We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Rim And Skywalk”

Gray Line Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grand Canyon, Hoover Dam, Red Rock, and Much More!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ED F, General Manager at Gray Line Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bus driver"
in 212 reviews
"west rim"
in 246 reviews
"hoover dam"
in 422 reviews
"grand canyon"
in 734 reviews
"driver thomas"
in 35 reviews
"guano point"
in 60 reviews
"boat ride"
in 55 reviews
"sky walk"
in 54 reviews
"safe driver"
in 23 reviews
"great driver"
in 39 reviews
"lake mead"
in 80 reviews
"great trip"
in 56 reviews
"vip tour"
in 27 reviews
"picked up from our hotel"
in 29 reviews
"the entire trip"
in 20 reviews
"boulder city"
in 29 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 20 reviews
Filter

412 - 416 of 2,699 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

Our family were booked onto the South Rim Grand Canyon tour, all of us were super excited to see the beautiful Grand Canyon. We were picked up from our hotel at 6:30am, and after picking up from several other hotels we were taken to a 'check in' centre - this is where the trip took a turn for the worst. Firstly we were queued for just under two hours to attain wist bands which signalled which tour we were allocated to. Whilst we understand this may be a necessary procedure, to bring in everyone at once and put them into one winding queue with only three persons 'checking them in' seems ridiculous when it could of so easily been staggered with different times. Furthermore the staff, namely 'Randy' seemed more interested in up-selling expensive VIP packages, and making sarcastic remarks than explaining the tour people had actually bought onto. To make matters worse, we were told that our tour would not be inclusive of the hoover dam, which me and my family were extremely excited to see as part of the tour. The member of staff vaguely explained we couldn't visit under 'federal Government' regulations, despite it being advertised and included in the price and the West Rim tour being allowed to visit which made zero sense to us and everyone else. Eventually myself and others complained about this, and although met with some degree of reluctance, one of the member of staff offered for us to be upgraded to the West Rim tour free of charge which was much appreciated in light of the situation.

Once boarded onto the bus with reserved seats, the tour improved massively - the bus was lovely and modern, the drive was considerably quick given the distance and out driver Thomas was in his own league... He cracked us up multiple times, whilst being super informative and made the tour enjoyable for the whole family - he is truly a credit to the gray line tours.

The time spent at the Grand Canyon was unbelievable, we had a comfortable four hours at the site, which meant there was plenty of time to explore! With an efficient shuttle system (despite the long queues) we were able to see both points, and would highly recommend the sky walk for a surreal experience. We were told to be back at the meeting point by half three, unfortunately a few of the guests were 40 mins late, meaning our departure was delayed, although this is beyond the tours control, obtaining contact numbers for these situations wouldn't of gone amiss.

Overall, despite a poor and unorganised start which could be easily resolved with a little more thought, the day ended on a high with thanks to the gentlemen who sought for our upgrade to the west rim tour (which we were super grateful for!) Thomas driver and obviously of course beauty that is the Grand Canyon!

Thank Isabella0099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ED F, General Manager at Gray Line Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Isabella0099,

Thank you for being a Gray Line customer and providing feedback. I would like to aplogize for your terminal experience, normally we have a lot more staff, however due to unforeseen issues we were a bit short staffed on your date- we do apologize. We are very happy that after the formalities were taken care, that you day with us improved and that our driver/guide Thomas was able to enhance you day at the West Rim. Of course, the Canyon is simply stunningly beautiful and the SkyWalk does provide a unique viewing opportunity, what with the Canyon 4000 feet beneath your feet as you walk on the U shaped glass bottomed bridge.

On behalf of my entire staff I want you to know that we are eagerly looking forward to seeing you on another Gray Line tour when you next return to fabulous Las Vegas- perhaps one to check out the inside working of the mighty and beautiful Hoover Dam.

Regards,
Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ED F, General Manager at Gray Line Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

We had a FANTASTIC DAY with Kevin L. He made the trip fun and informative. The Mercedes van was comfortable and had WiFi. Kevin went out of his way to make sure our every need was taken care of. The best tip was to go to the last stop first. We beat the crowds and got the best pictures. A perfect day from start to finish.

Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ED F, General Manager at Gray Line Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Deborah D,

Thanks for the nice post regarding your Grand Canyon tour experience with Gray Line. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your visit with us to the awe-inspiring Grand Canyon and that our driver/guide Kevin was able to enhance your enjoyment of this wonder of nature. I would also agree with you that Guano Point is the best viewpoint and the views are simply amazing!

We are proud members of the global family of nearly 200 Gray Line tour companies and on behalf of everyone at Gray Line around the world, I want you to know that we are all eagerly looking forward to seeing you on another Gray Line tour sometime soon....and with 3500+ adventures spread over 6 continents, we will always have a great tour waiting for you.

Regards,
Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Purchased the coach trip to west rim plus skywalk. Have to reconfirm booking 24hrs prior. Pick up at 6.15am and driven to depot where everyone is herded into a holding area where you are up sold options of luxury travel. For another $210 we were booked onto a Mercedes Sprinter. Complimentary breakfast area and unlimited water on trip with direct early return to hotel. That’s it. The rest is the same as the coach. Only reason you get back earlier is that you leave canyon earlier and told to avoid first stop at canyon. Waste of money as driver supposedly stopped for petrol (didn’t fill up) - chance for gift shop purchases! Driver as you expect concentrated on driving so put a movie on. Wifi didn’t work either. Canyon was breath taking though. Dangerous yet kids running loose. Stop at hoover dam is on a bridge overlooking dam, not on the actual dam.

Thank xmasjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ED F, General Manager at Gray Line Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear xmasjones,

Thanks for being a Gray Line customer and taking the time to post feedback. We would like to take this opportunity to clear up a couple of points. The West Rim shuttle system consists of 3 stops, the first is at Hualapai Ranch, the second is at Eagle Point and the third is at Guano Point. The Hualapai Ranch is a recreations of what an old West town "might" have looked like and is not near the edge of the Canyon. We do suggest that most people allocate their time at Eagle Point, home of the famous glass bottomed SkyWalk and Guano Point where with a bit of effort you can get an amazing 360 degree view of the Colorado River snaking its way along the bottom of the Canyon. As most people go the West Rim to see the Canyon, we believe this suggestion is a good use of time. Additionally, our stop on the return is about halfway back to Vegas, or roughly about the time most customers want us to stop for a quick restroom break.

On behalf of everyone at the nearly 200 companies that make up the Gray Line family around the globe, I want you to know that we are all looking forward to seeing you on another Gray Line tour sometime soon. And with more than 3500 experiences at 700+ locations on 6 continents, we will always have a great experience waiting for you.

Regards,
Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gray Line Las Vegas also viewed

 

Been to Gray Line Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing