We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A bargain, for sure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Ranked #47 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A bargain, for sure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My partner and I just spent 5 nights at this hotel because he was attending a conference being held, there. The rates were very reasonable and a good value. It does not have any of the glitz of the places on the strip...more of your run of the mill casino. It's kind of downscale in that arena...The location is about 3-4 miles away from the hubbub of the strip; nice not to be in the middle of that scene. It's an easy drive to the big casinos with plenty of parking available at each of them.
We had a very large room on the 23rd floor with a great view of the city and mountains beyond.
The room was quite decent, nothing fancy - could use some freshening up. All in all it is a good bargain and it was very comfortable.
There were a couple of things I disliked....to get to the hotel rooms, as someone else wrote awhile ago, you have to walk through the very smokey and unappealing (to me) casino...no way to bypass it.
While we were there, a cutting horse show was going on in the equestrian center at the back of the hotel, which was quite interesting to see and watch, but there was definitely a smell of horse and cattle around the elevator area...since I generally making beelines out of the hotel, anyway, it wasn't so bad. Also, all of the restaurants are located in the casino, which was very unappetizing to me, so I steered clear of eating at the hotel. I was disappointed that when i requested a feather pillow, due to my partner having a hard time sleeping on foam, I was given a rather curt "no" and that was it....continuing to knit pick, here, the TV stations were primarily sports and gambling ones, and things related to the hotel...not that I wanted to watch TV, anyway, so that didn't really matter to me.

Room Tip: We were first given a room on the 4th floor with a view of the building. I changed rooms to an upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenlee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments; we are happy to know we really are a bargain. We apologize for the inconvenienced you experienced during your visit and we want you to know that w have addressed this. It really is our pleasure to have you visit with us and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,033
    1,958
    554
    192
    147
See reviews for
1,128
1,778
330
677
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,042)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Positives (this will be quick): rooms are large and clean with nice views.

Negatives:
1. Almost 9 miles from anything worth doing when in Las Vegas (must do a taxi or the hotel shuttle (which fills up quickly) to get to the Strip).
2. Crawling with locals and low-class types -- I saw more mullets in one location than I once previously thought possible.
3. Cigarette smoke throughout the casino is overwhelming. I tried to enjoy a few slots and ended up 'cashing-out' and calling it a night.
4. Worth repeating -- a sketchy low-class crowd.

Room Tip: I had a nice mountain-view. A friend had a Strip view, but his window was so filthy it wasn't e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank germatt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
We are sorry to hear your visit with us was not an enjoyable experience. We are approximately, 5.94 miles (11 minutes) from Mandalay Bay on the strip and there is shuttle service for a fee of $8.00 round trip. All information is posted on our website. We want you to know that your feedback is very important to us and we hope you would reconsider a future visit with us.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I've been a guest at this hotel for years, back when it was known as South Coast hotel and casino. No place is going to be perfect for everyone, but let's face it, the price point is very impressive. If I was to rank 'impressive' I would say the rooms take first place. They're spacious, fairly modern, and clean. If the low volume of available TV channels concerns you, maybe you're misssing the point of being in Vegas.....you can watch your 400+ channels at home!

The casino floor has a 'local feel' but that can serve you well with the lower limit tables. One can bet $25 dollars at a $10 table but not the other way around. So if the shoe goes cold, you can dial back you betting and ride the wave until betting winner skies emerge.

Having eaten at the buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner (not all in the same day), probably the best 'bang for your buck' is the breakfast. Just remember to bring your Club card to save a couple of bucks (and use that for tipping based on good service).

I give this review 5 stars because I believe this place gives you an excellent value for your money. What you do with all the money you save by staying here probably will end up also staying in Vegas, but win or lose, that's the cost of entertainment.

-Paperman

Room Tip: I prefer a room with a view of the pool. You can easily see when it's too crowded or too good t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e3paperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Wow, thanks for the really awesome review of our property. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and we thank you for the information you posted. We appreciate your patronage and we hope to see you on your next trip to Las Vegas.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santee, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We just spend 2 nights at the South Point Hotel and loved it. Very fresh, clean, spacious, and relaxing which is pretty hard to find in Las Vegas. The rooms are very large, with large 2 room bathrooms (or at least ours was...and we were in a regular room) with great lighting and beautiful tile. The rooms even had reading lights above the bed, something you never see in Las Vegas. Every employee was genuinely friendly, not plastic smiles. It's an easy on/off from the freeway with ample parking close to the front entrance. The casino is well spaced out giving it an airy feeling. Great variety of restaurants too and the food was terrific. We're looking forward to staying at the South Point again soon and will recommend it again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view....spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie4742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thanks for the great review; we really appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear you are recommending us and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I am just finishing a 3 night stay at this hotel. Great spot for families since there is an on site bowling alley, movie theater and arcade. The food at the Garden Buffet was actually pretty good quality. I do not eat buffet food and did eat from this restaurant. The rooms are pretty big and spacious. Bathroom had sink separate from toilet/bathtub. Casino was nice to play in. A little on the smokey side though. It is probably about 5-8 minutes down to the Mandalay Bay. They offer a strip shuttle and airport shuttle from this hotel. I know the strip shuttle is $8 per day payable on the bus. Not sure about the airport shuttle.

Room Tip: I was on the 2nd floor. Room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thanks for taking the time to rate us and for the really nice review. We really do appreciate your feedback. Our Airport shuttle is complimentary and all information is posted on our website. We hope to see you on your next trip to Las Vegas.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stay at the South Point hotel to break up long trips. Its a great place because its clean and easy to get to. The rooms are close, just a short walk through the casino. Overall its a great value and the rooms are huge, and new. Nothing bad to say about this place, very good stay always.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darthvader78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our property and for the information you provided. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall visits with us, and we appreciate your patronage. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Visited this hotel after debating staying on the strip. Excellent choice...there was plenty to keep occupied with, lots of great food, and although I don't gamble, it sure sounded like patrons that did were winning more than the people who were gambling further north on the Strip. As a runner, it was nice to be able to leave the hotel and venture to surrounding areas and not feel unsafe....and you could run from the hotel, into residential areas, and back into shopping and schools....and if you got turned around, all you had to do was look in the direction of the hotel, and it was almost like a giant mirage in the middle of the desert!! The staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean and spacious. I am definitely looking forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the front of the building, or with a view which will allow for some natural sunlight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyhoundGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thanks for viewing us as an excellent choice. We appreciate the feedback as well as the compliments on our property and staff. We want you to know that it really is our pleasure to have you visit with us and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management of the South Point Hotel Casino & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Enterprise
Grandview at Las Vegas
Grandview at Las Vegas
#48 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#46 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,484 reviews
Palms Casino Resort
#50 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#41 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,253 reviews
Enterprise
Silverton Hotel and Casino
Silverton Hotel and Casino
#75 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#57 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Property: South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183-4013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#20 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel Casino
South Coast Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing