, or with a view which will allow for some natural sunlight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyhoundGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thanks for viewing us as an excellent choice. We appreciate the feedback as well as the compliments on our property and staff. We want you to know that it really is our pleasure to have you visit with us and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We participate in a sporting event every year that has been at the Riviera for a number of years. It moved to South Point this year. A lot of people were disappointed that it was not on the strip. There is a shuttle for $8 cash round trip (the same day), which we did use a couple times, but after the mad house it was trying to walk on the strip at night, I would gladly have just stayed at the hotel. There is a bowling alley and movie theater and other activities that I didn't even take advantage of, but will next year. I would probably only go to the strip if I had tickets to a show.

South Point is also close to lots of outlet shopping. Car rentals being reasonable, I would probably rent a car while there instead of using the shuttle so I could explore some of the area right around the hotel and head to the strip hotels via the highway if I wanted to go there.

The rooms were very nice - spacious, clean and comfortable. Everyone I encountered from the front desk staff to the housekeeping staff was very nice.

As we often don't get out a lot during the competition, it was an added benefit that South Point offered more and better restaurants. The food was better and there was a good selection and the price was definitely better than places on the strip. Did not get to the higher end restaurants, but heard they were all good. Enjoyed Coronado Cafe, the buffet, Steak and Shake and the deli. All were good and fairly reasonably priced.

Looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
3  Thank ArcheryFamily-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Wow, thanks for the really awesome review of our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate the many compliments on our property and staff members. It really is our pleasure to have you visit with us and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Rooms clean and up to date, staff all incredibly friendly and helpful, lots to do, spa is amazing, fun, fun, fun!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lvjennyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thanks for the great review on our property. We really do appreciate the compliments, and are happy to hear you had an amazing time with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Las Vegas

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We spent three nights at SouthPoint, from February 9-12, 2012.

The rooms are perfectly adequate, though less than nice.
The pool area is void of much in the way of shade or grass.
The food is expensive and not very good, on par with amusement parks.
The Steak-N-Shake had a 20 minute line just for takeout.
The beds were ok, though the pillows were overstuffed, which I found uncomfortable.
The phones in the room did not work.
Wifi is not included, and they charge $14/day PER COMPUTER. Though it's free from the lobby.

I could forgive all of the above.

What I can't forgive is the air quality inside the hotel was awful.

I'm having a hard time understanding why someone would spend the hundreds of millions
of dollars to build a place like SouthPoint, only to poison the guests by not ventillating the
facility properly. I understand that gambling and cigarettes go together. But, I fail to
understand why the hotel and event center would tolerate such lousy air circulation.
It was exceptionally poor in the common areas, especially near the event center.

So, unless you have a really good reason to stay at SouthPoint, spend the extra few dollars
and stay at a nicer place, or just bring a gas mask.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasonchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

We are sorry to hear your visit with us was not an enjoyable experience. We appreciate you taking the time rate us and for the information you provided. We want you to know that our HVAC filters are changed out on a regular basis and we keep the air circulated continuously. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced and do hope this will not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We have stayed there 4 times with our two younger children, while passing through Las Vegas. We don't gamble. The pool area is great. Bowling and movie theatres are very nice. Many good places to eat on site. A really good choice for families.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to rate us and we thank you for your continued patronage. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your many visits with us and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This hotel is a significant distance from the main part of the Strip ( about 2 miles), so if you are looking to Casino Hop without a car, this place isn't for you. That being said, the Casino is nice, not smoky, with a decent selection of games. The buffet is fairly standard, but is a good deal most nights (Friday Seafood buffet is a little overpriced for what you get). The Prime Rib Room is excellent. Rooms are comfortable. King rooms have a loveseat as well if you just want to sit and relax. Bathrooms are nicely appointed, but the Shower/tub combo is a bit shallow if you are looking for a good soak. They have a shuttle available to go to the airport and strip, but a car is really necessary to see the rest of Las Vegas

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dsmittys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Thanks for the really nice review of our property. Your feedback is super important to us and we hope you can visit with us the next time your in Las Vegas.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Enterprise
Silverton Hotel and Casino
Silverton Hotel and Casino
#42 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,391 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#45 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,810 reviews
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#57 of 264 in Las Vegas
6,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#36 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,021 reviews
Enterprise
The Grandview at Las Vegas
The Grandview at Las Vegas
#51 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel

Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183-4013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#17 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#19 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $94 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your South Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel Casino
South Coast Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing